Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly welcome, comfortable bed
Cons: Shower pressure
Location: Couple of minutes drive to Dominant castle and old town.
Very comfortable bed, room at rear of hotel quiet, excellent free wifi. Shower pressure a little weak.
5 out of 5
by Marion from Folkestone , Uk

Great little hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed one night en-route to Portugal. We found this hotel to be more than adequate for our needs. Our room was so quiet and bed was very comfortable. The great thing was that there was no light in the room once turned in for the night. I cant sleep properly with even a small red light from a socket on. So yes, I had a great night sleep. We were inmpressed with the Grill/Resteraunt. The breakfast was typically 'continental' with no hot food., but that was the only small issue. We have already recomended to our freinds and one has booked it already for an over night trip.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Congleton

Very calming

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful spot to spend time. Lots of space in the very large gardens (very nice gardens) to find some space to just chill and sit and take it all in. The food (grilled or not) was always spot on and the nicest tasting steak I have had anywhere (and it was just as I asked for each time). The staff were very friendly and the service was first class. The walk to the medieval part of Domfront is up a hill but it is a peaceful walk with lovely views so is a good way to work off the breakfast. The hotel is dated but it is not a modern building so compensates with lots of character. If you like ultra modern hotels then you probably won't enjoy your stay but for anyone else I say go for it, you won't regret it. For the money it was an absolute bargain and I would definitely stay here again whenever I'm in this area.
5 out of 5
by Terence from Findon Valley

Excellent Staff

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
The service provided by the staff was second to none. We were cycling from St Malo to this hotel in Domfront a distance of some 75 miles. During the ride I suffered 3 punctures and had a considerable delay whilst I carried out repairs. We telephoned the hotel and advised that we would not arrive until after 22.00 hours. On arrival we were warmly greeted, our bikes stored away safely and then we were provided with an excellent meal even though the restaurant had already closed.Our rooms were fine and breakfast the next morning was of a highly exceptable standard. Well done to all the staff.
5 out of 5
by Crowe from Andover

Fantastic Service

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived early but our room was quickly made available.The service was exceptional during our stay and the room lovely - number 15.
4 out of 5
by stomper from chabanais

Good location

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
I had a very good night stay,It was easy to find,the service was good,we had a good meal and the fact that we could take the dog in to the hotel and restaurant was an added bonus to our overnight stay.I would book this hotel for our next journey to England.
3 out of 5
by N&R from Stamford

a surprise

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels
Depressed on arrival.. gloomy decor though newly refurbished. Brown & aubergine throughout. Near canal & cathedral but immediate vicinity did not tempt us to go out in the evening. Few other guests. however a delicious meal.. one of the best during our recent holiday. Partner had wonderful lamb & I had a chicken dish in a delicious sauce. Sounds ordinary but was not.
4 out of 5
by Mike Young

Posted Apr 26, 2012 on Hotels
good staging point for cycle ride from Ouistreham to Saumur
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

De France Domfront

Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels
It's a convenient overnight stop on the way to the Ferries. Perhaps that's why it has not been refurbished. Basic hotel that is clean with friendly staff. Restaurant on site. We always use it on our way home, but wouldn't want to stay more than one night cos the rooms are gloomy. It's a 2 star hotel and that's an accurate rating. Domfront is pretty and interesting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Les prestations de l'hôtel sont très bonnes. Le restaurant est moins accueillant ; il était (trop?) rempli ce samedi.