Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible breakfast .location no taxi ..worn from a

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Discusting breakfast.staff naked ny the pool ..no transit taxi .main areas was not airconditionned .very discomfort .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Comfortable hotel in New Town, Fez.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The location with the views over Fez and the beautiful garden. The staff went went out of their way to help and make us welcome.
Cons: It depends what you want. The decor is 'tired' but that simply did not bother us.
Location: The hotel is in New Town. There is a big supermarket about 5 minutes away, some small cafes and a gym. Old medina is a short taxi ride away.
We chose this hotel because of its location in New Town. It has a great view overlooking Fez from the back where you can sit on the terraces and watch the world by go. The hotel decor could benefit from some 'TLC' but what we loved about it was the staff. They were welcoming, courteous and could not do enough for us. We booked 3 nights but returned for a 4th. I would definitely go back again. A few niggles with the bath etc. but that did not in any way detract from our enjoyment. Beautifully quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable for a short stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: Breakfast was buffet, so lots of food, but mostly baguette and pastries. I would prefer traditional Moroccan breads, fruit and yogurt.
Location: Located in Ville Nouvelle. Its good for people who have business in Ville Nouvelle, but a bit far for those who want to explore the medina
I stayed for one night and was very satisfied. Hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming, room was quiet, comfortable, and large. Air conditioning worked great. Breakfast included. Only downside was that you had to pay the hotel tax (20 dirhams - 2$) in cash upon leaving. I only had a 100 dirham bill and the girl at reception didn't have change, so she had to ask about 20 people for change before she could give me my change.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, horrendous, shocking

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Where do I start.. This is probably the worst hotel I have booked. The staff are rude and horrible. The corridors are dark without light and full off mosquitos. Now to come to the main points.. The advertisement on your website says the rooms have full air conditioning.. It's far from air conditioning.. It doesn't work at all couldn't sleep the first night and after informing the hotel staff all I was told I'm sorry open your window or contact your booking provider and book another hotel.. The drains in the bathroom are blocked so it takes ages for the water to drain and I literally have to hold the toilet flush for Upto a minute for it to flush...I mean is this the kind of hotel these guys advertise on your website?! Four star?? To top it off the ear ache from the disco on the ground floor doesn't stop until early morning.. This hotel ruined my holiday! Not to mention the train line right behind the hotel.. Trains pass every 2-3 hours furing the night. Do yourself a favour and don't ruin your holiday
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel, a pleasant 15-minute walk from the medina, situated on a ridge with a beautiful view of the city. There were several busloads of European tourists staying there as well, and I sometimes felt that I was competing with them for the staff's attention. Otherwise very comfortable and a good value.
3 out of 5
by Business Trip from Fez

Good value for money if you on tight budget.

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels
I loved the city but would go to a different hotel next time. There are 3 hotels with a similar name and the taxi drivers get it wrong! So I went initially to the Palace, 5 star hotel, then directed to the 3 star hotel and ended up with the correct 4 star hotel. The 4 star label only makes sense within the Moroccan context. The corridor carpet was ripped and the lights were off and it was very dark and I was afraid, although they assured me that I was safe.
2 out of 5
by Dave from Virginia

Adequate, nothing more.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The guest service rep greeted us by trying to tell us that we were at the wrong hotel. With insistence, he found our reservation. He refused to give my copy of the Expedia reservation back to me. We asked for them to arrange for a tour guide for the next day, which they said they would be glad to do. The next morning when we went to the desk at the appointed time, they told us that they could not get one. Really? No heads up or anything. Every encounter at the desk was smug. The staff in the restaurant at breakfast was awesome--attentive, friendly, remembering our name and room number. We also enjoyed a good dinner buffet with attentive service. While we enjoyed the fireplace in the lobby, the bar service was very slow. In fact, you had to ask for service every night. The room condition was very disappointing for $300 per night. Big cracks and patches on ceiling. Cracked lamp shades on wall sconces. No artwork in room at all. Very stark. Definitely in need of renovation.
3 out of 5
by Cesar from Denver

Not a 4 stars

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel might have been a 4 star hotel a long time ago but not up to today standards. The staff at the hotel is extremely serviceable, polite and helpful.The hotel was clean, however the AC didn't work in 2 of the rooms i was in. The first room flooded and had to be transferred to another one. At night i had to keep the window open to get fresh air (AC not working) but the creek nearby smelled like rotten eggs....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and good people-needs taxi service!

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel Menzeh Zalag is really a great, comfortable place to stay when visiting Fes. Nice staff, clean rooms, a pool (helps in heat!), and you can buy drinks. Pretty economical too. My only criticism is that they don't have a taxi service and apparently can't order one to help you get to the train station. They are located conveniently next to a major taxi thorough fare (about 3 blocks away), but it's not fun shlepping your luggage-or standing around at 6am looking for a taxi-on major travel days.