Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

heart of the city

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: Refurnish the room, replace the mattresses, better staff training, update hotel room pictures in expedia website
Location: the hotel is in the heart of the city and close to everything
wonderful city, lovely people, beautiful attractions but ruined by 5 terrible nights stay at the hotel worst beds on the last two nights we slept on the floor because of the sore back me and my wife got, I think that homeless people would have better mattress. The hotel room didn't look like the picture on your web site, very disappointed and not worth the money. We were ripped off no human being should have to sleep in those beds we are so embarrassed about our stay at this hotel that we don't to speak about our stay in the Barcelona leg of holiday to our friends. we feel let down by expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: too expensive for the room
tiny room, could barely fit suitcase. Shower broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Pick your preferences

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Room size and facilities. The lobby and elevator.
Location: This hotel is on Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas. It is close to everything for the tourist in Barcelona.
Hotel Medium Monegal is for you if you value location, price and helpfulness of the staff. It does not have a New York hotel lobby and the facilities are a little spartan. On the other hand, the staff is incredibly helpful and you can't get closer to Las Ramblas and the cost is very reasonable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: Location. Literally across the street from.plaza catalyuna where you can get the aeurobus to airport, metro, or hop on buses. Cons: beds were so hard and not comfortable. I literally hit my head on the door trying to use the toilet. We stayed in a 2 bed room. Someone else stayed in another room, and they had amble room and softer beds so it's a toss up. Even after the cons, i would stay again because of the price and location.
3 out of 5
by Mike

Great location, dated hotel

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The main reason to stay here is the fabulous location at the top of Las Ramblas. The hotel itself whilst clean and welcoming is very dated and in need of refurbushment and some soundproofing as the noise from Placa Catalunya is extremely invasive.
2 out of 5
by Vazgen

Hotel review

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are supersmall , the shower area is so narrow that you can't do an extra move inside, no air conditioner at all, one elevator for the all hotel with maximum 2 people capacity, the breakfast was good, the area where the hotel was located was awesome
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok. The internet was very slow. The hotel location is great in terms of being on the one corner of the Plaza Catalunya square but this also makes it very noisy. You can hear traffic and drunk people down the street until early morning ( we were on 6th floor-hotel calls it 4th floor). It's an old hotel where the water pipes of the next room goes through your room and it loud when the person in the other room is using the toilet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but super small singles

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
One of their websites says they have blow dryers in every room. They don't. They had one at the front desk to use. But that isn't too convenient when you are checking out early and another guest has to use it also. Everything worked out OK in the end. I brought my own dryer initially on my trip but it was stolen with my backpack while doing laundry. The single room is so tiny, felt like staying in a cell as there were no views of the outside world.
4 out of 5
by Francis

Great location!

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Location was fantastic! Hotel not sophisticated but will do.