Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Highly recommend this property!

Posted May 25, 2016
We had a great experience at Relais Pian D'ercole. They were professional, accomodative, and made our short stay very memorable. We had a late check - in and forgot our converters. Rebecca was kind enough to check us in and lend us two of her adapters. Second, we were starving from a long drive and though it was beyond their restaurant's hours, they happily served us one of our best Italian dinners on our trip. Raymundo's sophisticated yet friendly demeanor along with his high level of hospitality and service makes this special property a must stay!
4 out of 5
by Nav from London

Nice cosy hotel in great location

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night on a fact finding mission to plan our wedding. Hotel location is great. The decor is traditional tuscan style. free wifi but average breakfast. the manager Sergio is very helpful and kind
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel and a good base for visiting Tuscany.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Location: Florence, Siena, Chianti Region
Nice hotel, room was ok but our tv wouldn't work which isn't the end of the world but it would have been better if it had. Breakfast was basic to say the least. One cup of coffee only, and a poor selection of pastries and bread rolls. Not even any cheese or ham. I've been to Italy a lot and that was poor in comparison. The swimming pool was fantastic. There is an on site restaurant but we didn't use it for evening meals as we went out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Faultless Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The building and grounds were beautiful and the staff were lovely.
Cons: N/a
Location: Wonderful location, easy to get around. The area of Rufina is very nice and peacefull but there are plenty of shops and restaurants to enjoy.
The hotel was amazing, easy to get to from Pisa Airport (via train), beautiful location and really friendly and helpful staff. It was about a 15 walk from the local train station (Rufina) which made it great base for exploring Tuscany, we traveled to Florence frequently (30min train journey and €3.30) and also to Pisa and Sienna. The hotel itself was a beautiful building, the rooms were kept immaculate and were very comfortable, The pool was a good size and surrounded by wonderful views. The grounds are beautiful and filled with flowers, fountains and plenty of shady spaces to sit and relax. The staff were all very accommodating and welcoming. The breakfast is also lovely.
5 out of 5
by mr deighton from york england

great people

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
fantastic hotel ,staff so helpful great food all together a brilliant and relaxing place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Simon & Shirley from Forres moray

Spectacular hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels
Never been to Italy before, so we were not sure what to expect but pleasantly surprised not only by the beautiful scenery around the hotel but from the first moment we walked into the hotel reception we were made very welcome, staff were very pleasant, owners were very nice and the accomidation was very comfortable and well laid out, nothing seemed to be any trouble weather it was directions or trying to understand the finer points of the language, we only ate in the restaurant on our last night this was probably a mistake as the food was put of this world thank you very much for a lovely stay hope to return very soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky from Aberdeeb

Excellent friendly hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Small friendly hotel in perfect location. Staff and owners could not have done enough for us.
Cons: Air conditioning on end of May / start of June
Location: Location was wonderful if you wanted to get a relaxing break away. Just 5 minutes walk to the local village which had restaurants, shops and bars.
Only disappointing factor was that the air conditioning is only turned on over the summer months.
4 out of 5
by T J from North Carolina

A bit out of the way, but that was kind of the poi

Posted May 29, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is situated about 2 KM outside of the town of Rufina. The address of the hotel led me to believe it was in Pontassieve, the next town down the road about 10KM, so, when planning your train stop, get off at Rufina. We walked to the hotel from the train station, but it is a good distance, especially when you have baggage and don't know where you are going. Unfortunately, the girls at the front desk who answered the phone could not speak enough English to give us directiosn so we wandered around for a while, getting broken English instructions along the way until we finally found the Hotel. The check in was pretty easy and fast and the room was comfortale and clean. I never really figured out the A/C, so I'm not sure if it was broken or just my inability to work it properly. I never ate at the restaurant except for breakfast but that was very good. They had a party the night we arrived so the restaurant wasn't open but the food they served at the party was quite good. Overall, we enjoyed out stay there and would probably do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan from England, UK

Quiet hotel set in the Tuscan countryside

Posted Sep 22, 2012
Pros: Excellent location and friendly staff
Cons: The poor air conditioning
Location: Ideal for trips to Florence
This is a lovely hotel set in the beautiful Tuscan countryside and about 30 mins by car from Florence. There is a small town of Rufina is just down the road and has a train station, shops and restaurants. We stayed here in September so it was very quiet and so is ideally suited to those who desire peace and quiet. The grounds are well maintained with wonderful views of the countryside from the room and the staff are very friendly. The room was of a reasonable standard with a bonus of fridge. We also had some very nice meals in the hotel restraunt. Perhaps the only negative is that the air conditioning in our room did not function very effectively and so we were forced to open the window at night. This meant that the room filled with insects and we were covered in bites for much of our stay. We did ask for it to be turned down but it made no difference and we didn't press the matter further.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jc from uk

06/ 2012 stay at Pian D'Ercole

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: Location, staff and restaurant
Cons: pool use by non residents perhaps
Location: 30 mins from Florence
I have nothing but praise for this hotel and its staff.If its a quiet and relaxing stay or a base for touring (transport required), the Pian d'Ercole is recommended. Due to documentation error we had to cancel the car hire option and arrived by public transport (Rail) to Rufina. The hotel transport collected us and conveyed us to the resort, and for our away day trips arranged transport to and from the hotel and rail station. The rooms were as described in the brochure and cleaned daily. The restaurant served excellent meals and wines and was served by attentive and friendly staff. The location and surrounding countryside was pleasing to the eye and photogenic. Daily use was made of the swimming pool, which was also available to non residents which made it busy on the Sunday. If its clubs, discos bars and noisy traffic you're after, this is not the place for you. We stayed at this hotel for seven nights, and found it to be totally relaxing and look forward to a return visit (with car hire).