Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

storeroom

Posted Dec 15, 2016
The room given to us on top floor was more a storeroom converted into a room. The furniture were all old and broken. With other reviews I guess the room below were better. We got upgraded to suite when we moved to another hotel. It is even Stevens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Lastminute
Good overall experience, friendly staff, decent breakfast included
2 out of 5
by Wendy from Australia

Rethink if you have booked this Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at Icon 36 and were told that the hotel was fully booked, and we would be moved to their sister Hotel, which was supposed to give us a bigger and better room, Upon entering the room, we it was smaller and older then the room we originally booked. There was a cup with a burnt pineapple core in it which caused the room to reek of smoke for the 2 nights we stayed. Also in the early hours of both days, we were awoken by screaming and yelling and slamming of doors which continued for half an hour. If you are considering staying here, I would think again, as you will probably be fobbed off onto this second class room. We were very disappointed with Icon 36
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque nm usa

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff at this hotel was the main selling point for me. They were super nice, and helped us with many things, such as getting taxis that didn't rip us off, arranging for laundry, and suggesting good restaurants and shops. The room was spacious by Vietnamese standards, and very clean. I only have two complaints, which are more "first world problems" than anything else. One, the air conditioner could not keep up with the 95-100 degree heat in June. The lobby staff let us use one of their fans to make it more bearable, but the room never got below 80 degrees. Second, the internet was too slow to do much more than email if all of us were on at the same time. Other than that, we would definitely use this hotel again. Great location, much quieter than most of Hanoi, and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
by Jay from Australia

Wonderful experience

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
From the time we arrived to the time we left our experience with this hotel could not be faulted. We also would like to thank all the staff and management for a wonderful stay and a special thank you to Haon who organized a trip to halong bay and Sappa. Also thanks for looking after our bags while away on the trips and the extras that we did not expect. Would recommend this hotel and certainly come back and stay here again.
4 out of 5
by K from London

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
A good little hotel in the old quarter within easy reach of many bars, restuaurants and walking distance to the local bus station and the lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but comfortable. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Totonto, Canada

Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend

Posted Jan 7, 2016
The bed was on the hard side and my window opened into a brick wall (not an alley or a narrow space facing a brick wall but bricks about 1 inch from the glass. Other than that, everything was great. Very clean, nice decor, nice bathroom, decent breakfast (free) and EXCELLENT staff. I've been traveling continuously for 17 months, studying at hostels, yurts, tents, guesthouse a and hotels rated 2-5 stars, and while this place was about a 3 star, I'd say it was the best overall experience and great value for the money.
3 out of 5
by Dmitry from Moscow

Single travellers, beware of the Superior room

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Booked 3 nights and was put to a 10sqm cubicle (like in a $10 guesthouse, but newly renovated and clean) with a tiny window 1,5 m from the floor. Was tired to complain at first, but next morning the management explained they have 2 Superior room types (Single and Double), and they put me to the former "because I came alone", as it "should be fine" for just me. Well, by far not the worst room I've stayed during my years in Asia, but then it should be also "fine" for me to bargain the price - the facilities I paid for were stated as a decent (22sqm - minus bathroom should be 16-18sqm) sized room with a proper window, and the room on the sole photo (for Superior type) looked exactly like that, not like the one I got. Some facilities were under-par to the description, namely: no bathtub, TV which is neither 32" nor LCD, safety box not attached to the wall - it's more of nit-picking though, and I could be happy with all that, should the room itself be up to the standards promised. Wi-Fi is of "hit or miss" type - if you need to do any business, have your 3G/4G handy. Well, on the good side the staff are attentive and pleasant, and the buffet breakfast is the best I had in Hanoi so far. Thus I feel pity to put such a low rating - but I'm convinced that deception shouldn't be tolerated, and I suggest the hotel to sell "Superior Single" rooms as a separate category (with proper pics and facility lists), to avoid further disappointment, as my review is already second of this kind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Icon 36, a friendly and well located hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
I had a really nice stay in this hotel. The location is perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The staff is very helpful, they helped me to sort out a problem with one of my reservation.
4 out of 5
by Andrea from Brighton

Good hotel, great staff

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
I had previously travelled as part of a tour group and so continued on to stay in their hotel by booking online. There was alot of confusion with bookings as they seemed to have missed one of the tour group so they were rooms short however everything was sorted by later in the afternoon. The breakfast was lovely with quite a bit of choice. The shower and air con were the best I'd had in my whole trip in Vietnam. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Whilst it's not in the tourist area it's only a 5/10 minute walk so convenient once you've orientated yourself.