Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richland, Washington

Customer service staff that goes above and beyond

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Beds were Comfortable/Clean and the room was well stock with Towls
Cons: the Expedia customer service dept. they were unprofessional when they put you on hold and would call the hotel and bad mouth you at the same time.
Location: it was within walking distance to restaurants and stores..
the two staff members that evening were very kind and professional, even when faced with the terrible customer service being given by Expedia.. one it was hard to understand what she was saying, heavy accent that made her help bad and it got worse when the Expedia rep was bad mouthing me to the hotel manager, it was very Condescending and makes Expedia a website I will avoid in the future.. I would without a doubt recommend the Poulsbo Inn to anyone looking for a comfortable stay at affordable rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Short stay! Great night sleep

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: quiet, clean, comfortable bed. Never heard any other voices or other guests.
Cons: Parking
Location: Walk to the store and to eat. Off a busy highway. Poulsbo downtown is a great place to browse, eat, hang out!
We were just here to sleep and get back on the water! Didn't get to enjoy breakfast or the pool/hottub although it looked inviti. We had a quiet room and a great, comfortable bed. I was impressed by the solid wood doors inside, and solid wood trim and furniture. Very clean. Had a fridge and microwave which was nice for our little breakfast, also had a keurig for coffee! The only thing I would comment on is that it is difficult to park here if you are towing anything!! It is a very tight and curvy parking lot. If you aren't towing, great!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Okay, but don't expect a lot.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The hotel is older and dated. It could use new carpets, updated fixtures & bedding, etc. Water pressure in the shower was paltry. It was clean and ok for the money. I read other reviews about the non-uniform pet policy, and staff giving different info. On Expedia it says the hotel is pet friendly and there is no charge. Perhaps the hotel should review its' own listings? Breakfast is a crazy affair, in a too small room for the number of people trying to serve themselves and then find a table at which to eat. Food choices are the usual make-your-own waffle, boxed cereals, sausage gravy, low-grade sweet rolls and biscuits/bread/bagels, fruit salad, yogurt, and hard-boiled eggs. Management is careful to not put out too much at one time, so for each of the 2 nights my group stayed over, we noticed a lack of item availability. There is a lack of hotel options in Poulsbo. If you visit, this hotel is one of only a few choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice and cozy

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Clean and cozy motel and well priced for the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Decent, though maybe a little overpriced...

Posted Jul 13, 2016
My husband and I had a surprise business trip on Sunday that was late enough at night we felt we should book a hotel, just in case we were too tired to drive all the way back after. we had our dog with us, and the Poulsbo Inn and Suites was the closest, cheapest place I could find that also took pets. I tried to book on the phone, but the receptionist was pretty rude and seemed annoyed that I was having trouble hearing her (we had a bad connection driving through the mountains). I was put on hold the first time I called for at least 5 minutes, my call got dropped halfway through my reservation, and when I called back, she immediately put me on hold again, not even waiting for a response when she asked if I could "hold please." After a few minutes of waiting, I decided it would be easier, and maybe cheaper, to book online. When I arrived, I checked in with a different lady who seemed on top of things and did a good job sorting out some issues with my Expedia reservation. She gave me some cookies with my check in stuff, which went over well with me. Our room was one of the designated "pet rooms," and it was a little dingey, likely because of that. Perhaps the regular rooms are a little nicer. Anyway, everything worked decently, minus the kind of ancient TV, and breakfast was basic but free, and well tended by employees. Overall, it was fine, though we've stayed in other hotels just as good or better for half as much. I should also mention it's basically a motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly/rude front desk/not pets allowed

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Visit was spoiled immediately upon arrival.
Cons: Pet policy should be prominently displayed on website and advertising material.
Upon arrival was greeted by very unfriendly front desk staff--the person appeared to be the manager. Inconsistent requirements regarding pets. Our small dog always stays in a kennel in the car, we never take her into motel rooms, however, we were told pets were not allowed on the property at all. We were obligated to stay 2 nights and were forced to make arrangements to kennel the small dog elsewhere. This is the first time we have experienced this situation. While checking in, a man associated with the motel was talking loudly and demanding to the front desk personnel while trying out a new radio. His demands made it difficult to hear and understand the check in process---very rude in front of a paying customer. We visit Poulsbo several times a year---we will not stay at this motel again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Good Location - that is all...

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: New carpets a must. Do not allow people that smoke weed... strong smell as soon as one walks out of the room. Surplus on blankets and pillows.
Location: short drive to beach and Poulsbo downtown.
Moved from the Massachusetts to Portland, Oregon - a year ago. My husband and I drove and had (as you can imagine) lots of experience with staying at different hotels, inns, and B&B. This time we visited Poulsbo for a long weekend. My husband went by reviews on this one, since there are not many choices as far as hotels. When it comes to "looks" -- a room being outdated, modern, new, that is irrelevant to us, BUT cleanliness is a must -amongst customer service and accessibility. Definitely GREAT location! Customer service could use some improvement, perhaps to make one feel welcome. Cleanliness really important -- There was a musty smell combined with some cleaning supply that gave me a headache and stomachache. Unfortunately could not switch rooms because the place was booked. Had to buy a travel candle to use it for short periods of times... I am sure it was the carpet. Yes, it is an outdated Inn and perhaps could benefit from a few upgrades, but not a priority... new carpets YES, please! Also, lack of blankets and pillows. Bring your own :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel for the cheapest price we found

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Very clean, spacious room, comfortable bed, extra room for luggage and a hanging section. The breakfast was in a nice open room with a lot of choices
Cons: We haven't noticed anything to be improved.
We didn't care for booking a high-end hotel, but we were still positively surprised to see that the cheapest we found online ended up being a good quality hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Terri Douglas, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We hope to see you again in the future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poulsbo Inn

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Location and access to downtown stores and restaurants.
Cons: Make more of the desirable units pet friendly.
Location: Less than a five minute drive to downtown with lots of shops and restaurants.
Although they accept pets, they are obviously not pet friendly. The only units available for pets are right down along a busy highway and the noise of the traffic was loud and constant all night. The room was small and cramped. It appeared that the rest of the units were along the back and sides not facing the traffic and much more appealing. Since we travel with our terrier, we will not be back to this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Terri Douglas, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We hope to see you again in the future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

Clean, good breakfast

Posted May 11, 2016
Friendly staff, good hot breakfast, nice location