Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most beautiful stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The beauty, the staff, the location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect because we had access to the medina but also could be removed from the high intensity of it, since it was right on the edge
Riad Arabesque was the absolute perfect Riad for our stay in Fez. It has access directly into the Medina from the ground floor, but also sits upon a hill so that you actually have an incredible view of the mountains and the medina itself from the terrace. It was a wonderful spot to be able to step away from the madness of the medina (since it is on the very edge) but also have access to all the activity. The Riad was beautiful, almost like a mosque inside. Incredible tiles, colors, fountains and interior detailing. The terrace for meals is charming and romantic (one of my favorite spots at the riad), and the inside area for dinner is decorated beautifully with Moroccan decor. All the staff were incredibly accommodating and so lovely. The dinner we had at the Riad one night was one of our favorite meals out of all the meals we had in Morocco. Everything about this place was wonderful. We will definitely be returning to Riad Arabesque for our next visit to Fez!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only one word: horrible experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible. The worst was the condition of the hotel; it is in very very bad condition. It is situated in a good location but it is very outdated. Also don't expect any concierge services or even ask a question because you would be denied!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oberlin, Ohio

great pool

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
nice pool and decorations and furnishings
5 out of 5
by Heike from New York City

Out of the ordinary... a home... feeling of family

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Special place! M/nite pick-up at airpt for small fee. Recvd. by owners downstairs over back o/ramparts driveway, up tiled stairs to main level, another world. Over wine made acquaintance, settled prelims. Up to room through the 3 story atrium with pool & steep tiled stairs. Colorfully tiled bedrm & bathrm, each suite individual, w/all common hotel amenities. Here breakfast does not have to be between certain hours, you can be barefoot or wear pajamas. Like in a lge family home w/exotic spaces, artifacts. Brkfst on lovely lge terrace overlooking parts of Fez, vegetation, birds in all tongues, neighborhood cats watching your every bite, breads, eggs your style, plenty of coffee, yoghurt, fruit, juices, etc., incld.. With a known guide through the medina, not for the fainthearted. Entr. medina side, car entrance outside ramparts. A simple couscous. A nap in my clean, freshly made-up room. Mid eve into the lovely courtyard & salons with some visitors & hotel clients. Drinks, spontaneous interaction, conversations. Wonderful nighttime atmosphere. Waiter & room staff gentle, discrete, yet open to conversation, French, some English, the hands, smiles. Don't look for tidiness in public areas, yet exotic opulence of collected treasures, lounges, terrace, much open air, fragrant trees. Subdued music, birds, cats, low voices. Food excellent/honest, served w/care, simplicity. Comfort, slowness of pace, time stands still in exotic, yet simple style.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from New York

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
The Riad Arabesque was lovely. The staff was super attentive and helpful; they recommended restaurants, a tour guide, and helped us with transportation. The food was good, the view was great. There's really nothing negative to say about our experience here. It's a little bit of a walk from the parts of the Medina that you'll want to visit as a tourist, but if a half-mile walk is a problem for you, you might want to consider not visiting Fez in the first place...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice riad close to the medina in Fes

Posted Jan 7, 2015
This riad is an alternative to a hotel that I strongly recommend to experience something different in Morocco, but the facilities and services need to be improved. They overbooked so we had to spend the first night somewhere else in a hotel. The food is excellent but room service is deficient. Also, there is no gym and pool like they advertise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

NOT YOUR AVERAGE GUEST HOUSE!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
A very pretty riad with a 'warm welcome' to match...and a lovely mint tea! Attentive staff. Friendly owners; and they have provided me with everything I need (a guide, airport shuttle, train info etc.) without a hassle. The Riad itself is within the Medina, the old town, which was perfect for me as it is the area I wanted to explore the most. It is a quiet part of the Medina. However, you do need a (cheap) taxi 🚕 ride to get to the centre. I came during Ramadan, and it was therefore quiet, so I was lucky to have been given a Junior Suite. Room was great. Breakfast on the terrace was plentiful; not fry up but rather a healthier, traditional option. Love the freshly squeezed orange juice; and you are rewarded with a beautiful view of the Medina. They're in the process of adding a spa service to the property. So no guessing where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Fès! 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flower from Oregon, USA

Beautiful Riad with superb hospitality!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Riad, great service, excellent food.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Riad is near the Medina in Fes. We took a tour of the medina. We also did the recommended day trip to the Middle Atlas Berber region. A lovely tour
The Riad is absolutely beautiful with lovely patios and courtyards to enjoy. Staff was very hospitable, picking us up late from our train and making our stay very welcoming. Suggested tour guides were helpful. Food was the best in Morocco! This place was a wonderful place to stay. We highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
by Sheerim from Gatineau

Needs a serious facelift

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The graciousness of the owners who went out of their was to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The cook prepared delicious meals.
Cons: The owners need to recover sofa, chair and lounge chair coverings, replace curtains, and update their air-conditioning equipment.
Location: While located in the Medina, it is at the far north end and one must take taxis to get to the major sites in the Medina.
This Riad was supposed to be a 5 star establishment..... Upon arriving at the Riad with the complimentary driver, we had to wait several minutes in the alley outside the door before someone showed up to let us in. I was then invited to come into the lounge area of the Riad and was struck by the musty smell which permeated the entire space. The owners of the Riad then appeared and took me to my room which was in a second courtyeard area. I was struck by the shabbiness of the slipcovers, cushions and window treatments in the room. They were soiled and had seen better days. As well, the air-conditioner in the room made an awful noise preventing me from a good night's sleep for two nights. If only the owners would spend $ to refurbish this Riad, it would be striking and fully deserve a 5 star rating, as the furniture and artwork are outstanding and they had obviously put a lot of effort initially to make this a highly desirous Riad to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Lichfield, Staffordshire

Authentic Moroccan Experience

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Authentic Moroccan riad with very friendly and helpful staff
Location: Located within the Medina with its maze of ancient streets and alleyways. Hammam experience was fantastic. Trip to Meknes and Volubilis very enjoyable
A wonderful stay in a fabulous traditional Moroccan riad. Extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff, especially Younis who looked after us so well. Great breakfasts with selection of breads, fresh orange juice, coffee and omelettes. Fairly limited menu for dinner but beautifully cooked tagines. Owners arranged a guide for the Medina, a trip to a hammam and a trip to Meknes and Volubilis - all were excellent, worthwhile experiences. If you want to escape the impersonal hotel and enjoy some real Moroccan hospitality this is the perfect place to stay.