Ratings based on 2,420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Posted Jul 23, 2016
I hate to be negative but this hotel is very very old and is in need of updates. The staff was great and professional but I just didn't feel very safe here. My key fob worked randomly and half the time the door was unlocked to the building. There were a lot of disheveled men hanging on balconys and it looked as though they lived there. Hence their bicycles and charcoal grills. My balcony door lock was broken and the rug was so dirty my feet were sticky! I booked this hotel in advance for August but feel I should change my reservation. It's too bad because the location was good in reference to UF.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False Advertisement

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The building is old the property is dangerous and the rooms are filthy. Don't waste your time or money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merritt Island FL

Check your bank statement

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Everything was fine.
Cons: Hold some front desk credit/debit training.
Location: Was there for Shands and didn't pay attention to anything else.
Everything was fine until I checked my bank statement. I paid for the room via Expedia and then the clerk charged me for the room again. I called and spoke to a desk clerk, he said he could see it was paid for and charged again. He assured me he would credit my account for the room. I checked again and he infact, put the charge through as opposed to a credit. It appears they have no problem taking your money but have a problem getting it back to you. Next time in Gainesville, I will stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The staff was friendly, but the hotel was not in great condition. My shower didn't drain and my room felt dark and old. I understand that it was recently bought by the Wyndham Garden, but I feel as though I did not get even close to what I paid for. They need to drop their rates significantly until they renovate the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the college

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Spiders on the ceiling and the furniture was in poor condition in the hallway. It wasn't to bad for a one night stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Good hotel for the price, needs some upgrades but the location is convenient. Sunsets are beautiful on the lake.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Supposedly under new management...

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing. We prepaid for three nights and only stayed one night, because there was no choice. Packed up and found a suitable hotel...
Cons: This is clearly not a 3.5 star hotel. Rooms need major help with remodel.
We arrived late in the evening for our stay. Staff were somewhat friendly upon arrival and told us we were getting a "free upgrade" to a lake view. However, it was far from an upgrade... There was no parking close to the building. We had to carry our luggage across the main parking lot, through several buildings, while navigating multiple sets of stairs. When we finally arrived at the building the door was completely unlocked - actually the lock to the building had been removed, but they left the old card reader for some reason. There was little to no lighting outside and inside the building as we walked down a dingy hallway with extremely low ceilings, carpet appeared to be very worn too. We opened the door to the room hoping for a surprise that the room would be better. Not a chance... The carpet was stained, bed sheet didn't even cover the entire king bed and the mattress cover was clearly the wrong size. The bathroom was outdated with some type of black stuff in the shower. Overall the room was less than acceptable..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hatboro, PA

Good, but could be bettrr.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
This hotel has the location that could make it a real nice place to stay. It has a beautiful lake behind it. Unfortunately, the view from my balcony was storage trailers. The room was clean and comfortable. The price was right. The halls and entryways need work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel close to my destination

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: It was clean
Cons: To many little tables in the room
Location: Great location quiet and yet close to everything that matters me.
I enjoyed my one night stay that was enough for me see I can stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this place!

Posted May 31, 2016
The room was very clean and comfortable. I loved the balcony overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pool is quite tiny but that doesn't really take much away from the hotel.