Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, too many unwanted guests.

Posted Aug 15, 2017
The hotel is situated in easy walking to most sights in downtown Victoria. Free parking at the hotel is a real bonus. They are under new management and believe they will try to improve things. The staff was friendly and helpful. Kudos to the new Maintenance worker, who showed us how to use the ice machine and had many helpful tips. The hotel is just very tired and needs new energy. The room required repairs on some of the furniture and the carpets needed cleaning. The drapes & bedspreads were very dated, but the beds were comfortable enough and a great supply of pillows. Loved that we had a fridge and a table that the three of us could sit at. We did however have an uninvited guest stay with us. I believe Mr Mouse lives under the bureau.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Reasonable hotel convenient to downtownCou

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Could not get staff to fix a squirting, splashing faucet nozzle in sink. otherwise helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel needs some renos

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Staff was very nice, location good but hotel is old and dark, furiture is 70's or later needs a face lift! Toilet seat didn't fit it was too big for the toilet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Cheap. Last minute trip to victoria

Posted Jul 22, 2017
This hotel, needs some love, the front desk staff were very inattentive, like they wanted to be somewhere else. The cleanliness of the room was something to be desired, it was cleaned once out of the 3 days we were there. I found the hotel had a old musky smell to it. I would not stay here again very very disappointing experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but shabby

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Rooms were dingy and were not cleaned during our 2night stay. Fridge did not work. Not enough towels and had to ask 3 times for more. Good parking and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Staff great, not clean, fairly close to downtown

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Price was reasonable and fairly close to downtown.
Cons: cleanliness and attention to details. air conditioner properly installed.
Location: Two good restaurants right next door. Shopping just down the street including China town and interesting shops.
The staff were very pleasant. The bed did not have a top sheet and behind the headboard was filfthy. Air conditioner needed proper trim work.....not just insulation stuffed in. Overall hotel was clean and in a good area of town to walk a ways to waterfront.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Posted Jul 9, 2017
There was a small rat in the room. Staff were nice and accomodating. Allowed us to do early check-in. A/c in our first room wasn't working properly but it was immediately resolved by moving us to another room. In the second room, there was no microwave, but we were immediately brought one upon request.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE.. !!!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Once we walked in we new it was not going to be pretty. Our 1st room was dirty and had mold in the washroom. So we asked for another room. After checking out 3 other rooms we decided too go elsewhere. We couldn't spend the day no matter the night there. DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good locations

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Excellent location to catch many buses. Close to downtown, Chinatown, easy to reach harbour stage and nice to walk along the waterfront.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A little run down but OK for a place to sleep

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: 1. Underground garage parking. 2. Close proximity to shops and DT. Victoria 3. Walking distance to the Greater Victoria Visitors & Convention Bureau
Cons: Minor details in cleaning such as a clean coffee pot. Appliances in rooms are in proper working conditions. Provide an additional towels for 3.
Location: Close to Victoria's Chinatown and other restaurants. Walking distance to wharf / pier and other major tourist attractions.
The room assigned to us has an air condition that wasn't working and coffee pot wasn't cleaned. The receptionist gladly get us another room but we settled to a room close to the busy Douglas St. So I slept with my headphone. The bathroom sink faucet is too close to the sink. Ice maker at the garage parking isn't working either. There's plenty of room for improvement needed to make your stay more comfortable. Since this isn't a 4 or 5 stars hotel and if you like garage parking and walking distance to shops, restaurants, pier, Fairmont Empress, Greater Victoria Visitors' center by the B.C. Legislative Hall (approx. 1.2km or 0.7 mile), this may be an OK place to stay for the night or two.