Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Great historic hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The grounds, location, and charm of the hotel are second to none in the Hood River area. Our room 337 had a great view of the river from the top floor and had two nice windows. The falls outside may be loud for some light sleepers and the same with the constant running of trains that pass below. If you are a light sleeper, I might suggest a room not facing the river. Employees were cheery and helpful and we will definitely be back. The bed was very comfortable as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

All you could ask for.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Love the look and feel, keeping it original but updated. I was actually excited to ride in the elevator! The view over the cliff is worth it as well.
Cons: The quality of the TV was rather low, but it worked well enough.
Location: Hood river has a lot of cool shopping centers and great restaurants to eat at.
Stayed for one night with my girlfriend on a date. We enjoyed walking around the hotel and just seeing the location. They had a beautiful front lawn area we walked around a lot that had Christmas lights lighting up the whole area. Made for some great pictures and great memories. Out back the waterfall and view over the river is exceptional as well. Well worth the stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sisters, United States of America

Great Location - Historic Ambience

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Riverside rooms have a great view and are relatively quiet. Bed was great
Cons: Too many small details unattended to. Squeaky doors, windows not clean so view wasn't the best, and too expensive for what we got.
Location: Wine tasting in Hood River was a good experience
The Columbia Gorge Hotel has great significance and location but unfortunately it is tired. The staff operated elevator is unique and fun but not handy. The interior needs serious renovation but even a little WD-40 would help a lot. We enjoyed our stay but at those prices I need the experience to be magnificent and memorable. We've no doubt made our last stay at CGH. Too bad because the staff is really trying hard to please.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Charming hotel, great staff!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The staff. Very nice piano player too that encouraged us to sing along.
Location: Across the highway from Hood River, which is a charming town with good restaurants, breweries and the river is popular with wind surfers.
This is a very old hotel, so it's a little long in the tooth, but the staff could not been better. Very welcoming and thoughtful. Very comfy bed, beautiful view of the Columbia River, beautiful grounds, good coffee, and pretty good food. We booked it the same day after having a car accident nearby. Glad we stayed here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Failed to place the twice requested 5:00AM wake-up

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Out of the way.
The time on the room clock was incorrect. No instructions on how to set the radio alarm. Did not deliver wake up call. Caused delay in meeting my fishing guide. Room was clean and spartan like an army barracks but priced to be much more. At AM departure, while there was coffee available, staff forgot to set out the carry-out coffee cups. Attention to detail lacking. Nice people on staff but not well organized and supervised to deliver quality results.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

hotel with view and character

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: history , grounds and friendly staff
Cons: food and room air conditioning.. We expected 4 star food and lodging and got at best 3 star. We had a miserable night thanks to the air conditioning .
grounds were nice, view from the grounds was beautiful. The air conditioning was awful. It was like you were in a large warehouse with it blowing on you with strong winds and cold. food was so so. Texas toast was the same thickness as a regular slice of bread. The scallops had a terrible after taste. The manager offered to replace the scallops with something else but by then my wife lost her appetite. They remained on the bill and no offer of free dessert or other compensation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Very overpriced, few amenities.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
There are two sides to this historic hotel: the river side and the garden side. The garden side should be called the freeway side, as busy I-84 runs right in front of it. In days of yore, before the interstate, it might have been nice. We paid over $200 for a tiny room with chintzy furnishings and had an almost sleepless night. You will be expected to carry your bags up and down the stairs, as hotel staff must operate the elevator. That is just my experience. I won't return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Classic hotel with lots of history but upgraded

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Had a very nice stay and the staff was friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place. Amazing property

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Orbitz
What a beautiful lovely place to stay. The property is so perfect. The gardens are surreal. The dining was very very good. Can't beat the views. The rooms are just perfect. We will be back soon.