Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hallandale Beach

Nice hotel close to the railway station

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: close to the railway station
Cons: increase the cable tv channels
Location: many things to do around...
Just a walk in the city....nothing more, nothing less
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice very close to main train station

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I needed a place to stay near Gara de nord. This is an ibis so you know what you're getting. Clean comfortable en-suite rooms. Reliable free wifi. Polite, professional and efficient staff made for a very speedy check-in and check-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Zero customer service

Posted May 6, 2017
The staff Are not ready to serve even in small things like changing remote battery or providing electric adapter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

The very definition of a transit hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: First and foremost: the personnel. Location is convenient, although the surrounding decade old ruins are not helping.
Cons: It needs to be a lot cleaner, especially in the common areas.
Location: Easy access to city Metro. Close to the airport. A decent gas station just around the corner. Nothing much to do around, except get a taxi and move.
I came to Bucharest to visit my family, after a long absence. Did not want to impose on anybody, so I thought a decent hotel will do. It turned out OK, as long as you're not planning to stay in the hotel more than overnight. The personnel is outstanding, let me start with that. Breakfast is very, very good, and it starts at 4:30 am, of all things. The on-site restaurant was a nice surprise too: fresh and delightful. Clean enough, but the equipment and furniture looks worn-out beyond expectations. I've been in other Ibis Hotels all over Europe (Sweden, Hungary, etc.) but this particular one is most certainly a tiny bit under average. The customer parking arrangement looks odd, but seems effective. You push a button, get a plastic coin that needs validation at the desk before you can get out. The barrier opens on a street with right of way, which may force you to stop, and possible get bashed on the roof. They may have an issue with smoking on the premises. Although it's clearly forbidden, there's a constant stink everywhere. Don't use the toilets in the lobby, unless you really have to. Overall cleaning is a thing that certainly needs improvement. Finally, the way they charge for ongoing expenses (breakfast, parking, restaurant, bar, laundry, etc.) is odd and very unusual. I guess it has to do with national fascination towards cash, and paying up-front. Definitely a good hotel for transit, especially business travelers. The central railroad station is just across the street.
5 out of 5
by robert

Great for the money

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was perfectly nice. We had a nice room with two comfortable beds for the three of us. The front desk service was reliable and friendly, the cleaning staff serviced the room every day, and the hotel itself is 5 minutes from the train station and a 15-minute walk to the center. If you don't need anything fancy or posh, this hotel is a great bargain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good budget option close to the main station

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Situation about 20 metres from the metro which is great for getting around town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central Maine

An excellent basic, budget hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great location with multiple transportation options; does not claim to be a luxury hotel; bills itself as a basic hotel and does a highly competent job of giving you your money'a worth. I have stayed here at least 3 times a year for the past 5 years. I keep coming back to Ibis Gara de Nord.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Nice hotel closed to town centre

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Comfort and price
Location: Situated relatively close to town centre, restaurants just across the street and subway station.
It's been lot more than expected. Friendly welcome, great helpful staff. Spacious room, clean and cozy. Perfect, just what we needed for our weekend break.
4 out of 5
by kristina

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Smoking and non smoking rooms available. The buffet breakfast is good for Romania, but also quite expensive for Romania. If you are planning to charge it to a business account, go for it. Closest hotel to the main train station which is great if you need a train, but it is not the tourist part of town, so it depends on what you are in Bucharest for. I always use it when I am flying in or out of Romania, as I live on the other side of the country. Oh I did notice that they did just cancel a bunch of the English speaking channels on their pay tv subscription, so no more lion documentaries. WiFi has never failed me there. Beds comfortable. Its always a safe bet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Refurbishment urgently needed.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hotel looks good from the outside but as son as you get to the reception you can see it's old. The reception desk is worn out, the walls in the room (818 room) was showing some nasty liquid stains, tv is too small to watch it from the bed. The biggest problem is the missing power socket next to the bed, so you have to get out of the bed to check your phone if you left it on charge.