Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Convenient and good for the price

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Hard to say too much as we were only there for a couple of days in the middle of a snowstorm, but the front office and staff were friendly and the room was neat and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Smells like mildew.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: First hotel you come to on Chincoteague Island. Within walking distance of a bar and ice cream shop.
It's a cheap place to sleep. The staff is friendly, but slow and the room smelled of mildew.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

condition on room

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Old, no weather strips around doors, air and bugs could get through. Carpet worn, A/C unit vent broke, no stopper in sink or tub. Tub worn and stained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Within walking distance to everything

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel is conveniently located and is within walking distance of the great restaurants and shopping. It was very quiet.
I've stayed here a few times and have always been pleased. I had two issues this time. First, when I go online to book a hotel I search for hotels that are pet friendly. This hotel came up as pet friendly so I booked it. When I got to the hotel I informed the manager that I had my two small dogs with me and he gave me a little bit of hassle about the dogs and told me that I was supposed to call and book the room. He argued with me and told me that it states online that I have to call. I checked Expedia this morning and couldn't find that statement anywhere. I always book online for convenience. I told him to cancel my reservation and refund my money and I would go elsewhere. In the end I was able to stay. Second, our room had a leaky air conditioner. I was told by the manager that the leak was small but upon entering the room the entire floor from the wall to the bed was soaking wet. The rug started to have a smell due to the wetness. I told the manager and he came with towels to sop up the water but the rug remained soaking wet during our entire stay. It was unnerving getting up in the middle of the night to walk to the bathroom and stepping onto a sopping wet rug. I have allergies and asthma and the dampness and the smell caused me to come home with a sinus headache and tightness in my chest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Price was right

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We were looking for a reasonably priced room for one night. The room was nothing fancy and the AC was noisy but it was clean and relatively comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aldie VA

You get more than you pay.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
We booked this hotel last minute, just to sleep over at the beach. It was decent, we did not expect much so we were happy with what we got.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE PA

Not the best time of year for this hotel.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Needed better insulation/blankets and heat. Probably wonderful in the summer but just not set up for February guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We loved the decor it was charming

Posted Dec 1, 2015
The hotel is conveniently located as a midway stop in our annual Thanksgiving trip to New York we use rt 113. We have used it several times over the years and never had a reason to complain about anything. One thing that was new to us was the decor it was charming-furniture, paintings and wall coverings. We lived in Chincoteague for 7 years in the '70's
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The room was dirty, the beds were uncomfortable and left me feeling itchy...I couldn't sleep at all. Coffee pot was filthy, soap and shampoo were old and not really acceptable. Shower was a prison shower. So all I all, I'd say this place was pretty horrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
I had a very bad experience, the rooms fixtures are very dirty and old , also you can't sleep because it's smell like mold. Terrible, also I ask for non smoking, the cigaratte smell is very stong, this was the worst night in my life I feel very bad for my kids, mother in law and few friends that I invite I got 4 rooms but all were the same...