Ratings based on 2,807 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

When is a single a twin? Don't go here!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: Accurate advertising - and confirmation of the difference between a "twin" and a "twin twin" ! And tell us where the bathrooms really are...
Purchased a room with two single beds - given only one single bed, and told it was a twin. Discussed this, but told that a single bed is called a twin in NY, apparently (?) No mention of restrooms being very basic and in corridors. Staff quite rude, so I left after one night of a five night stay. Went somewhere else, and had a fab time. To give credit where credit is due - Expedia were great with refunding the four other I had pre-paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

almost equidistant from Penn Station and time squ

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, clean and comfortable.
Reminded me of hostels I stayed at in Spain. I am pleased.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Close to herald square and time square

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great location, but not the best room, the bathroom was in the hallway and you had to share with other people on your floor.... it’s a great hotel if you are in town for a couple of nights and will not spend too much time in your hotel room... the room was clean it very outdated. Overall it was ok
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Smelled like smoke

Posted Oct 10, 2017
They put me in a room, which stank of smoke. To make things even worse they tried to cover it up with air freshener. My clothes and I reeked of this weird mixture smoke/airfeshener the next morning. We were booked for 2 nights, but got a different hotel for the second night. Still awaiting the refund for my first night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from downtown New York!!!

Location! Location! Location!

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Fantastic price for the location for a first time visit!! Centrally located in Midtown Manhattan. Walking distant to Bryant Park, Times Square, shopping, and local pubs! Bathrooms were clean! Rooms are small but really, we weren't there to hang out in hotel! Nothing left for us at 'continental breakfast' but a Tim Hortons right across the street along with other little coffee shops close by made up for it! Will definitely stay here again!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We were in the first floor and you could here everything what was going on in the street. The windows are really thin. Air condition was making noises during the whole night. Mattress was really uncomfortable. Shared toilet smells really bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Disgusting

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I think this place was even less hygienic than my freshman dorms back in the day, or hostels you stay at while traveling. Remember this place is communal baths and toilets - bring sandals or beware what you step in as you awkwardly try to shower. Door keys kept demagnetizing, once in the middle of my shower and I had to go to the lobby in a towel. Janitor sounded like he had the flu. Sheets looked unwashed - there were lots of hairs in mine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what expected

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I knew I wasnt getting a 5* hotel for the price I paid so I was under no illusion. Recpection is very modern looking which then ends as soon as you step foot in the lift! The lift was a mini sauna and there was no way you would fit 8 people in it. ROOM - Couldnt swing a cat in it, I had to shimmy sideways to get from one side of the bed to the other without bashing my head on the tv on the way. There were only 2 plug sockets which were by the door and the window which mean I was forever pulling out the set of draws to change what was plugged in or tripping over the wires in the middle of the night to go to the toilet.The windows may as well have been taken out they didnt stop any noise what so ever. The aircon made noises whether it was turned on or off, if it was on it made them more often. The safe didnt work so we had to carry our passports and money with us for the entire trip! The bed wasnt the worst bed Ive slept in so that was a plus however it was a very small double. SHARED BATHROOMS - ALL BATHROOMS ARE SHARED! This wasnt well listed when I booked the trip! Each floor has atleast 2/3 bathrooms, we found they would be grouped with 3/4 rooms so it wasnt as though you shared 1 bathroom with the entire floor, to be honest we barely saw another hotel guest as we were out all day. They were always clean from what I could tell. The only grip we found was with the locks. The disabled bathroom lock didnt work at all and my husband walked in to find a naked man!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Would NOT be my choice in the future

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: They had one person on the housekeeping staff that went above and beyond.
Cons: Sweep and mop regularly, empty the trash daily, be sure to provide linens for new guests, friendly staff,
Location: Shopping, Times Square, Empire State Bldg, Central Park, Broadway shows.
The floor was very dirty, I am not certain the sheets were changed before we checked in, we didn't have any towels when we arrived, the TV did not work, the service was lacking. They claimed to serve "something" in the mornings - it was hard cookies or green bananas and coffee/tea.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Good location, but not really what one would accept when paying several hundred dollars per night.