Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Haakon

A nice stay, in a old, worn out hotell..

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was a old, worn out hotel, that looked like it used to be a luxurious hotel in the 80s. The pool area seemed to be nice for children, all though it was in the same condition as the hotel – old. The staff didn’t speak much English, but despite that, they were all really helpful and went the extra mile. Rooms were clean, but, surprise, old. All in all a good stay with friendly people, breakfast was nice, but the place desperately needs modernization..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
All the amenities you could ever want or dream of... great for families or couples... casino on site, loads of things to do for everyone and far enough away from town that it is still peaceful...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother better spots for the same money

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Impossible to get ice Food was good Pool not clear
4 out of 5
by Simon

Great Value for the money

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed two weeks in this hotel and just loved it. I was a little nervous to make the booking for so long but it worked out really well. The room was a decent size and very clean. A/C worked fine (and we really needed it!). Plumbing was great. Nice big shower - which I love. TV was fine with about 4 English channels. Wifi was a little slow in the room but worked fine in the lobby. Friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast (included) was fine - much of the food is too salty for me in Costa Rica. Our room was near the big, clean pool that was relatively quiet most of time. Location was excellent, easy 5 minute walk to the beach and all the bars and restaurants that Jaco has to offer, but far enough away to be quiet. I probably won't go back to CR - too many other places to visit but I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Playa Jaco
2 out of 5
by Emily

Vacation Nightmare

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for my fiancée Birthday. We chose this location because the reviews told us we were very close to the beach and there was a casino and a restaurant on the premises. When we arrived we we're hassled about our party stating that we were to pay an additional $300 USD for a third person when our reservation was for 3 adults. We had booked 7 nights for $642 USD so half of that for 1 person seemed absurd. Once in the room it was the beginning of a horror story. The lights, A/C and Safe didn't work in the first two rooms they brought us to. The third room did have the previous amenities however the hot water didn't work in the shower and the beds were small and extremely hard as well as the mini fridge wouldn't stay cold. The Wifi only worked near the road so we weren't able to access the internet on their property the time we were at the hotel. Restaurant was below average on taste and selections as well as closed early and gave us a hassle with paying with foreign currency even offering a tip. On the plus side Pool was nice with a swim up bar, security guard at the front gate was very accommodating. Not a lot of patrons in the casino but it was fun to play nevertheless. The location is acceptable as there is two convenient stores near by and it was extremely easy to catch a taxi from here. Quiet mornings with birds chirping. Near beach and center of Jaco as well as near the bank.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kids resort

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
This is a resort for poeple with kids; not songle party travellers. Casino doesn't open till late.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Too far from the beach

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The people/staff are very friendly and helpful
Cons: They have had the same beds and bed spreads for over 7 years. The beds are too low to the floor, mattress uncomfortable.
Location: The hotel is in a secluded area of town.
As I am a disabled veteran I have difficulty walking any distance (COPD) and am getting over a broken femur so had major problems getting in and out of the chairs at the pool. I was unable to enjoy relaxing at the pool as I could not get out of the chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, needs new beds throughout.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Friendly staff, onsite restaurant is excellent. Uncomfortable beds !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

mediocre food, bad coffee. Very noisy.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: fish tank
Cons: mediocre food, bad coffee. Uncomfortable beds, lousy sheets. Very noisy, kept playing on music till 10 pm.
Location: surfing, beach walk.
mediocre food, bad coffee. Uncomfortable beds, lousy sheets. Very noisy, kept playing on music till 10 pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel, clean and very friendly staff

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The hotel is very nice, friendly staff and the rooms are OK. check-in time is very favorable (2PM) and the pool and facilities are very good, small gym but good enough for a good excersice break, the kids area is very good. Hotel is safe, it is not located in the middle of the town, so you are away from the noise, 2 KM walking distance to nice restaurants and Jaco downtown, the area is safe for walking. Hotel is not in front of the beach, but the beach is close enough to get there walking, if you are driving or by cab you can go to other very nice beach (Playa Hermosa, around 5 km far) as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Hotel amapola resort, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment, We appreciate your time to give this excellent inspiration for keeping work hard for customer like you. thanks a lot. we hope you come back.