Ratings based on 2,329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pelican Grande

Posted Apr 29, 2016
I was disappointed. It was such a gem and now needs a lot of paint and fixing up basics. The gym was pretty awful, very small and most of the equipment did not work. Better to shut it down. The evening meal was expensive tapas and everything ala carte. very disappointing.Never going back. The breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Very Nice

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The room we had was so roomy very nice the only bad thing it was hot we had the air as cool as we could get it but it did not cool down.
Cons: It would be nice if it would have been no smoking around the pool.
Location: The only disappointing thing about this Hotel was that nothing was within walking distance you have to drive if you need anything.
We stayed at this Hotel only for two nights after a cruise it was very nice if you are just looking to relax, we did not have a car and could not run and pick a few things up nothing was close enough to walk to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel, very expansive though

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Being on a beach, room's quality.
Cons: Pricing is too high for a room and food.
I liked everything about this hotel resort except that prices for both stay and food are too high. The room quality was great. We liked both the beach and pool. With unreasonably high prices in mind we are unlikely to stay again at this hotel. Not having any cafe / restaurant close to this hotel is also a minus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County PA

beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The beach location was excellent.
Cons: Although housekeeping did a good job they did not get to our room until almost 5:00 pm on two days. This was way too late.
Location: We did not have a car so we didn't explore a lot but we did take a cab to Flamingo gardens. Very pretty with interesting tram tour.
This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. There is a covered veranda overlooking the beach where you can sit and relax, have a drink or a meal. It is very large, and can accommodate a lot of people. The bar/restaurant and more upscale restaurant were both very good. You can eat inside or outside. Because it was windy, and a little chilly a couple of days, we did both. The hotel staff, and restaurant staff were friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel off the beach.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The view of the Ocean from the room.
Cons: May be have more waiters or hostess when service is busy.
Location: If your interested to eat outside the hotel you have about One mile too Three miles to eat out.
Our visit was very breath taking. Scenery was just so beautiful and weather helped. The service was excellent and staff helped when needed. As for the rooms are very nice and clean and unfortunately had a room on the 2nd floor near the equipment room and heard machines going all through the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from red bank, new jersey

Wonderful to be right on the beach with beautiful

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Location on the beach with beautiful room views of the ocean.
Cons: The pool was too small. There were no shower caps or magnifying mirrors in the bathrooms. No gratis coffee available in lobby.
Location: A little too far from mainstream.
The gentleman that brought in bags and was always there and attentive, Enrique, I believe was his name brought the personal touch to the hotel. Our group thought he should be the concierge or hotel host. Good job. Although away from the mainstream of ft. Lauderdale we came in our short time there to appreciate the peaceful setting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country Modern Decor

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: The decor and setting. I had a delicious tuna wrap at the bar.
Cons: Coffee and food in the main restaurant.
Location: Quick Taxi ride to Galleria Mall and restaurants.
I stayed at the Pelican Grand for two nights. My room faced the ocean and the pool so when I sat on the balcony I enjoyed the view of both sites. All was wonderful about my stay except for the following: we were a group of 9 people having lunch on the outdoor porch of the main dining room. It took me about 1/2 hour to get a glass of wine and the food was subpar. The experience was lovely as the setting was by the ocean and was really peaceful, but they need to improve the food level. The coffee at the hotel could be improved especially in the Emporium. There is a $27. resort fee which then has tax added to it. Expedia had told me it was $22. That was an extra $80. that I did not need to spend as I didn't have time to use the beach or other facilities. All else was very fine!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Remember to ask for late checkout at least 5 times

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Good location right on the beach.
Cons: see above.
Location: There is a great little restaurant about 4 blocks down the street called Casa Blanca.
Arrived well past midnight and requested late check out for next morning and I was told I would have to request after 8am the next morning. Called next morning and requested late checkout. The latest they provide is noon without a fee. For an extra $100 I could stay until 2pm - which I agreed to and was noted in my account. 1050am - House keeping knocked. I told the lady that I had late check out until 2pm. Went back to bed. 1115am - House keeping entered room. I told a different lady about late checkout. Went back to bed. 1135am - Received call from front desk informing me that I was still in my room after checkout. I told him to check my account and see that a late checkout was approved. He was very pleasant and then apologized for calling and the previous interruptions and said he would call the head of Housekeeping to personally advise of my 2pm checkout. 1225pm - Housekeeping knocked. Same lady, same conversation. I called front desk and asked if we maybe had a different idea of late checkout. They apologized and after some back and forth they agreed to extend my check out time to 3pm. 225pm - Housekeeping knocked. I packed and left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Waterfront Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Waterfront access Rocking chairs on the veranda was very nice Pool and lazy river were nice
Cons: Update the rooms - drawer pulls on bottom drawer were knobs vs. handles with exposed holes on drawer front. Hoes in carpet where tile/carpet meet
Location: Nice walk area along public beach Most restaurants were a drive away vs. walking distance
Great access to the beach, but beach was closed two days while we were there and no discounted rates for those days were accepted. Hotel is nice, but is worn. There were holes in our carpet and the air conditioning was weak. We had it on the coldest setting and it was still warm in our room. Pool and lazy river area was very nice - but I didn't choose to stay in a waterfront hotel to go to the pool. Suites were nice size with separate sitting areas Our balcony was nice, but the door handle was ready to fall off. Overall, nice hotel. Very overpriced during spring break time especially when beach is not accessible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Great place for a mom getaway! Drinks brought to us on the beach, floated on the lazy river, room slept 5.