Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fancier than I expected!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We ended up with a club room and it was very large and lovely! Great location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

I do not recommend this hotel...

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The room are well decorated.
Cons: The persons at the reception should trained to treat the clients with respect and considaration.
Location: The hotel is located in Oslo center,
This hotel is a combination of several buildings. The floors are not at the same level. My room was located on the 3rd floor. But my room was located in a building with a different floor level. In order to teach my room, I had to go down a douzen steps. Not easy when you must carry a suit case. The person at the reception did not mention the difference in floors level. The person at the recption did not care about the client. You do not give a room to a senior person, that requires to go downsteps or up with a suitcase ! The rooth cause of this problem, I a lack of management leadership !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc., Canada

Lovely old-fashioned hotel near everything

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The breakfast (included) , the reasonable price of the large and cosy room ( all the more considering the standards in Norway)
Cons: Putting in air-conditioning. Has not been necessary yet in Norway but with global climate changes , the heat will come there as it has during my stay.
Was able to go to the National Gallery in 2 minutes ,a fantastic bookstore, an ATM,a superb store of luxury linens with the most beautiful robes... the post office and all sorts of museums. Wonderful location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Loved the hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: The gym was missing things we are accustomed to like bottled water and towels. Would've been good to know this before going tithe gym.
Location: National Museum is stunning, all the city sights are walkable within a short distance.
The staff were the best part of the hotel and made the trip. Very friendly, helpful and bent over backwards to help, lots of energy and attentiveness. Excellent cappuccino in the bar and great staff there too. Most of all I loved the location near the museums and shops.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Terrific hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful five-night stay at Bristol Thon. It was a terrific base for sightseeing in Oslo. Staff could not have been friendlier. Wish we lived closer so we could return sooner
5 out of 5
by Sharon

Outstanding in Oslo

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderfully located in downtown Oslo. The buffet breakfast was a gourmet feast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most comfortable bed ever

Posted Jun 9, 2017
My wife and I slept over 12 hours. The room was so quiet and the bed so comfortable. We normally sleep 6 - 7 hours a night so it was shocking but wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Rachael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: GOOD BREAKFAST, NICE BED, QUIET ROOM
Cons: PLEASE REMOVE THE 18th CENTURY STYLE "MOORISH SLAVE SCULPTURE FROM THE BREAKFAST ROOM. AN AGING PIECE OF RACIST KITSCH!!
Location: RIGHT NEAR THE NATIONAL GALLERY!!
Nice hotel, great location; quiet pleasant room; very good breakfast. I would urge the hotel to remove the "moorish slave" sculpture from the breakfast room. Out of keeping with the rustic decor, and a remnant of racist exoticism that does not belong in a European capital (with a racially mixed present-day population and tourists from everywhere including Africa).
4 out of 5
by Janine

Good option location

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
A large property with an excellent breakfast offering, seemed to have many American tourist guests. I stayed 2 nights and then another later in the same week. Front desk was helpful, but I was hoping for slightly larger room, which I did have on the return night. For the cost, it was a good value location and very stylish but for a double room, quite small.