Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The exterior facade & grounds.
Cons: 1st, A friendly welcome, Plumbing, functional lift, staff awareness to the daily problems (non function lift as example)
Location: Ask reception, like hell.
The very efficient greeting was brrrr, very cold. I was so looking forward to the stay at this hotel, for the exterior photography looked so appealing. Don't be deceived by the promotional pictures, both on line nor in print. We had a staff member escort us up and down many corridors and stairways, in a newer part of the hotel. We eventually arrived at a non functional lift! (the lift, we were told, was out of order) Why the staff member was not aware of the problem is beyond belief !! On with the expedition, luggage still in tow, & more stairs, before we arrived at the allocated room. I entered the room and if it was going to be this room, first impression took over. It was nothing but a very cheap motel room at a high cost per night, with 3/4 of the window views taken up by an embankment. We said this is not on! The staff member phoned the "cold greeting department" and was told we could have a room on the ground floor, toward the front of house, with no non functioning lift to worry about. Brilliant !! This room appeared much better for the price, but it was designated dissabled persons,neither of us are. (we felt uncomfortable, as it may be required) After all the hiking around the hotel I needed to use the bathroom. Wow, do they have a plumbing issue, a flood all over the floor. Then the shower base started to gurgle. My partner lifted the grid to see what the cause was, only to reveal what could assume to be pubic hair blended with soap, quite revulting!,,!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Perfect special occasion venue.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
A serene location to enjoy a friend's family celebrations. Food was tasty, staff friendly and room very comfortable. A lovely swimming pool and facilities with terrific gardens to walk around. On a positive, it was dog friendly, which is great but service was a bit slow in the evening when we ordered a bar snack.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East England

Nice Hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Room and surroundings
Cons: Pizzas can make better ones myself
Very comfortable stay at Redworth Hall, room was comfortable and clean apart from cobwebs on the ceiling and walls, bathroom was clean and spacious. Bar only has two choices of draught lager and was quite pricey, breakfast was lovely however on the evening I ordered a pizza for supper which was poor quality for the price. Overall enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Wedding Stay over

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: The history
Cons: food
Location: not sure, was only there overnight
We really enjoyed the wedding reception room, very beautifully done. The room we had was on 2nd floor overlooking the inner garden area. The two twin beds were vey comfy and the room was clean and well appointed (happy for a good blow dryer). The grounds are very beautiful. Overall very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Ok Hotel but nothing special.

Posted May 31, 2016
We recently stayed here during our wedding weekend along with a large number of our guest. We did not get married at the hotel, but did in a local church. We booking through Expedia we requested that the rooms for the bridal party were located close by to each other. This request and the fact it was our wedding day was nether acted upon or acknowledged. Given the size of the hotel the rooms were very spread out and there was no acknowledgement that it was our wedding night. We booked the delux double room, however a lot of our guests were in the standard room and these were much bigger than our room but the shower was abit nicer. Also please note that breakfast is not on till 8am on bank holidays. We were not informed about this during check in and had to miss out due to catching a early flight. We did have a 3 course meal in the restaurant which was very nice and good value (3 courses for £25).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Good hotel, relaxing surroundings

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Relaxing atmosphere no friendly staff
Cons: Queuing for breakfast, did not seem to be enough staff to seat people. Breakfast buffet could have been hotter
Location: Lovely location with excellent gardens and facilities. Short drive into Darlington and Durham
A couple of nights stay to unwind. Very friendly staff, nice room and excellent meal in the restaurant
5 out of 5
by Oliver from Southampton

BOOK IT! You wont regret it!

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Just amazing, fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. Friendly staff and quiet possibly the best breakfast I have ever had!
4 out of 5
by Amanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Hannah from Chester

Good and bad points

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Plumbing so noisy woke children, expected for such an old building, bath taps dripped constantly, bathroom bin broken, lovely atmosphere to hotel, loved the size of the room and the luxery touches to the room and beautiful building. Hotel staff great, spa staff awful, wouldn't go again for what it cost but did enjoy the stay
4 out of 5
by Antony from Birmingham

Business Trip

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was good and staff were all excellent great customer service. I booked myself dinner at 19:30 initially i wanted a strak but there was a supplement of about £7/£9 on top of the 1 course choice which was around £17.95 so in my opinion quite alot for a strak concidering it was not a steak house,so i ended up ordering fishcakes and they tasted great, as i had fishcakes i thought i would stat with fish for my main, i chose salmon on a bed of noodles and broth, boy did it come with broth it was more like a soup. I tried it and it was tasty but not what i was expecting my food was literally swimming the noodles were not cooked yhey was practically raw, so i sent it back and chose the chicken dish that was really nice indeed, and finale was cheese board, just to note somebody else sent there salmon soup back. Breakfast the next morning had plenty of choice cereals and full English breakfast and coffee served to the table. All in all a nice hotel a bit dated but lots of character.