Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible customer service

Posted Apr 9, 2017
I arrived very early unexpectedly. I hadn't slept in 24 hours. The guest that was in my room didn't check out until close to 10. One lady at the front desk said I could check in as soon as the room was clean. Shift changed and there was another lady. She was aware that I was already there and had my number to call. It was 11:00 and I went to check to see if the room was clean. I went back at 1:00 and the room was still not clean. Then she became hateful and said check in wasn't until 4pm and the cleaning crew had until 4 to get my room cleaned. I thought...if she cared about her customers she would have made an effort to let the cleaning crew know that I had been there since 4am and was waiting for the room to be cleaned to check in. She didn't care. Then when I finally got checked in after 2 pm there was hair all over the floor, rugs and even the bed. There was urine and hair all over the toilet. They gave you one roll of toilet paper for the week. The decor is very outdated. I was very unsatisfied and will not return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Read the fine print...know what you're purchasing.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The one good feature was it's proximity to the beach. It had a walkway over the roadway so that you did not need to play frogger to cross it.
Cons: Make it much clearer (in larger print) that rooms are not guaranteed. Point out that you will be assigned whatever room they choose to give you.
Location: The beach and water are beautiful! Lulu's and McGuire's are absolute must-eat places! If Cirque Italia is still in town, it's worth the price & drive.
We were disappointed with the hotel, err..."condo." They call their rooms condos b/c they are individually owned, do not include daily cleaning services and you take out your own trash. We booked a king room with a view. We got a double room with a view of the bay not the ocean. Still, it was a view. The beds in our room had spring mattresses that were lumpy and worn from many years of use. We inquired at check-in if a room with an ocean-view was available and we were told that, for an undisclosed amount, we could upgrade but once we did, we would be locked into the change and could not undo it. Due to the exorbitant cost, we chose not to upgrade. We were told that in the future we should book directly with the facility and not through a third party, such as Expedia, if we wanted rooms "at the front of the house." We were told directly by a staff member that all rooms booked through third parties were always "at the back of the house." Additionally, the carpet looked as though it had not been cleaned in many years. The dresser in the room was made of wicker and bore a horrible smell that rendered it useless for storing clothes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Weekend Adventure

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. The gulf was like an icy blue diamond. Our accommodations were perfect. No complaints...will definitely return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pensacola

really nice

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
loved it
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: It was close to the beach and a had nice walk over to the beach as well. The staff was friendly and responsive to our complaints about the room.
Cons: Cleaning staff needs a lot of improvement.
We faced several repairs that needed to be fixed when we checked in. The hotel was good about sending maintenance in to fix the repairs. Two bottom drawers had broken rods to where the drawers would not pull in or out. The closet rod was pulled out of the wall and was about to fall. The shower soap holder fell off the wall and took several tiles with it when it fell into the tub. Maintenance came the next day and put duck tape around the tiles to cover up the hole so that we could take showers. The return air vent had dust about an inch deep sitting on the louvers. The freezer in the fridge was so frosted over that you could not pull out the ice trays, they were frozen in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westcoast

Beachside vacation

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: The Royal palm Grill restaurant is great! Even if you stay somewhere else, I highly recommend the restaurant, chef is fantastic! Best sushi anywhere!
Cons: Customer service, front desk, stop the misleading advertising. BTW, 1 ice machine in the entire property and don't forget your 25 cents!
Location: The location is good - lots to do in Destin.
Late arrival on a Friday night in January, expected no problem since property advertises 24 hour lobby desk. Wrong. Arrived around 11:30pm to find the lobby locked. There was a hotline phone to security guard. Security guard tried to help but did not have access to our late arrival info. She tried calling the "on-call" person but no answer. Finally after about an hour of this, a person was located who wouldn't give us access until we paid a $90 cleaning fee (even though our hotel was prepaid for 5 nights). Finally we were given a code to lock box, entered the room and were amazed to find it was a tiny box with a king size bed - my wife and I could not move around. When viewed on line on expedia, the rooms appeared to be spacious. They call this tiny room a "studio suite" - I think because they were able to cleverly install an angled sink and mini-fridge into the narrow entry way. Bathroom also tiny, open the mini-closet and a broom and mop fell on us, with pillows & extra blanket, no room to hang anything. Oh and the toilet was broken and closet door was off track. Next morning expressed our disappointment, was told even though there were larger multi-room units available and we were willing to pay for upgrade, they couldn't help us since we booked through expedia. Called expedia, expedia tried to help but front desk told expedia that they couldn't do anything. Very frustrating and a total lack of customer orientation. Plenty of better alternatives - stay somewhere else!
3 out of 5
by Kristin

Disappointed

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
There were extra charges "fine print" when I checked in. Strike one. With every shower we took, the water went from burning hot to cold back and forth the entire time. It was miserable. Strike 2 My fiancé went to find some more towels and was informed that service was not offered, we would have to do laundry. Strike 3 I understand that the resort is condos. However, when booking the room I had no indication that it was a private condo and not a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
They didn't give me much towels and I never saw a roomservce since I was there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels