Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and in need of an overhaul

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Gardens were lovely. There is no resturant on site so needed to go into town to eat. Surrounded by wineries
The room smelt of damp and was dark and cold. The bath needs to be updated and bed and furnishings were old and smelly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Beautiful location, quiet and perfectly positioned. Would return again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whyalla

An experience

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The peace and tranquility.
Cons: The room I stayed in had been renovated to include a loft. The loft was cheaply installed and lacks the style that one would expect the room to have.
Location: The location is secluded, there are no traffic noises, no machinery noise, just the sounds of birds and the fountains. Wine tasting on site.
A very relaxing and secluded location. The style is unique and the rooms are a mix of modern and heritage which brings some clarity to the way we live in the present. My wife and I stayed during the off-peak season and basically had the entire estate to ourselves, the only staff member on-site provided us with excellent service and also cooked our breakfast the next morning which was delicious. Some good advice that may seem obvious: When entering the property you will pass an old Ute and then you will see the cellar door. Stop at the cellar, if unmanned, call the number that was provided to you on your booking and let the person know you are at the cellar door. This will give you a smoother check-in as the actual reception (large white building) is at the back of the property and there are no signs to help you navigate your way through. My experience was that both the wine cellar and reception were unmanned and I had to call the phone number provided, through my own fault I caused confusion of our location and it turned into a game of hide and seek. To be fair, I was visiting on the off-peak season and there staff numbers were low, your experience may be smoother.
4 out of 5
by Matthias from Switzerland

lovely retreat

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
quiet retreat embedded in the hills of Barossa valley. lovely hotel park, great breakfast and vintage hotel room, incl. fantastic Jacuzzi. too bad the vine cellar attached to it has only few days open.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful setting, fantastic staff

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Wotif
This was a last minute booking and was a fairly rushed stay. This was most unfortunate because you could easily relax and stays for days here. The staff could not have been more helpful, just fantastic!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel can only be reached by an unsealed road; nobody was there, when we arrived (we had to call someone by phone). In the night, when it was getting cold, nobody was there to explain how to switch the air condition to heating. It's a rip-off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Romantic rkural retreat.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Good quality accommodation in the hills of Moorooroo by the side of a creek belonging to Jacob. (not part of Jacob's Creek winery). Good breakfast, but no evening meals. Bring food and prepare to have to phone reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the gourgeous cottage & beautiful grounds

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful gardens and grounds, friendly service. Enjoyed the Parisian styled cottages - they were a real treat and really glad we stayed here rather than a hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broken Hill

Stunning Location

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Beautiful gardens, unique rustic charm!
Cons: Some small maintenance issues re' bathroom taps, etc but nothing that negatively impacted our stay!
My first impression of the retreat was WOW! What an amazing location, the gardens are absolutely stunning, the room is so unique, yes it's rustic and if you love that sort of thing it is perfect! The pool is beautiful and for a cool day, a perfect temperature. Breakfast was amazing, served between 9-10 in the pavilion overlooking the beautiful gardens after this we popped into the cellar door for a quick wine tasting! I only wish we had a longer time here, would have loved to spend more time relaxing in the gardens reading and sipping wine!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Quiet location, close to wineries

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Wotif
Great location, pitty the cellar door is no longer open;( but the staff are great and the room was amazing