Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maputo

It was an experince worth forgetting. The man

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Cons: The focus should be reassessd all together
It was an experience worth forgetting. The managers who coincidently are from indian origin, are predominantly interested on digging the last penny out of customers rather than providing decent customer services. Payable rates change change at convenience and one never knows exactly what bill is due to be paying, I have been accommodated on a number of hotels in my life, from genuine 5 star facilties to crap hotels,and the new tulbagh ranks close to the bottom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to CTICC

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Quite spacious room with bath and shower for two. Clean but not so modern anymore
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly maintained hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Orbitz
The room and carpet smelt. The elevator was tricky. Bathroom is poorly cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Clean and Quiet Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Its clean, modern and quiet area.The options for breakfast are big!
Location: Location is a short walk (2 mins) from the end of Long Street. Unfortunately entrance is on a public square where homeless people tend to hang out.
Located a short walk from Long Street, its good enough. Its not in the most "safest" of areas and there isn't a lot of restaurants close by except for the hotel's own restaurant. A shore walk to V & A only about 15 minutes. Rooms are modern, spacious and clean. WIFI was strong. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel with good service

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The standard of the room was acceptable. The room and the bathroom were spacious. There was no dustbin in the room. The hotel didn't have irons and iron boards for the rooms. The car parked outside but I had to pay R 70. The lift was frightening when it stopped. The price was reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by shanthi

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
perfect nights day
5 out of 5
by JAN from Pretoria

Great value!!!

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at Tulbagh since 1970's on and off but not of late,and i must compliment you on the fact that it is even better now and real value for money and the breakfast is superb as isstaff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Yolande from Gillitts

Horrible. AVOID. RUN

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The shower was full of hair everywhere ! On the wall in the canalizations etc. gross. We found 6 cockroaches in the room ! EVERYDAY ! We where at the very last room number 101 so the wifi couldn't get there we had to get out of the room to send a message ! The TV was barely showing 4 Chanel and all of them was very bad quality and we couldn't hear anything. You pay the parking 70R per night and you are not even garanti to get a place + it's really insecure ! Also dirty serviette in the bateroom yellow and orange suspicious trace.
4 out of 5
by Shujat from UK

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Staff are amazing - friendly. Hotel is ok - showing some minor disrepair. Breakfast is good! Beggars and thieves are a problem in this part of capetown.