Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Curry

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint fishing village with very good restaurants. Unique.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
It's nice to enjoy a feel of what "old Florida" was like before the big cities emerged. You can see an abundance of stars and see unique birds too. Thank you for staying at the Steinhatchee River Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Spacious, Comfortable River Side Stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Dog-friendly, spacious, clean and neat!
Cons: Everything was great!
We were exploring a part of Florida beach lovers seldom visit and found a great place to stay with our 2 Welsh corgis! The room - or should I say "suite" included a living room, lovely bathroom and a separate bedroom that accommodated a king size bed with plenty of extra space. Nice and clean and neat and comfortable! Great value and convenient for those boating or fishing on the river or the Gulf. If your in Steinhatchee - be sure to book your stay at the River Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind remarks. Many guests enjoy the bright stars at night, bird watching and of course scalloping in the summer. Please come back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint little place, dated, didnt match reviews

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We decided to stop here because the ratings made it sound like a gem and would be worth the extra distance off our route. One reviewer called him/herself an airline pilot who stated that this was one of the best places found in a 30 year career of multiple hotel stays. I would assume this person was a bush pilot. This unit was a little dated, quaint, drive up to the door type of place that reminded me of places I stayed as a kid on road trips. The room was clean, the linens were clean, the woman in the office even called us personally on our way to give us check in details. But the unit was nothing special. We were just a little disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Steinhatchee River Inn. I am glad to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. Steinhatchee is indeed a country / coastal community nestled amid nature preserves. I hope you were able to enjoy the stars and many birds not to mention the great fishing.
5 out of 5
by Ronald

Quaint fishing town know for it's scallops.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and property appearance was well maintained. The kitchen needs updating and bring a few pots and pans if you decide to cook since what was there was very minimal. The pool looked clean and well taken care of, but in February, can't really try it out. Very quaint and quiet, but the only activity is fishing. We do plan to visit again in the future. Scallop season is July thru Late September.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Steinhatchee River Inn. Scallop season was just extended to begin June 18, 2017 and there is availability now. Hope to see you soon as going scalloping is like "nature's Easter egg hunt"!
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Great motel

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Great staff. Very spacious. Didnt hear any neighbors. Great price. Perfect for what we wanted...a motel with local flair. Sad we missed the festivals they have. Great location close to the river and docks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and try scalloping in the summer, it's easy and fun to do! Ms. Barbara
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For a quiet getaway

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
If your planning to stay in or near Steenhatchee, this is likely the best to be had. Luxury is not the point of a visit here. Fishing, scenery and hour long drives to nowhere. We highly recommend the Steenhatchee River Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Agreed! Nestled within two nature preserves you get to enjoy what "old Florida" was like. Also, the stars are brilliant from Steinhatchee. Please come visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
No phone, no safe, no Breakfast Very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Steinhatchee River Inn. We hope you enjoyed a taste of "old Florida" during your visit. Next time, be sure to stop in and enjoy Kathy's Crabs offering wonderful seafood dishes captured fresh from our coast, or Fiddlers restaurant featuring a Friday night all you can eat buffet serving prime rid and crab legs - just one block from the Inn ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

In the off season a very quiet hotel.

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Quiet, large room
Location: typically a fishing place with not too many facilities. Three restaurants nearby.
An older hotel , very quiet in the off season. Spacious room with a sitting room and a separate bedroom. In a small village so not many facilities. Clean room . Weird check-in over the phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Steinhatchee River Inn. Our staff prides themselves with offering a clean and comfortable hotel nestled in an "old Florida" settling. We hope you can come back again and enjoy being out of the hustle and bustle of a city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Exceptionally clean. Friendly, competent staff.
Cons: The road sign on the bridge leading into Steinhatchee is missing and needs to be replaced.
Location: I was there for only one night before I had to leave.
I came to Cross City from Miami for a funeral. I needed clean, quiet accommodations close to a restaurant. I spent over thirty years as an airline pilot for a major airline. I flew domestic trips as well as international. I have stayed in many hotels. The Steinhatchee Inn is one of the nicest places I have stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and appreciate you noticing. We are sorry to hear of your loss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Nice hotel comfortable, low key quiet across from river can walk to good restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Ms. Barbara, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind remarks, come back and enjoy our new fire pit being installed this month.