Ratings based on 1,682 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

in the thick of things

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: general layout
Cons: the breakfast could be expanded to include hot items like scrambled eggs, or a waffle maker
Location: we ate at a couple of nice eateries. the best was the mexican place. everything was within walking distance.
we enjoyed the room and our stay. the bed was a king and very comfortable. i forgot my CPAP machine and still slept the night through,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel was mis represented when we booked.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Hotel needs to be remodeled if they want respectable residents to spend there money there. Breakfast area to small no place to sit and eat.
Location: Gatlinburg has everything vacationers want to do. Hiking shopping, Dollywood amusement park, Caverns, Dining
It was not a very updated hotel it looked to be very run down. The picture we saw were very nice and inviting. Had to fight to get a refund after we decide we weren't going to stay in this run down hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Moutain charm

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Our family of six stayed in the 2 bedroom family suite. The rooms may not be updated, but it adds to the mountain charm and atmosphere. This was the last stop for is on a very long trip. We stayed in "nicer" hotels but everyone agreed that this was their favorite. It's close yo food, shopping, and entertainment. The staff is helpful and courteous. We are definitely plannong on staying again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice for the price

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Newer carpet, nice beds, all rooms facing the pool. Convience to many attractions.
Cons: Common area upgrades.
Location: Many shops and activities within walking distance
Our room was up to date with newer carpet, granite counter tops, flat screen TV, new light fixtures and every room faced the pool, so no looking at an air conditioning unit or some other unattractive view. It was very convenient to the main stripe so you didn't have to get in your car. It is an older hotel so don't expect everything to be modern. A great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oskaloosa

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Would be nice if the AC worked a bit better. Overall great hotel for price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very Clean and Quite

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Value for amenities
Cons: Updating bathrooms and more food selections including healthy choices.
Location: Awesome location a few blocks from the noise but within walking distance. Safe area and trolley out front.
Excellent budget choice. Older but very clean and homey. Staff was super polite and attentive. We walked a few blocks to everything and had the Trolley outside as well. Only downside was finding a parking spot at night when there was full vacancy. It could use some updating to modern decor but everything was in good working order. The breakfast was the least favorite thing. It consisted of white toast,plain bagels, store bought mini muffins, white milk, juice, coffee, tea, bananas and glazed donuts. If you want healthy items, the bananas were all there was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.C.

Close to downtown, limited parking, bugs

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown.
Cons: Exterminate, get new furniture, connect parking spaces to the rooms.
Location: Everything downtown is in walking distance. Ripley's chair lifts, restaurants.
The hotel was close to the main street of downtown Gatlinburg. In walking distance pretty much to everything. The room was really, really dated. The look on my wife's face when she walked in would have told the whole story, but even though it was dated, I wanted to give it a chance. It looked pretty clean overall. We unloaded, got in the car to go meet my parents for dinner. We came back around 1am and I was lucky to find parking in the hotel parking lot. You would think a parking space would have been part of the room package, but unfortunately it wasn't. How do you have more cars than rooms? Maybe some of the cars there were not suppose to be there. That's kind of inconvenient when you have a family with a 10 month old. Had to drop my family off in front of the room then drive clear around to the other side of the building to park. I guess since it's peak season, traffic will be horrible, but the road coming out of the hotel is just ridiculous. Sat there in traffic at least 30 minutes each time I tried to leave. Make sure to have you car serviced before you go because sitting there in extreme heat might make your car run hot. Saw a bunch. We found an earwig in the bed where the baby was sleeping and then some on the floor. Needless to say, my wife was done. I didn't even bother to tell the staff because I didn't want to get into the debates about getting money back, them saying no, all that. Had one night left, but I just left. Screw the money. My family is first.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Great location off of the main strip of Gatlinburg. A very easy walk to the shops, restaurants, etc. This isn't a fancy hotel but was definitely a great value. I would stay here again on a return visit.
4 out of 5
by Candice

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I liked the room size and how clean it was. It is a little out dated but that was ok with me. The breakfast choices could have been a lot better but I didn't starve. The weekend I was there was also the weekend they were having a marathon and lots of teenagers stayed there. The kids were so loud loading the buses at 6 am on Sunday morning I had to step out on the balcony and kindly ask them to quite down. It woke my son up and the language they were using was horrible. So if you want a quite place to stay I would not recommend this place due to the walls, windows, and doors being paper thin.
4 out of 5
by linda from Ironton, Ohio

River Edge Motor Lodge retreat...

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were there 6 days . The staff was very nice . The contiental breakfast could use a revamp. We had a 4 year old with us .she couldn't find anything to eat. The room was exactly what I needed. Old fashioned and familiar. We hated to leave !!!