Ratings based on 1,835 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshville NC

Wonderful!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
The staff worked with us very kindly to extend our stay as we found more and more to see and do in the Gatlinburg area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you for the great review! We take great pride in having a kind, accommodating staff. It was our pleasure to help you extend your stay so that you could fully experience Gatlinburg. We hope that you will stay wit us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dalton, GA

Nice motel close to everything

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Almost a cottage feel in a motel room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room service replaced towels, etc. but didn't make the beds. We didn't have anyone else coming into the room, so it was okay this time. But other than that, I would definitely come back and recommend it. Close walking distance to everything. Hotel has been remodeled and is very comfy and clean. Very pleased with my stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, Thank you for the great review! Everyone is enjoying our cozy renovated guest rooms, and we are glad that you did too. We are always striving to provide our guests with the best experience from a clean, comfortable room to a friendly staff. We apologize that your bed was not made the one day during your stay. We will follow up with our housekeeping staff concerning this matter. We hope you will stay with us in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Will Be Back, Again and Again!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The new renovations, easy access to downtown, plenty of available parking, great staff.
Cons: floor could have been swept, or a broom in room to keep the bare feet clean. :)
Location: We walked to the Aquarium, and could eat at nearby restaurants, very close to Ober Gatlinburg's tram station. We enjoyed the River walk across the rd
Loved the Renovations!! Such a nice room, the King with Jacuzzi tub and stand up shower, deluxe suite. Just the right amount of room, and the hardwood floor and new tile work in bathroom took us away from the drab hotel look. It was quiet, and very accessible to town with a lovely walkway on the river street or just a block up to the main drag. We only drove our car once after arriving to visit nearby attractions. The breakfast was simple, but saved us time and money for that meal each day. The pool was not heated, which made it very accessible for my wife who loved the natural cold water after sunning, with no one else around the entire day she was there. But all that aside, the staff was OUTSTANDING and went out of their way to make everything perfect. This is our new go-to weekend away place! Thanks for a great long weekend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cyndi & David, Thank you for the amazing review! We are always striving to provide our guests with the best products and services. It was our pleasure hosting your weekend getaway, and we hope to see you soon for another great weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great location...amazing staff

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and love the beautiful remodeled rooms!! Great location and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We will definitely book here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madria, Thank you for the wonderful review! We always strive to make sure our guests have the best possible experience. We are so glad that we were able to go above and beyond for you! We look forward to you staying with us in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is going to be in high demand.

Posted May 11, 2017
Location: the location is perfect, about one block off the main road towards the river. Walk to all of the attractions on the main st. .
The hotel will be in high demand once it is finished. It is in the process of being renovated and most of the rooms have been completed and they are great! Comfy beds, refrigerator, microwave ,& Fireplaces. Our room had a couple of problems that the manager tried to take care of ASAP but was unable to and we had to move rooms an inconvenience but not horrible. The rooms being newly done were missing a couple of minor touches still the first room, towel bars and hooks in the bathroom and the second chairs on the balcony. They are still working on it so it's ok, the balconies have not been done yet and are getting all new furniture.I can't wait to see it once it is all done the whole outside is getting a face lift along with the lobby. I hope they keep the staff in place because i have not met a nicer one in a long time. We will definitly be going back and will recommend this hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear “The hotel is going to be in high demand,” Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are excited about all the great things that are happening here, and are thrilled that you are just as excited! It was our pleasure hosing your stay in Gatlinburg. We hope you will come back and see all the new improvements!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nice value. Updated rooms. Courteous staff. Only downside rooms are lacking bedside outlets.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck, Thank you for reviewing River Edge Motor Lodge! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We are always striving to provide a great product and service to our guests. We are currently completing the finishing touches to our renovated guest rooms, including more outlet options. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see all the wonderful improvements that we are making!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice hotel close to Downtown, the beds were a little too soft for me and my husband, wish the rooms had coffee makers
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were enjoyed hosting you and your husband. We apologize that you did not have a coffee maker in your room. All our guest rooms are now completely renovated, and each one has a coffee maker in them. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future and see the wonderful improvements we have made to this hotel!
4 out of 5
by Donna

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Thank you for the great rating! Please come back and see all the wonderful improvements we have been making to the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Comfortable and convent hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
This an older motor lodge but was comfortable with nice amenities. It was downtown and close to many restaurants and shopping. On a sadder note that has nothing to with this hotel., we left Gatlinburg one day before the fires swept through the community. We hope the River Edge will recover and that the staff who work there are safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Laura, Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gloria, Thank you for the great review. Since the fires, we have been busy with renovations. All of our guest rooms are completely renovated. We are still making improvements to the rest of the property. We hope you will stay with us in the future and see all the great things that are happening here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time . Would stay there again .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Dear Sherrie, Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed hosting your stay in Gatlinburg. We hope you will stay here again and experience our nicely renovated guest rooms.