Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Rude!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The lobby associate was unnecessarily rude. When ask to speak with a supervisor, you are told "they aren't allowed to give his information." I've never had this experience!!! I had to call another America's Best to get information to report my concerns. Sometimes you have to follow your gut feeling. I should have cancelled upon arrival. The room is worse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

A good place to sleep for one night.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel was just okay. It smelled like cigarettes in my non smoking room. There was a used towel hanging from the shower curtain. The sheets had little brown stains all over them. I probably wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Unfortunately, they were in the middle of renovation and breakfast was not capable of being served. Expedia did not reference this when the hotel selection was made..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight stop close to I12

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: great value for money
Cons: Have breakfast available.
Location: I just used it to rest as I was driving from Texas to Florida.
I would have given this hotel all 5s but there was no breakfast due to renovations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Under renovation, also understaffed

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Well we expected a low budget hotel with a name like America's Best Value. But when we arrived, we found out they were undergoing renovation and would not be offering breakfast. The front desk staff person lno uniform and no name tag) said Expedia should have changed the listing to exclude breakfast. The room has the promise of being a lovely place once they complete the redo. But missing furniture and lamps, water stains on the bathroom ceiling that hadn't been painted, gaping holes in the drywall around the untrimmed bathtub fitting. The parking lot was littered with chicken bones and take out cups. The outdoor corridor where the ice and vending (empty) was located had a random greasy couch sitting there. The pool, we hoped would redeem the other shortcomings. But there were cigarette butts and bandages and shredded styrofoam floating in the pool, among other random dirt and leaves. The pool deck had several piles of wet towels, other trash hanging around. I hope it was a wet latex glove, I didn't get any closer. I saw no signage posting rules, hours, or water safety information, no lifesaving devices, no evidence that anyone had tested the water nor recorded the details. What I'm assuming was a chemical storage room was unmarked and unlocked, as I saw another guest open it looking for a restroom. I have expectations for a budget friendly hotel, and I adjusted those for a hotel under renovation. But this was just poorly managed, if it was being managed at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Horrible outside so didn't go inside

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pulled up. Parking lot was full of trash. Overflowing dumpsters with mattresses piled high on outside of dumpsters. Filthy homeless people walking around on balcony. As we drove to back of hotel there is what looks like a dump site, trash old cars. There is a fence between hotel & this but fence in one place is torn down. Outside looked very dirty. We didn't even get down to check in. I want to know how I can get a refund? You should really not have this hotel on your site at all. We went about 1/4 mile up the road & stayed at Candlewood. It was awesome. So it's not "that part of town" problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The comforter on one of the beds had cigarette holes all over. The microwave didnt work and the safe door would not stay shut and cut my daughters leg.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Do not recommend this motel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nothing like pictures on their webpage or Expedia webpage. Under renovation. Computers not working. No reservation received. Office and breakfast area full of construction materials so no breakfast available. Big dumpsters were in the parking lot and in front of the accessible room we had requested for my 91 yr old dad. The people standing in the doorway of the rooms appeared to be homeless or drug addicts. We were going to be charged more to stay since reservation was not received from Expedia. Needless to say, we did not stay. I called Expedia and after being on the phone for 2 hours with a scratchy connection and 2 people that I could hardly hear or understand, we were directed to another hotel in another town. Denham Springs property was totally misrepresented.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip this one

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel had no record of my hotels.com reservation, but did honor the online price. They are undergoing major renovation and the results look promising, but as of April 2017, it's not really fit to be open for business. The non smoking room had apparently been smoked in heavily. For years. As in, the room hadn't been renovated since 1980 or so. I don't expect much when a hotel rate is low, but this facility failed to meet even my most pessimistic expectations. The only bright spot in the whole debacle was the very pleasant girl at the front desk. There will be a "newly renovated" sign hung out soon enough, but I'd wait until the sign says "under new management" before staying here again.
1 out of 5
by jeff

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
very poor will never stay again