Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney AU

Well used facilities with excellent staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff were very kind and friendly. We got an offer to stay last night at Alila Ubud which was relley fun. Facilities were Well maintained but old. Air conditioner was weak and noisy. On Expedia web site, transport service between airport was "US$45 for round trip" but actually charged the amount for one way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely stay in east Bali

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Great staff, nice pool area and lovely relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: The hotel could do with better bar area - there are a few beanbags and cushions on the beachfront but that's it.
Location: A five minute drive into Candidasa where there are plenty of dining options and tour touts but not great for shopping. Snorkelling is good.
The Alila Manggis is an older hotel on the seafront (no beach) with lovely established gardens and very good staff. The rooms are simple and quite sparse - nice but not large or luxurious but they have everything you need. All rooms look out onto the lovely pool. The food was generally good but we were very disappointed in the Balinese BBQ night when there were just too many guests in the restaurant - cold food, very poor service and not good value. Spa treatments were very good, but be careful with the spa escape package - it was the only item anywhere in the hotel that we saw that was priced in US dollars and not Rupiah - not sure why!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 Star Hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Maybe the food?
Cons: Everything, the 5 star rating is misleading in terms of the standards at the hotel.
Location: There is a spa opposite that is fairly reasonably priced but unfortunately due to the poor hotel me and my wife left the very next day.
I was initially booked into this hotel for a few evenings... however after the first night I was awarded a full refund. We were upgraded to a "deluxe" room which included air conditioning that is preset by the hotel to not go below 23 degrees, which made sleeping an uncomfortable experience especially as the room is right next to a stagnant water pool and the bathroom window had a gap that allowed the mosquitos to access the room freely. The rooms also look quite old (there were various cracked floor tiles) and offer no real privacy unless you wish to close the curtains (which are basically solid wood doors over the windows). Despite wifi being advertised with the room there was none! except for 1mb download speed and when questioned with the staff they said the speed was low in the area. The facilities are average with space by the pool or dine at the hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately if you want to relax elsewhere in the resort there is nowhere else to stay unfortunately unless you count the lobby. The view from the "beach" is of massive tankers on the horizon and a burnt out shrine covered in tarpaulin, I use the term beach loosely as the stretch of beach is tiny and visually in accessible from the hotel itself. On the plus side the food was pretty good when compared to other resorts. But that was about it.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melb

old hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
very dated old hotel. really old air conditioning that was very noisy. great food and service.
5 out of 5
by Rachel from New York

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a part of Bali more reminscent of the old Bali.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Quiet retreat in East Bali

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: We liked the quiet location and the area is part of the real Bali with few tourists.
Cons: The air-conditioning was a bit noisy in our room at night.
Location: Free cycle and helmets are available for local self guided rides to the local towns, through the rice fields and farming areas, swimming and hiking.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Alila Manggis, the staff were excellent, the meals were very good value and the breakfast a great way to start a very relaxing holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly, (but not overbearing) staff, special dietary requirements were catered for and they were happy to arrange excursions and tours as required. We used the free bikes to explore the local area, and walked the beach and local streets taking in the environment and local culture. The overall ambience is one of relaxation with most of the guests there for the same reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Priscilla

Bali wedding

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on HotelClub
Our friends got married at Alila Manggis so we chose to stay at the resort. The deluxe suite was spacious, incredibly clean and had an amazing view of the resort's grounds and ocean. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We couldn't fault this place and were sad to leave.
5 out of 5
by Glenda from Wombarra NSW Australia

Alila Dream

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
An amazing ambience at this hotel. My daughter and I were treated like royalty. The service was far superior to any of our stays on the island. The restaurant food was 5 star quality. The Alila Living shop was just beautiful and the costumer service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Tranquility, cuisine and fun programs - the best.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The courteous staff, Seasalt (restaurant), pool, mountain bikes and beach side dinner BBQs.
Cons: WiFi!
Location: Snorkeling Padang Bai, trekking, Amed and Candidasa town.
If you need to have the total package of a culinary experience, water sports, tours and resort life...this is your place. I enjoyed the stress free pampering of a well trained staff and nice facilities.
3 out of 5
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels