Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: I had a fridge. Stoked about that
Cons: Thicker walls, better sound proofing.
Location: Kitchener was small to begin with, so everything was within close proximity.
Wouldn't stay here if they paid me to. Definitely not worth the price they were asking. Pretty disappointed. Walls were paper-thin and i heard it all from the corner I stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Hotel close to main highway

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Close to where we had to go
Cons: Hair dryer had not been cleaned. black streaks on it.
Location: We were there for a family Christmas dinner so we did not need to entertain ourselves.
We were able to relax in the hot tub. Beds were very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Erie

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Have been there twice before and enjoyed my stay. This time the pool water was cold. When I asked why I was told that it had been drained for maintenance and had just been refilled and the water had not had time to recover to its proper temperature. No offer was made to give me any deduction even though I had paid extra for a poolside room.( We did use the hot tub which was running properly.) Also the receptionist had taken my credit card and put a $100.00 debit on it and said this was for incidentals and a credit would be given the next day. The manager the next morning gave me a credit for my $100.00 but I have yet to see the credit on my card account. That was the 10th and this is the 16th so I phoned and the manager was not available so the receptionist I spoke with today claimed that the policy was to hold it for 3 business days. NOT HAPPY. I will really hesitate before going again to this hotel. Probably not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Won't prebook

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Found out CAA rate was $5 less and you got a larger room in the new part of the hotel. The room we got in the old part had stains on the carpet, tub had dirt ring and was mouldy in the corners, no heat in the hall with limited lighting, pool was not working and had to go to the front desk to be let into the hot tub (didn't bother). Couldn't take continental breakfast to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough ON

Tired and unclean.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Complete renovation
Best forgotten. The desk person was not experienced, the room was disappointing and in general we felt we got very poor value for our money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

all i needed!

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: close to my destination, easy access clean, quiet, comfort price was best deal in kitchener
Cons: some updates to make the public areas more attractive (looks from highway and entrance hall isnt inviting) smiles at reception desk would be nice
Location: great location close to shopping, highway, bingemans etc
Don't expect a luxurious resort, but this hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet (during the week) and close to all in Kitchener. All what i was looking for. Wifi is fast, breakfast is ok, pool is spacious, room is clean and bed is firm and nice (had a great sleep, love the pillows). Fridge and microwave is convenient. Some rooms at the back of the hotel might need an update but all "tower" rooms are perfect. Stayed here several weeks and will return to this HOJO whenever I'm in that area. Best deal if you compare price to other accomodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napanee, ON

Sketchy Hotel with unclean appearance.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
The online representation of the Howard Johnson advertised an indoor pool. It was 60 degrees. The floor in the room was dirty around all edges. The morning breakfast was frozen waffles, muffins, bagels, cereal and some fruit. It was served in a room with dirty seats and walls. Overall we were very disappointed with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty dirty

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Very run down. Bathroom unclean (yuk). 2 conditioniers for complementary stuff. Stained & dirty carpet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ALINA from Montreal

No wifi

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Everything went well, very close to everything , I was very disappointed with the wifi , no signal at all in the room I stayed (151)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Avoid.

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
I did not have a pleasant experience at this hotel. The decor is very dated, carpets are old and stained, and the air around the hotel felt very musty. Fortunately the bathroom and bed were clean. The elevator did not inspire confidence, and the signs in it were scratched up resembling a bathroom stall wall. Breakfast consisted of a plastic tray of muffins which did not look appetizing at all. They should just tear this place down. Spend a little more money and stay somewhere else.