Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

One night in Cahir

Posted Apr 9, 2017
On my most recent trip to Ireland I spent one night at the Cahir house hotel. My room was clean and Comfortable. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The hotel pub seems to be a favorite with the locals which is always a good sign. There is free parking behind the hotel off the street which is always a plus at a small town hotel. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional country hotel in the heart of Cahir, with excellent bar, decent bar food and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Ainslie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
All the staff were very friendly, efficient and very helpful. We ordered lunch for a number of people after a funeral everyone enjoyed the lunch the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well run country town house hotel.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The hotel is clean, well appointed, the staff are polite and helpful. Restaurant offers fairly typical small town fare. The hotel is well located for access to the Galtee mountains and the Glen of Aherlow. I would return to it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly old place

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely friendly welcome late at night. Great chat in the bar. Food was great on first night not so good on the second. What you would expect from an old grand house from 1700s that has gone through the ups and downs in the economy. No doubt was very grand at its peak but still pleasant place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a Very Nice Stay.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in room 100 and we absolutely loved it. The high ceiling and big windows made the room feel palatial. The shower was very powerful, but the water temperature was sort of all over the place. Also - and this was odd - when I was checking under the bed before we left I found a dirty pair of someone else's underwear. I could see how it could have been missed, under the bed, though. Overall, we really liked staying here and would absolutely return. The staff were all very nice and the bar downstairs was friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Bed not so good. Location run down

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel and restaurant pub. Town is a little run down and not much happening. Great cafe across the street. Bed was lumpy and slumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

200 year old mansion house in market square

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Very centrally located, good facilities including bar lounge. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Bathrooms need an update.
Location: Central to historic sights and lovely countryside in Tipperary.
Check in was swift, person to lug my suitcase, orientation to room in quiet location. Breakfast very good, ditto evening meals. Used by local people so not sterile or institutional, but relaxed and integrated into the community. Staff service very good and attentive. The Georgian mansion was converted to a hotel in 1927, and is about to have a spruce up, so I hope it keeps its character and charm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jervis bay australia

Old rambling hotel with rooms and stairs

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Wotif
Hard beds,old bathroom,too many stairs to climb. Rooms all over the place