Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crewe

Unbelievably bad

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The Web site makes this hotel sound really good sample menus of the food in the restaurant sound very appealing except you can't have those menus ! You can have the bar food menu fair enough we ordered the beer battered fish very huge portion of frozen fish with frozen chips and frozen microwaved peas not very tasty at all. The full English breakfast is actually a self serve buffet type using the cheapest ingredients possible from tinned fruit to I think it was supposed to be scrambled egg not what full English means to me. The room was basic but we were only there 1 night so it was fine apart from the fact that the toilet would not flush anything away. The website is exceptionally misleading My only advice is stay somewhere else !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

large hotel, pleasant.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Situation and size of room
Location: Gorgeous garden at Rousham House within a mile or so of hotel. Good for walks along Oxford canal. Close to railway line into Oxford.
spacious room, could do with updating but contained everything we needed. Staff pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watford

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Great hotel, ideally located for sightseeing around local villages, castles and shopping at Bicester. Staff made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in to the reception
4 out of 5
by Jordan from Hereford

Very Cheap!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel had 2 problems.. NO hot water & WiFi would constantly disconnect.
4 out of 5
by G j

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very nice stay, lovely friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Cute hotel, deceivingly big!

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: It is very traditional, very big and spacious and the staff are all very helpful.
Cons: Only thing that affected us was that the receptionist who checked us in did not put that we wanted to check out late.
Location: It's pretty cut off, there is a petrol garage opposite for emergency cigarettes, we had to get a cab into town which proved pretty expensive.
We checked in and were welcomed by an incredibly helpful receptionist. She directed us to our room which was quite far down a long corridor, up some stairs (no lifts), round a few bends and then we were there. The room was much bigger than expected, very clean, tea & coffee making facilities included, bath products included. And to top it all off, there was a lovely balcony, looking out onto some beautiful scenery. Very unexpected! We paid for wifi as phone signal was not impressive, but it did not cost much at all. The wifi does log you off if you don't continually use it, which is annoying, but we could cope for our overnight stay. Breakfast was very nice; there was a hot buffet, cereal, pastries, juice, fruit and the staff brought over coffee and tea. We requested a late checkout which the receptionist forgot to put on the system, so we did get a phonecall around 11 but it was fine once I explained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

under refurbishment

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is going through a massive refurbishment, would have been nice to know prior to booking
1 out of 5
by Simon from Weymouth

OK but wouldn't choose it again

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel smelt of paint where they were decorating hallways. Room extremely dated. Bath was filthy and old the sort you would take a bath to wash off the bath you had just had. No phone signal and no free wi fi. Bar closed at 10.55 for guests which seemed poor considering no other local options.breakfast didn't start till 8 so had to miss that as we had early start.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ATTENTION AUX VOLS

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Bonjour je me suis aperçu que l'on m'avait volé mon aspirine et déodorant. Je recommande d'être vigilant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is currently being decorated throughout. The room allocated had obviously been decorated recently and was lovely and clean and quiet. The staff were polite and helpful. A nice large car park.