Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

$150.00 deposit for what?

Posted Oct 1, 2015
First off we got there at 1:00 pm check in not till 4, however, front desk person said "give us an hour we'll call you when the room is ready" cool well two hours later no call go back in just to know they just gave my room to someone else LOL then they tell you 1 hour more if I wouldn't have already paid I would have left . Then they have a strict policy of A hundred fifty dollar deposit is a joke. Also parking is $7.00 a day. The rooms are outdated and the refrigerator was gross had frost build up and looked like someone had put ice cream in it but forgot about it and then staff took out but forgot to clean it. Partial ocean view a joke really they should just say a room with a window. Wouldn't go back least not there Hotel just down looked better. Area is awesome will go back to Island just won't stay at The Palms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always read reviews, first.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Found long hairs on the walls of the shower Maintenance and cleanliness seems to be an afterthought. We had a multiple night stay and on the first morning housekeeping came by before 9:30, we advised them we were leaving shortly and would be gone all day. They said they would come back but never did for the remainder of our stay. Continental breakfast was only danishes, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereals and toast... no hot food. Pancake/waffle maker was not working and only eggs available were hard-boiled (and refrigerated). Coffee creamers seemed to be rationed as each morning they only had 2% milk out past 8:30 or 9. Weird thing was each morning they had fresh set of individual creamers early, but those disappeared later in the morning. One of the worst places we have stayed, even compared to international places that usually have less standards than US hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Wouldn't recommend

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Would not recommend to anyone. The place was old, and it smelled. The pictures on the website are very misleading.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great little spot!

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Great hotel. Close to the beach and close to resteraunts. The rooms was clean and very cute!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Nice hotel, great beach access!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Great beach access and the 2nd floor pool which added privacy!
Cons: Rooms could be a little more clean. Our chairs had stains.
Location: Great beach access and the local food in walking distance was awesome!
We had fun and really enjoyed ourselves. Would use them again as well as recommend them to our friends!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Old hotel..

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Could be a holiday inn for all I know.. old porch chairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

durchschnittliches Hotel am Strand

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Die Nähe zum Strand
Cons: Die Zimmer müssen renoviert werden
Location: Kein Freizeit Möglichkeiten in der Nähe.
Das Hotel liegt direkt am Strand. Leider werden zusätzlich Parkplatzgebühren verlangt. Die Ausstattung ist soweit o.k. ist aber abgewohnt. Grundsätzlich ist es sauber. Nach Charlston fährt man mit dem Auto ca. 35 Minuten.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Affordable hotel, great location!

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, continental breakfast, and fantastic location.
Cons: The elevator definitely needs updating. It was slow, noisy, and generally scary.
Location: Restaurants, surf shops and a park close by. But nothing beats a nice long walk along the beach at sunset.
We wanted a hotel on the beach to celebrate our anniversary. This one was affordable and well kept. The building is older and has seen better days, but it is in good repair. The staff does a great job maintaining it from what we could tell. All of the staff that we spoke to were very friendly and outgoing. We really appreciated the continental breakfast, as it saved us quite a bit of money, and it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and we would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

miserable night

Posted Aug 29, 2015
There was mold on ceiling in bathroom in room 118 and every time someone close the door to other rooms you heard it loud slam the air conditioner made loud noise all night couldn't sleep and you could hear people running in hall way all night and coke machine didn't work staff and house keeping was very nice we didn't get any credit and we left night before we was suppose to
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room not ready

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Room wasn't ready at check-in. Unfriendly staff and wouldn't answer calls to the front desk.