Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel near the Mira Flores locks

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: If it was all-inclusive as to on sight excursions, and meals would be nice.
Location: Located on River near Mira Flores Locks in rain forest. Fishing, view Canal, wildlife, explore.
Got to Panama right behind hurricane OTTO which dumped a lot of debris in the Canal, but, except for a little rain, didn't dampen our trip. Took tram ride to top of rain forest view point which is a great view, went fishing in Gatun Lake and caught hoops of Peacock bass, and generally relaxed around the hotel grounds and pools. Not bad after a hurricane had gone through. Accommodations were large, and comfortable. We booked a Junior Suite which had an upstairs bedroom area which we didn't need. The staff was very nice, and always friendly. Breakfast and evening buffets were plentiful, and service was good. Plenty of English speaking staff to help with lack of Spanish. Generally a nice stay under less than ideal conditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Lovely property - could be exceptional!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Wonderful staff and grounds. Pool was clean and really nice.
Cons: The building needs physical upkeep and perhaps a remodel.
Location: Location was beautiful! Marina for fishing boats, kayaking, butterfly farm, orchid farm, complimentary night safari trip, and the Aerial Tram.
We were here with our two sons - both nature lovers so the location of this resort was perfect. The hotel itself is lovely but in dire need of maintenance. The surrounding rainforest has taken its toll on this unusual property. With general maintenance and perhaps some extensive remodel this could be a 5+ star property. The staff is so willing to help you in any way. They were wonderful to us from the front desk manager, Irina Gordon to the restaurant manager Juan, as well as the bartender in the lobby bar. They couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating! We chartered a boat for two days and caught a ton of Peacock Bass in Gatun Lake and the restaurant prepared them for our dinner one night. They were so tasty - prepared in three different ways with steamed vegetables and fries. Fantastic!! Our accommodations were on the 5th floor. We had a one bedroom suite and our boys had an adjoining two queen bed room. This worked out perfectly for us. Irena Gordon made sure these accommodations were right for us. All in all, a wonderful trip! Here's hoping someone picks up this property and gives it the care that it so richly deserves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, US

Great in the off season

Posted Jun 29, 2016
We were there in the low season (June) and it was great. Not crowded at all. Rooms were clean and views from the balconies couldn't be any better. We had no problem getting on tours at the last minute etc. Most of their tours are not really for the serious wildlife enthusiast, but the guides were knowledgeable and the canopy aerial tram was fun never the less. There are plenty of trails you can walk by yourself if you care to get out and we saw wildlife from the balcony and hotel walkways. With your own car you can get to lots of good day trips, so a good base for exploring from.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Spectacular setting. Beautiful pool area. Hotel stuck in the 1960's. Peaceful. Food cafeteria style / limited options on menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Hotel is far past its prime. It is so large they are not able to maintain it well. So it feels dirty. Staff and service was good but facilities are too run down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great excursions nearby

Posted Mar 8, 2016
We had a great time at this resort. We were there for 3 days. We enjoyed the resort and loved the "sloth talk" and the animal rescue program. The aerial tram was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Air Cond.

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: attractive, good facilities well maintained, beautiful location, a few nice tours offered
Cons: A. C. of public spaces would be nice but they are hugh and have lost of door free in and out.
Location: Location fine, in the middle of the country, one hour by car from Panama City, but a LONG way from airport. Took two hours at 7:00 am due to traffic.
Room A.C. was fine, but lobby and most public spaces not. And it was HOT. Restaurant air conditioned. It wouldn't have been a problem but daytime temps were in the 90s.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Gamboa Hotel Rainforest Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location, wildlife, river view. Excellent location to good bird watching sites -Pipeline Road and Rainforest Discovery Centre. Sloth visitor centre.
Cons: Ensure reception staff can access all bookings. More consistency on levels of service from all staff. Prices are high for most of the nature options
Location: Rainforest Discovery Centre for Canopy Tower and rainforest walks, but car/taxi needed, excellent humming bird feeders to view many species together.
Bad experience on arrival when receptionist could not locate our booking, took about 15 mins to resolve and then told that breakfast was not included, which I was sure I had selected. this was then added for us due to initial problems in finding the booking. Room was ok, big, clean, broken drawer, big balcony, 2 double beds rather than king size booked, large bathroom. Lots of varying info from staff/tour desk on free tours available and what times, but got there eventually with a really good nature walk with Eleana. Breakfast was average, struggled to get a small milk jug for our tea each morning, reasonable selection on 2 days but later visit one day was not much left to chose from. Tables cleared well and staff did help if anything was needed (given the language barrier even speaking English was sometimes difficult). Evening meals also some issues, room service took ages to arrive and was cold, the Chagres restaurant on last evening ended with poor experience as having to send back main meal twice as not hot on arrival on cold plates. Staff did respond well to our issues but would have preferred good service first time around. A late check out of room on request was readily supplied to us with no query. Overall the location, wildlife options, walks, views were the highlight of this hotel, but some Good and bad service received, a few individuals stood out to restore faith.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area California

Sad......views are beautiful.....but hotel is worn

Posted Feb 17, 2016
If you want to stay overnight at the rainforest this is essentially your only choice......that said you could just come from Panama city for the day and NOT spend that kind of money for a hotel that is not really worth thayt kind of money.... Food was substandard..... Tours offered of rainforest were good.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Love the settings the wild life . Staff was good .