Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

o was impressed.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The room was very clean. I really appreciated the covers they put on the remotes so you have a clean remtote each time. The free breakfast was fantastic - like eating in s restaurant. Mary makes great food including biscuits and gravy. She was really friendly. The only negatives were that the carpet was clean but some stains, and the bed was a little softer than I like. But I thought it was very nice for the price. Comparing this to other hotels in the same price range I give it a 4 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Great location. Great staff. We'd stay here again!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Stayed 3 nights for the Bristol race, which was only a 45 minute drive away. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, motel is close to shopping, restaurants, nightlife. Coming from Florida, we loved the old time "lodge" decor and ambience. Views of the mountains all around. Loved it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great hotel near Grandfather Mountain

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Great overall value
Cons: Nothing short of availability of a king room on the second floor in the rear of the building.
Location: See " Write about you experience" section above.
The primary purpose of the stay was to explore Grandfather Mountain and secondarily The Blowing Rock and Linville Falls and Gorge. I have a tendency toward verbosity, so I will spare you and contribute the following....Mother Nature did not disappoint, Grandpa and his swinging bridge where spectacular(Grandma wasn't to shabby either), the Rock and falls were memorable and Best Western provided very comfortable accommodations without breaking the bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Great spot for playing in the mountains.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: great staff, great location
Cons: Breakfast could be a little hotter, more variety; too many itty-bitty pillows on the bed that made it hard to sleep
Location: Tons to do in the mountains in the summer -- hiking, shopping, zipline at HawksNest (Seven Devils), rafting, bird-watching, etc
Dh and I spent a lovely 4 nights at the BW-Banner Elk and thoroughly enjoyed it. For the price, it was exceptional. The breakfast every morning got us up and out (watched over by Mary, a wonderful woman) ... the room was neat and tidy and on the inside courtyard with the pool and benches etc available for warm evenings. The hotel's proximity to Grandfather Mountain, Beech, Sugar, Boone, Blowing Rock, etc made it a perfect place for our weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Excellent location and very updated hotel.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: as above, everything. The lobby was comfortable and rustic.
Cons: Breakfast could have included more fruits and the eggs were dry.
Location: convenient to Banner Elk, Grandfather Mountain, App State is nearby and afforded time for a campus tour, our group enjoyed a movie 1/2 hour drive away
Stayed here while visiting with high school band camp. Location was just 5 minutes from the camp in Banner Elk and 30 minutes from Grandfather Mountain. Very convenient to other activities. I was impressed by the updated amenities such as convenient dispensers in the shower for shampoo etc. Efficient check-in and check-out, clean and well organized room. Staff was helpful in rerouting us when we got stuck on the road out front due to a nearby accident. The only downside was the poor quality of the mattress on the day bed, could feel every spring on it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Good location.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: It's location for my visit - a family wedding.
Cons: Needs serious cleaning.
Location: Many mountain activities are available close by.
Room needed a thorough cleaning. Carpet needed to be cleaned. Bathroom had mold on shower wall. Breakfast adequate but eggs, biscuits, sausage were lukewarm at best. Staff pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
They have the corner on customer service!!! Every staff member at this facility was polite, had an energetic attitude, addressed any need we had quickly, and all had a welcoming smile whenever they saw you. Such a treat. And even though the air conditioner was a bit loud, it was offset with how clean the room and bathroom was. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Banner Elk area. We will most certainly be returning. You cannot get service like this is a large hotel anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel , old but clean, very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
My experience was very good, pretty veiws. Hotel included a free Breakfast, which was very good. It wasn't your typical continental breakfast, it included hot foods, such as eggs, sausage, grits and alot of other choices. The lady that took care of the Breakfast was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great stay and lousy restaurant recomendation

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Cons: Do not give food recommendations
Hotel was clean and quiet,good hotel.The staff gave advice at front desk of a restaurant called "Bellas" a Italian eatery,My wife and I had lasagna for Dinner.We both got very sick.Also We never got bread and our waiter never showed back up at our table.Terrible place.The staff needs to be careful with their recommendations!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Close to family gathering

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Close and convenient
Cons: Good quality for price.
Location: Grandfather Mountain, Sugar Mountain, Mast General Store, Boone and Blowing Rock
Wonderful people using great customer service. Was charged incorrectly for room, but staff is now correcting it.