Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Excellent stay. Very personalized service. Staff is exceptional and goes above and beyond. Beautiful rooms in a historic home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel, right next to waterfront,

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Great service, friendly staff even with our toddler in tow, perfect location & amazing breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, personal and conveniently located.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: Welcome / reception. It's a little unclear when you arrive and there is no reception or staff to greet you.
A lovely hotel, with a personal feel. Feels like a home away from home. Comfortable and luxurious without being extravagant. LARGE rooms with beautiful views over the waterfront. Delicious food! A delectable menu with some inspired local tastes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Breakfast!! Ambience.
Cons: Angle of aircon
Location: Right beside waterfront
Excellent breakfast, great hotel, excellent staff. Safe location. Aircon slightly noisy / angle of attack slightly obtrusive. Overall great place to stay would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice but not the best

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The location is great and the fact it is a boutique hotel the experience is very personal and you are not rushed in the slightest.
Cons: It is a lovely hotel I just think the way it is billed it could lead to people feeling that it hasn't quite delivered.
Location: You are right on the waterfront so ideally placed for all the various bars and restaurants.
We chose to stay at the Dock House for the one night we were in Cape Town as it was my birthday and we thought we'd treat ourselves. The house is very comfortable but the rooms are actually suites with a separate sitting room. If you were like us and have travelled in on the overnight flight for the very reason you can drop your bags off and explore Cape Town itches room rate could be considered excessive. Lovely ambience, ideal location and staff incredibly friendly but not the blow away experience I was expecting.
5 out of 5
by Alicia from Fort Laudierdalle

This hotel had change mycstandard of excellence

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Ones you get settle, you feel like you have arrived at your rich uncle's house that has give you Justine (the manager) and Peter our guardian Angel, to make you feel at heaven because everything is been taken care off. Everything is perfect !!! It is a treat that everybody should have, at least once in a life time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sehr zentrale und doch ruhige Lage direkt am Hafen

Posted May 18, 2014
Sehr freundlicher und aufmerksamer Service. Individuelle Wünsche werden sofort erfüllt. Es gibt nichts zu bemängeln, im Gegenteil, alles super!
5 out of 5
by An Artist from Madison WI

Attentive staff and well cared for historic site

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The charm, the small size, the friendly helpful staff and the attention to detail are what I will remember most.
Cons: There is no elevator so it would be difficult for older couples but it is only a two story property so it is no problem for most people.
Location: It is a minute from the ferris wheel at the V&A harbor so there is lots of restaurants and shops and very close to the Aquarium.
The building is the former harbour master's residence. It is close to but overlooks the V&A Harbour. The staff clearly love the boutique hotel and are very attentive to the needs of their guests. Welcoming fruit and champagne and a nightly baked treat at bedside are examples. Breakfasts were served in the dining room by efficient friendly staff. The inside is state of the art modern without spoiling the charm of the hotel. If you get a balcony you can enjoy the sea breeze but the back garden is relaxing day or night. I would definitely recommend it to friends and stay there next time.
5 out of 5
by fuzzmeister from england

A wonderful place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014
I cannot recommend The Dock House enough. Fantastic and personal service and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are marvellous (would suggest you try to get 505 or 504 which have balconies) and more than equal to any 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charmantes Hotel an bester Lage

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Das historische Gebäude mitten in der Stadt mit dem kleinen Aussenbereich zum relaxen war super. Lage perfekt. Mitarbeiter sehr nett.
Cons: Die elektrischen Installationen im Bad dürften besser sein. Es fehlen Steckdosen.
Location: Super Lage. In ein paar Schritten ist man an der Waterfront mitten im Geschehen.
Kapstadt ist eine Reise Wert. Das Hotel haben wir als sehr persönlich empfunden. Die Mitarbeiter haben sich bestens bemüht und wir haben uns rundum wohl gefühlt. Wir planen nächstes Jahr wieder zu gehen und werden sicher wieder in dieses Hotel gehen.