Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very simple overpriced hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This was my most expensive hotel during my time in Argentina/Brazil and was my worst hotel. The room was small/ smelly and the hotel insisted on the use of arm bands like the type used at theme parks to keep track of their guests? I was very disappointed. I can't understand how it achieves it's rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pousada and nice people

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better English or Spanish language skills.
Location: It is centrally located in the main island village, close to the beach, pier, all restaurants and happenings in town.
Nice pousada close to the water and all happening on the island. Quiet, with a lovely courtyard. Spacious room with comfortable bed and international plugs. Staff was always nice, though with limited English language skills. Great breakfast with fruits, breads, cheeses, and new variety of pastries every day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great character and friendly staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great little property! It was our first time on the island (and in Brazil) and we felt very safe and welcome. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the property had tons of character.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff, Charming Patio Area

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
This pousada is located within a few minutes walking distance of the Abraão beach and docks. It is clean and has a charming atmosphere, especially the open outdoor area with hammocks and benches. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good - fresh fruits, the traditional Brazilian breakfast sandwiches, eggs made fresh on request, freshmade cakes and juices - the menu may change but that is and idea of the type of breakfast they offer. Wifi service is spotty, but you are on an island so manage your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catalin from London

IG in the winter

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Comfortable beds, great garden, good breakfast, clean and quite place, good location
Cons: Hotter water in the bathroom especially in the winter.
Location: Location is very good, centre of the island, restaurants, shopping, many village beach and a good base for visiting all other parts if the island
We stayed here at the end of August, not a busy season for Brazil as it is winter there. Booked the hotel for 4 days as it was one of the few hotels we could find with rooms for 3 people. It is a more than decent, actually pleasing Posada central located but there is nothing extraordinary about it. Staff is friendly, we had an excellent stay. It is also affordable but if you are after bargains, you could probably find cheaper, less well run places in Ilha Grande especially in offseason and if you risk it going directly there without any prearrange hotel. Probably not advisable during the high season as you might not find anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, but nothing special

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels
It's Ilha Grande, so don't expect the Ritz. This place is clean, the breakfast is decent, the wifi is free and mostly works, the staff is generally kind, and the garden is pretty. The rooms are basic, the shower's water pressure is low, and the water gets only warm, not hot (but that's probably to be expected in this location). Pousada Cauca really deserves a 3.5 rating: better than average, but not "very good." Basically: a place to sleep and wake up when you're not tramping through the jungle. Note: Not a lot of English speakers on the staff, so if you need/want help planning your Ilha Grande activities and aren't good in Portuguese you might opt for another pousada.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Pousada with lovely garden

Posted May 15, 2011 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed in Pousada Cauca for one night after spending 3 nights in a Pousada amongst the jungle further up the Island. This Pousada was much nicer than the one in the Jungle. The rooms were clean, tidy and odor free (unlike the other Pousada)! The little garden was beautiful and the staff were lovely. The owners are very hands on, helpful and nice. The only recommendation I would make is to have food cloths to cover the fruit at breakfast as the insects on the food was a little off putting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Excelente!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Estive na pousada Caúca por 4 dias e a experiência foi excelente! A equipe foi super atenciosa, simpática e estava sempre de prontidão para qualquer solicitação. A pousada é muito bonita, bem cuidada com jardins lindos. Os quartos são bem equipados, muito limpos e com manutenção constante. Ótima localização na Vila do Abraão, próxima aos restaurantes e comércio, e fora da parte mais agitada que geralmente fica barulhenta. Café da manhã completo, com opções de suco natural, bolos, pães. Passei dois dias com a família (incluindo criança) e depois dois dias só com meu marido e não tivemos do que reclamar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rio de janeiro

Simpática e acolhedora.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: O cuidado com os detalhes, e a gentileza de disponibilizarem banho e toalhas para quem volta da praia após o check out.
Cons: Falta ganchos ou cabideiros para pendurar roupa de praia dentro do quarto.
Location: Na rua paralela à orla, próxima aos restaurantes e comércio, porém afastada do barulho. Gostei bastante do restaurante Lua e Mar e do Kebab lounge.
A pousada Caúca tem instalações sem grandes luxos, mas é charmosa e bem cuidada. Quartos bem equipados com ac split, tv e dvd com acervo de filmes, boa cama e um banho excelente(boas toalhas de banho). Tem uma pegada ecológica, utiliza energia solar e possui gerador para as frequentes quedas de energia na ilha. O café da manhã é bem farto, e variado. Staff bastante atencioso e acolhedor. Oferecem banho e toalhas para quem volta da praia depois do horário do check out. Fica pertinho de tudo, mas é afastada do barulho, exceto pela missa dominical da igreja evangélica próxima,que não foi de grande incômodo. É um ambiente bem tranquilo e tem até cantinho de meditação. Ficamos bem satisfeitos com a pousada.