Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Quiet and romantic

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the relax atmosphere.
Cons: Maybe a toaster and a Microwave.
Location: You are close to the bus stop to take the bus to Hamilton (the bus you take is number 7). If you like walking then it's great, you can walk anywhere
Don't let other people deceive you, this was a great hotel. I went during low season (January 14-17) and me and my husband were probably one of the few there. I have heard that during high season gets busy there but I don't like crowds. The staff lets you be and go wherever you want to. They are sweet and polite. When you need extra spoons or forks to eat food you brought they don't give you attitude. I got there like at 11am and they let me check in anyways although checking in was at 3pm. I love it and will definitely be back. The only thing is that the food at the restaurant is expensive but food is expensive everywhere, remember Bermuda is only like 25 miles long and everything is imported. But we were literally 10 minutes from the beach and our bedroom overlooked the reef from Elbow beach! Ah that was so romantic. Just so that you understand my review I have been to almost every island (and I'm Dominican, which means I know what Punta Cana, Puerto plata, la romana, Juan dolio, boca chica, all inclusive means), but this hotel was just different. Very relaxing. If you are really into all inclusive type of environment this may not be for you, but since I love both things, the staying for two nights to get entertained at an all inclusive or the freedom of not having to stay in cuz I already pre paid for everything, like Coco Reef, then, yeah I loved it!! Besides people in Bermuda are so sweet it's weird. I loved their kindness, so it will do you good to explore the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A stone's throw from Elbow Beach

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Elbow Beach is a definite plus. Fantastic sunrise and ocean view from second floor balcony room.
Cons: Pricey resort restaurant with limited operational hours prompted us to seek other dining options. An inclusive breakfast buffet option would be nice.
Location: Location is central to island. Dockyard and Hamilton are easily accessible by public transit. Recommend nearby Paraquet and Swizzle-inn restaurants.
Shared shuttle bus service (separate expense) to and from airport was coordinated well. No issues at resort check-in/check-out. Professional front desk staff was helpful and friendly, as was groundskeeper Steve. The maid service is decent and reliable. Looking past the dated 80s decor, the resort is clean and well maintained. The grounds with its steeply paved pathways could be challenging for some while others may welcome the exercise. We took advantage of the in-room bar fridge and kept it well stocked with items from the local Modern Mart. Short walk to public transit stops and availability of tickets and tokens from front desk was convenient. Note: Car rentals are not allowed to tourists but, scooters are. However, I would not recommend renting a scooter if you are a first-time visitor who normally drives on the right hand side of the road, not to mention the narrow and winding roads. In general, Bermuda is quite expensive since the majority of goods are imported but, it is safe and the people are very friendly. I would definitely consider revisiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA, USA

Nice resort

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Water pressure was a little low
Location: Close to Elbow Beach, so swimming is or should be a top priority while staying at this resort. The Bermuda Railway Trail is also close.
Excellent front desk and maid service. The hotel's location is superb, next to the beach but a little out of the way from major public beaches and major roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel in a good location

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: We liked the beautiful location, right next to the sea. We liked the barman who was always friendly and obliging. We liked the main man on reception.
Cons: Prompt response to a faulty toilet should be a priority, but we had to ask repeatedly for this to be fixed! This should never be the case!
Location: The old railway trail is 5 minutes walk away, and well -worth a visit. The bus stop is right at the end of the road leading to the hotel.
We stayed here in October in order to visit family. The hotel is good, although has a touch of faded glory about it. The manager welcomed us warmly, but we had one or two issues that took a little time to resolve in the later part of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Heidi from Miami

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
The property was very old and outdated. No fitness center and was expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Central location

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Mid island, ocean front but small beach. Easy access to bus system and near by market. Limited dining options. Hotel food is pricey and not exceptional. Paraquet diner up the road is best bet for local breakfast/dinner. Hamilton is a short trip for other food options. Folks are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Loved oceanfront balcony. Friendly, very knowledgeable bar keep.
Location: We were very close to the Railroad Trail that runs through much of the island...we walked to most places: Dock Yard, Lighthouse and Hamilton
Gorgeous weather helped (one rainy day but we still walked around) to make stay extra enjoyable. Loved having our own private hotel (seemed only a handful of people ever around). Room cozy, glad to have a frig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

The Case of the Missing Beach

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Staff members were very gracious and helpful. Facility is nice, although limited in amenities (no spa, one restaurant). The beach was missing at least 2 feet of sand that had been swept away by an earlier hurricane. Apparently, a regular occurrence. Really thwarted use of the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Incredible access to a beautiful beach. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Some problems

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Liked view, beach, pool and day staff.
Cons: More food options. Better dinner menu and longer restaurant hours. Pest control. Some beach activities. Grocery store shuttle service
Location: Hamilton fairly close. Elbow beach is right there. Great beach.
Unfortunately a hurricane washed away most of the beach directly by the hotel and the nearby hotel were not neighborly about allowing Coco Reef beach chairs on their beach. Staff was great except the last night. Night person got us up for our wake up, but failed to come help with our luggage. Our room was on bottom of steep hill that was tough to navigate without luggage, but was really hard with our luggage when we were unable to waken the night clerk. Food at dinner was poor. Lunch and breakfast were good, but overpriced. Not a lot of options for eating without taking a cab into Hamilton. Would not recommend hotel for anyone that has difficulty walking. Found and killed 3 cockroaches over our 10 day stay, but room was well cleaned daily.