Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perthshire

Not luxurious but good basic comfort and welcome

Posted Jan 20, 2017
We had a nice big quiet room at the back o the hotel overlooking the Brora river, very satisfactory in all counts without being luxurious. The welcome was very pleasant and friendly and the massive breakfast helpings were sufficient to keep us going for a couple of weeks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

food really good in hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: the food in the bar
Cons: the rooms really need up dating urgently
We were very disappointed with this hotel. The room needing updating and the bathroom had a horrible smell to it. The toilet has a macerator which makes a loud noise every now again and then leaves a strong pong behind once used. The bed had seen better days as well. The staff though are really friendly and the food in the bar is really good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Friendly stuff, clean hotel to stay

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Friendly stuff, big and clean room, tasty breakfast. Cosy bar downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cold hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
stayed over on a bussiness trip for 3 nights. The heating in the room was from a small wallmounted heater. This was ok through the night but when I returned to the room after being out at site all day the heater was turned off at the wall switch leaving the room very cold. There was no heating in the bathroom which I guess accounts for the damp and black mildew in the bathrooom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good location north & south

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Staff,and food
Cons: The bathroom
Location: It is a good place to stay whilst travelling to the north or south of Scotland.The little harbour interesting as are many other places in this area. T
We arrived to a warm welcome,helpful staff & pleasant atmosphere. We confirmed we could bring the dog in with us. We had a really good meal......well above pub grub. Thanks. It was easy to walk the dog from there in the morning. My only reservations was , for me, l would have prefered a room not on thr road side,even though it wasn't excesively noisy & the bathroom was abit tired. But having said that l'd stay there again. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location, flowers, friendly check in staff and breakfast staff.
Cons: Hot water and less noise when flushing or using the water
This was a nice hotel. Received a very nice friendly welcome from the young man who showed us our room. We were supposed to get 2 rooms together, but our son was in a room a the far end of the hall from us, which made it difficult sharing electrical hookups. Also he had no trouble with getting hot water or with noisy plumbing. But we were startled when flushing the toilet in our room to hear a cannon like boom! Also when running water into the sink or bath. It kept booming. I actually jumped up from the desk when I first heard it, and looked out the window thinking someone was shooting outside or there was an explosion of some kind! Tried not to use the bathroom during the night for fear of disturbing anyone. Also, we didn't get hot water in our room until just before we checked out the next morning, and then it was too late to take a shower or bath. The older man behind the bar in the morning when we checked out said it is an older hotel and takes a long time for water to get to our room, and he explained about the noise when flushing or running water.. We had a very good dinner in the hotel restaurant. Also, the Scottish breakfast in the morning was amazing, as were the friendly lady who served us and the cook when we complimented the breakfast. It is a charming hotel, convenient location, and free parking in a lot across the street, lovely flowers outside. I would book there again, though would ask for the room our son had so we could get hot water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to find on main A9 road.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great overnight stay, staff warm & friendly. service excellent. Good full English breakfast, to set you up for the day. evening meal five star. need to advise more of where to park. twin bed room number 2 bath & shower, room 1 only shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful surprise for a budget hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Very pleasantly surprised by this little Inn on our way back from visiting the Orkney Islands. Friendly helpful staff, spacious comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms, and generous cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good value for money

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Waiting staff & good food, porridge for breakfast the best I've ever tasted.
Cons: Would have been nice if we had been asked if we enjoyed our stay when checking out.
Location: Heritage centre was extremely helpful & the town trail was a good idea.
We would definitely stay here again,although would check the bill closely next time as was charged for 2coffees when we only ordered 1
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westhill

Good option for a B&B stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: The bar food and breakfast were both excellent and served by cheerful/attentive staff.
Cons: n/a
Location: Ideally located for a stroll around Brora (and for attending Brora Rangers FC at Dudgeon Park).
Booking was straight-forward, check-in was fast and efficient, the room was comfortable, an excellent bar-supper was served (Fish'n'Chips, Sticky Toffee Pudding and washed down with a pint of Orkney Gold), breakfast of porridge followed by bacon, poached eggs, mushroom and grilled tomato was excellent and check-out was efficient. The Inn was ideally located for strolling around Brora,