Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey


Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The room was comfortable and clean
Cons: The bathrooms could be upgraded and definitely the outside
Location: I was there visiting my daughter at Ithaca College but there did seem to be things to do in the area
The outside of the hotel is in desperate need of a face lift and a driveway paving - I am sure there are plenty of people who drive right passed as a result of the awful appearance from the outside. Inside I found the rooms to be modern and clean, however the hot water spicot in the shower practically came out of the wall when I took a shower and the breakfast could also be upgraded a little, In general it was a nice, comfortable clean hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Great place to film a horror movie

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Room was clean and totally fine However hotel seems deserted and is run down Probably was nice at some time Did have an indoor pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ISRAEL


Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: the room.
Cons: all the hotel.
Location: well enough!
room was very good . the carpet was not clean. and that's all the good thing about that hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

No Choice

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The front desk employee was friendly.
Cons: The overall condition of this facility needs to be improved.
Location: This is in Ithaca, NY, home of Cornell University, many great restaurants, a wonderful Farmer's Market, waterfalls and gorges - and much more.
We stayed one night at Trip Hotel because we had waited too late to book. It was Homecoming Weekend at Cornell. This was the only hotel with a vacancy, according to Expedia agent. Had low expectations going in after reading reviews. We had to drive around the building twice before we figured out where the front door was. There are so many problems with the overall condition of this building and its parking lot. Parking lot needs paving, building needs paint and lots of cleaning. Emergency exit door sign reads "No re-entry" yet the door opens easily from outside. On the positive side, the room was clean (although I didn't walk around the room in bare feet) and the bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ithaca Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: My room was clean and decorated nicely. The beds comfortable and quiet. Staff were all very Nice! Location was worked for me.
Cons: The Hotel needs a face lift. I think replacing the carpets in hallways would really help - and some paint on the walls or new wall paper.
Location: Close to Ithaca's wonderful weekend Farmers Market. Shopping Mall. And Lake Cayuga. Not far to downtown Ithaca and Ithaca college.
This Hotel is run down and in need of TLC. I like the lay out and the open space of it. It really could be made into a nice Hotel. And it would be great if they gave it a face lift and then offered it for below the prices of the other hotels in Ithaca. I find Ithaca expensive place to stay and there are few options for below $100.00. My room was clean and decorated nicely. The beds comfortable. That was a nice surprise to open the door to a nice space. The bathroom need a face lift and repair. But it was clean. So that was great! I can work with clean! I paid $99.00 and that is the max amount I would lspend at the Trip Hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable bed in a fallout shelter

Posted Sep 21, 2015
If you can be blindfolded on your way through much of the hotel and only open your eyes once the door to your room is shut tightly behind you, perhaps the Trip Hotel is worthwhile for the price. With a limited number of reasonably priced lodging options, it may be as good as it gets if proximity to Ithaca is important. Dirty, odd, stained. Nice staff, however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: It was old and needs updating.
Cons: It needs to be updated.
Location: It was near my relative, so that was good.
The hotel is in serious need of updating. It's very old and tired looking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix area

Good part of town but needs HUGE improvement

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Stayed one night, couldn't use the air cond. because of odd odor. The whole hotel smelled old,the odor was too much. We moved on. So many things wrong.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was nice enough but...

Posted Sep 3, 2015
The rest of the hotel was very tired, outside doors that needed repairs, litter, fire doors that didn't close, car park desperately needed resurfacing. Ok for such a cheap price but I'd suggest stretching your budget to stay elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad one night stay

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The whole building had a scary vibe. The outside appereance needs a lot of work. Elevator is old feels like it's going to break down. Our rooms AC was not working, we tried to open the window to get some air in the room and it almost fell on top of my head, not safe at all. They moved us to a different room after all that. I would never go back to this hotel it was all I could find as it was move in time for Ithaca College and Cornell wasn't able to find any vacancy any where else I only stayed 1 night.