Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga-Canada

Nice and quite

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: the location and the excellent customer service
Cons: the menu is a banquet menu, it was OK but nothing to create an experience.
Location: as above
stayed for one night to visit Pompeii. beautiful grounds,. it is considered a wedding venue. rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable With nice and spacious bathroom. the location is off the drag but the hotel shuttle service is amazing, they drop off and pick up any where in town. we told them that we have booked a private tour guide that we have to meet with! they contacted the tour company and the shuttle driver was told where to drop us off, he picked us up at the end of our tour dropped us off at a restaurant he recommended, came back to pick us up to the hotel. a memorable customer service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Nice Property

Posted Oct 20, 2017
You have to have a drink on the back patio. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. We stayed after a long day touring Pompeii. Good stop over point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very friendly staff, catured for all our needs. Excellent quality of food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Amazing food, staff and facilities. A lovely place for a relaxing holiday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An affordable 5 star experience

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Incredible hotel, grounds, view, staff, and experience! Silvano our porter, driver, and information center, made our stay one of the most enjoyable we have ever had. Everyone greets you with a smile in the pressure-free and relaxed atmosphere of this amazing hotel. You can take the free hotel shuttle to the local train station and be in Sorrento in 20 minutes which only costs 2 Euro each way per person. Going to the Pompii ruins will only cost 35 Euro each way to have the hotel shuttle drop you off and pick you up. Breakfast on the rooftop dinning room has an amazing view of Vesuvius. We will definitely be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Aesthetically pleasing, though service unpleasant.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel, though service is extremely rudimentary. The perfunctory politeness of the staff is palpable. If you have any special requests, (even basic ones like an extra luggage rack) forget about asking. They became indignant when we had a request or an issue. (Example: There where a bunch of forest fires in the hills around the hotel. You could hear the planes buzzing around the hotel to put out the fires. And on the news they were talking about towns close by having to evacuate. The smoke from the fires was settling in the rooms and it was hard to breath. When asked if it would be possible to cancel our last night and at least get a partial refund so we could move locations (due to the smoke), the woman at the front desk said "What fires? I don't see any fires. You will be charged your full rate if you cancel." It was shocking, as the smoke was physically visible (not to mention suffocating smell of smoke in the hotel). There's not much around the hotel, so you're basically stuck eating your meals there (unless you're doing day trips to other places) and the prices are quite steep for the quality and temperament of the servers. I'm afraid I cannot recommend their spa services either. And lastly, our mini bar appeared as if it had not been changed or restocked since the 80's. Overall unless you have to stay here, I would recommend avoiding this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Beautiful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: View, style, breakfast
Cons: Water kettle and some tea in the room would be great! More food variety for people who don't eat dairy.
Location: Secluded location, 15 min drive to Castellammare centre.
Overall it was a very nice experience staying at La Medusa. It is a bit secluded and without a car it would be very difficult. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We had room 309, which was VERY small, so that part disappointed us a bit. Also, there was not even one bottle of water in the room, so if we didn't have any with us it would be terrible. No tea/coffeee making facilities in the room either. No ironing facilities in the room, however few of my clothes were ironed for me upon request. The best was breakfast on the upper terrace, beautiful views and service. Breakfast and reception staff was great. I am gluten free so there was some bread provided for me. I also have to avoid dairy, however it is impossible during holidays in Italy :) The hotel grounds/garden is beautiful. Relaxation area and swimming pool was great. There is a gym with the relaxing view to the garden, however there were only cardio machines, no other weight training equipment. We had a dinner in the restaurant late evening on our arrival night. We were disappointed with the service then. Staff was busy talking and doing other things, they did not attend to our table, no water was poured, no candle was lit up when it was out. We also had to wait very long for our bill.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent hotel but the location. .......

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Excellent hotel but the location is not that great, everything is excellent except for the fact that in our 5 nights stay there was 4 weddings. It is ennoying after all, plus the noise until midnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

The Medusa is Wonderful

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Excellent customer service, room exceeded our expectations.
Location: This is a great place to stay if you are touring Pompeii or the Amalfi coast.
We had a wonderful stay at the Medusa.I recommend it if you are staying or visiting the Naples and Amalfi area. The hotel was a little haven amongst the city and the staff was lovely.