Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Cahir House Hotel Yet Again

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Having stayed here on numerous occasions, the service food and staff is always of the same high standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

The only hotel in town but loved it!

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Location: Cahir Castle, Swiss Cottage.
I had no idea this was the only hotel in town when I booked it but I'm still super happy with our stay. The front desk person was so sweet and ended up giving us passes to go through the Cahir (pronounced "care") Castle. We also went to a local pub and it was cool to talk with the locals. We ended up having dinner in the hotel and it was average but the front desk person made it sound like anywhere else wouldn't have been as good. I'm not sure about that and had we had more time I would have ventured out a bit to other places. We were really in a time crunch for our trip so we never stayed long enough in any place to enjoy the actual little towns. Unfortunately, the Swiss Castle was closed but we snuck down and drove as far as we could. I would go if it's open when you're there. I was super bummed about not being able to go. The town is really quaint and cute and the hotel, even though old, was pleasant enough. I would go back and stay here again. I liked the feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haverfordwest , West Wales, uk

Lovely town

Posted Mar 28, 2018
The staff are excellent and the breakfast is from the top drawer. They also give you Free vouchers to visit the Swiss Cottage, which is a must to do if your in Cahir for a few hours like we were . It was a good stop over on our way to Limerick. I will stop there again if I'm passing through
3 out of 5
by Murray

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Initially all seemed OK. The receptionist was very friendly, and tried to be helpful. I had to leave early and she did her best to arrange a breakfast for me. The room wasn't that warm when I arrived and there were no instructions on how to operate the thermostat. The bathroom was an ice box, the radiator never warmed up. The promised breakfast never turned up. No sign of the night porter when I left at 7am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Dec 13, 2017
One night stay with colleagues. Food was excellent and available until 9:30 which suited our late arrival
5 out of 5
by Cathal

Comfy and cosy

Posted Dec 5, 2017 on Hotels
Was comfy and cosy with friendly staff and a great breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Not bad but don't go if they have a function on.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Not bad for the price but unfortunately we were there on a Saturday night when they had a function on, we were put in a room above the car park, the noise was terrible and went on until 4.30 in the mourning. Lots of loude laughing and talking, singing and unsavoury language. Next mourning the receptionist was very apologetic and reduced our bill. If it wasn't for that it would have been ok.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
A little run down but makes up for it with excellent, friendly staff. Town centre location a real bonus. We stayed on Saturday night and there was music in the bar and bar food at very reasonable prices.. If in area we will stay again.
5 out of 5
by Alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Surprise

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Cahir House Hotel was a delightful surprise - located in the heart of Cahir. Great bar food & atmosphere, easy parking & very helpful receptionist. Enjoyed the stay & the town!