Ratings based on 668 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: too expensive for the room
tiny room, could barely fit suitcase. Shower broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Pick your preferences

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Room size and facilities. The lobby and elevator.
Location: This hotel is on Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas. It is close to everything for the tourist in Barcelona.
Hotel Medium Monegal is for you if you value location, price and helpfulness of the staff. It does not have a New York hotel lobby and the facilities are a little spartan. On the other hand, the staff is incredibly helpful and you can't get closer to Las Ramblas and the cost is very reasonable.
2 out of 5
by Vazgen

Hotel review

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are supersmall , the shower area is so narrow that you can't do an extra move inside, no air conditioner at all, one elevator for the all hotel with maximum 2 people capacity, the breakfast was good, the area where the hotel was located was awesome
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was ok. The internet was very slow. The hotel location is great in terms of being on the one corner of the Plaza Catalunya square but this also makes it very noisy. You can hear traffic and drunk people down the street until early morning ( we were on 6th floor-hotel calls it 4th floor). It's an old hotel where the water pipes of the next room goes through your room and it loud when the person in the other room is using the toilet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but super small singles

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
One of their websites says they have blow dryers in every room. They don't. They had one at the front desk to use. But that isn't too convenient when you are checking out early and another guest has to use it also. Everything worked out OK in the end. I brought my own dryer initially on my trip but it was stolen with my backpack while doing laundry. The single room is so tiny, felt like staying in a cell as there were no views of the outside world.
4 out of 5
by Francis

Great location!

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Location was fantastic! Hotel not sophisticated but will do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Fantastic location but BASIC amenities missing!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Reviews are important so here's my bit. Pros- Excellent location. Its smack bang in the middle of the beautiful and busy city centre. The room was exceptionally clean (although with a strong scent of detergent when I arrived). The room was also warm and cosy, which was a big plus for me, because my caribbean body usually has me asking for an electric heater or extra blankets. Cons- Basic amenities such as a kettle and usb charging port should be available (fyi I charged my phone on the usb port at the back of the tv, it worked just as well).The hotel was old and in need of some love (but clean). The elevator shaft was open and very dirty and since I chose to use the stairway, it was quite disgusting. The window in my room opened up into a long dirty shaft in the middle of the hotel (which by the way is a major health hazzard. If its opening unto a long fall, then its better they ensure it cant be opened). Although I would recommend this hotel, I would also caution that you could get better bang for your buck at another hotel that has a great location with more amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anywhere but there

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: NOT A WHOLE LOT
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Right at the start of La Rambla and central for metro and transport links. Coffee from McDonald's next door!
The only thing this hotel has in it's favour is it's LOCATION. Central to everything BUT!!! Entrance tiny & shared with a watch shop which you walk through to get to reception desk? Lift to all rooms beside reception desk takes max 2 people. I got stuck in lift with 3 suitcases when I was trying to leave because reception area blocked with people. The rooms are cramped, draught and very cold because of old, poorly fitted windows/doors. The air con/heating dreadful. I paid for a double room which was 2 singles pushed together as 2 singles. View on back alleys. So cold I asked for the air con/heater to be turned up as no remote control. I got a shrug of shoulders from night porter then more blanket. Next day spoke to reception staff who offered another room but same problem so ended up on different floor, much smaller room with tiniest bathroom ever but a heater that worked. I asked about coffee and was told there was a dispensing machine in the breakfast room. This did not work nor did it indicate the price. The whole experience ruined my short break to Barcelona.
2 out of 5
by Mohamed

never again

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is veeery basic , the location is the only thing there , very small lobby , room is soo tiny , With no remote control for the A/C it's either working or not working you cant control anything , no body helped with the bags , even when checking out nobody helped to store my luggage for 2 hours , they accepted but i had to go down a very narrow stairs to the basement to put my bags and then to collect them after in conclusion a very bad hotel in a very good location