Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The area was very disappointing, dirty and run down
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Aweful, in a bad part of town

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We couldn't even get into our room! The key card reader was broken! They would not move us because they said every room door in the hotel, the key card readers were broken! My husband is on crutches from a recent surgery & every time we came back to our room we had to stand outside the door waiting for someone with a master key to come open it! They didn't even repair it until the 2nd evening we were there! And the first night, there was no hot water!! I asked for an ironing board & iron 3 times the first day we were there & they never brought it. The next day I told them I would come & get it myself! They finally brought it. The chair in our room(which was supposed to be leather I am assuming) was peeling in big pieces. This hotel was terrible! We called to get directions & the lady hung up on us! I will never stay there again! It doesn't say Marriott on the outside of the hotel anywhere, so it was hard to locate! I would really like a do punt or refund! And after all that went on, I deserve it!
5 out of 5
by palesa

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Dear VALUED GUEST, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As OUR VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon! Sincerely, Ofentse Setsiba Marketing Plan Coordinator Protea Hotel Capital marketing@capitalprotea.co.za 012 322 7795
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London united kingdom

Good location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Good hotel and location ,small parking bays ,room was without refrigerator but it's still a good hotel regardless
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Marketing Plan Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear VALUED GUEST, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital. As our VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Please note that we provide bar fridges on request. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by ntake

Clean and friendly

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear VALUED GUEST, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Pretoria Capital through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As our VALUED GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maston from harare zimbabwe

very good

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful time at protea hotel . They have good services. They have a nice garden area.
1 out of 5
by M from Cape Town

In the chapter of disappointment: Well done!!!!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
I am extremely disappointing! This has been the worst Hotel experience ever for me. I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and I had to leave after 1 night: There was 5 Power outages, burnt 2 cell phones few hours after check-in. I found hair and used tissues on the tiles, bathroom (the toilet in particular) was disgusting: I couldn’t shower, I used my toilet like I use public toilets so imagine. Soundproofing must be done: wake up at 5 am due to the “traffic” in the hall. I could hear my neighbour ordering his breakfast. Damaged/old armchairs/safe not functional/ reception too dark. The photos are clearly outdated and overly photoshopped. Staff needs training: reception’s unfriendly, almost rude and so helpless. Restaurant: Pricey (13$/p - lunch buffet) for such a limited choice of food/bad service/ bland food/ terrible smell from the kitchen. I asked for a cappuccino: waiter came with an empty cup, poured over filter coffee, add some milk. I walkout smelling fried food all other my clothes. Users of hotels.com beware: price/night is an average: hotel charged me 20% more for the 1st night when I checked-in. Complaining to hotels.com or to Protea didn’t change anything: I met the manager’s assistant, she listened to what I had to say, left to talk to her GM, then 10 min later, someone else brought me an envelope with my Invoice (account was settled prior to check-in anyway) and nothing else… I was outrageous by such rudeness. I checked-out the following day.