Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible, from start to finish

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We called to check-in early (2ish) but were told we could not until 3pm. Arrived at 2:59. Front desk clerk looked at clock and commented about it not being 3 yet. So we wait until the clock read 3. After all that, OUR ROOM WASN'T READY! "There was a business thing and we didn't have time to clean your room because they didn't check out until 12:30." We argued check out was 11am and more importantly, this wasn't our problem. We asked for another room that was ready. She wouldn't move us and would tell us when our room was ready. So we ended up sitting on the curb until after 3:30 before we could get into the room. We had a dinner event a 5pm but due to the delay, did not make it until after 5:30. The room amenities were sub-par for motel standards let alone a $130/night hotel! Only 2 sets of towels, both were thin, rough, and non-absorbent. Iron did not work quite right. Bed and bedding were average. Toilet paper was like using a brown paper bag! It's something we all use so why not review it! All these things would have been expected at a $50/night place but if the Apple Tree demands over $120/night for a room in Independence, KS, then it should be held accountable. To top it all off, as we are leaving the room the next day, the front desk calls at 11:03am and asks if we are going to stay another night. Seriously?! After screwing up our check-in time, they still had the nerve to call us 3 minutes after check-out. Terrible service and below average facility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Great location. Staff does all they an to make you comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful, and the entire hotel very clean.
Cons: The a/c in our room was a little loud at times, but not so much that it kept us from sleeping.
Location: Good location to walk around the town, the movie theatre is right across the street, and there were two good restaurants close by.
My wife and I were in town for a short trip, and it was the first time we were in the area. The hotel was easy to locate, and the staff even worked with us when we turned up a day earlier than scheduled. The breakfast is well prepared, and the eating area is next to the pool with a small waterfall, which was nice. It is an older property, but very well maintained.
3 out of 5
by Chelsea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Lawrenceville

OK Place!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
It's worth a few extra dollars to get a suite. The living room separate from the bedroom, along with the sofa and larger television is nice! The AC unit in the living room work well, but the AC remote in bedroom didn't work right. I could have asked the front desk, but the room temperature was comfortable throughout the stay. Nice thing about the AC units is that they are always on and they are not very loud. I hate AC units that turn on and off all night long. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. Although they have eggs, sausage, and gravy, the scrambled eggs were so so. You can make your own waffles, but I didn't have a lot of breakfast time. The hotel staff is friendly.
5 out of 5
by julia from Sand Springs, OK

Loved it!

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful, comfortable room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
great stay. close to movie theater and fast food. would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Tammy from Altamont Kansas

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
The parking lot was packed with non hotel guest due to movie theatre I assume across the street! Overall pool area is beautiful and peaceful. Room was spacious and clean. Room close to front desk very noisy. I would recommend this place as the nicest hotel in area!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lori from Gardner kansas

Appletree Inn Independence kansas

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly, and helpful staff. Nice pool and hot tub