Ratings based on 753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Grossest Hotel ever!!!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Not being from the area i was unsure of the location, but it is in a shady part of town.
If you are even considering staying in this place, save your money and find somewhere else! I was Leary when i checked in at the front desk because there was dry wall and dirt all behind the counter, but i figured they were just remodeling. Also when i checked in, the gentlemen that checked me in was very polite but his mother or elderly lady kept starting me down and give me the go to hell look..so i just ignored her. We where charged an additional $25 to stay in this slum for checking in early. The room was filthy and the bed was awful, every little move and the springs would sound like they were going to pop through. Then T.V. half-way worked, the bathroom tub was moldy and the room had a general wet smell to it. Then we wake up to go to the breakfast and the same old lady that was giving me the stink-eye had the nerve to fuss at my boyfiend because he was taking too much food!! He took 2 piece of toast, 2 'slabs' of eggs and 2 sausage patties. Being the gentleman he is he just informed her that this was for two people and she still wasn't happy. I chose this hotel to save money and because it was close to the casino but i regret this decision in every way! Please head my warning and bypass this disaster!
1 out of 5
by Paul from Baton Rouge, La.

unhealthy

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty and run down. Elevator did not work half of the time. Rooms dirty and run down. Breakfast provided was less than McDonalds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrible place to stay.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The lady at the front desk was pleasant and efficient.
Cons: Charge about $25! There were very few extras in the room - i.e. shampoo.
Location: Lake Charles may be a nice location..... the hotel/motel was not.
Our stay at the America’s Best Suites was one of the worst places I have ever stayed at. 1. The GPS location of the property is wrong. GPS puts it on the north side of I-10 and it is located on the south side of I-10 2. The charge for a night's stay was way too much for the room and its condition. 3. My wife was bit up by bed bugs during the night. 4. Not only would the elevator not work because the door would not close on the 3rd floor, I was advised not to use the elevator because I might get stranded on the elevator. 5. There was a great amount of mold in the calking around the tub. 6. Windows had weathered and worn to the point you could not see through them - though I was told we would have a beach view! When I opened the window, there was no screen. 7. The door into the room would only partially open - barely enough for a person to get through - let alone any suitcases. The door got hung up on the rug. (Room 300) 8. The drapes were held up by only a few “hangers” and were essentially inoperable. 9. While it appeared some rooms on the first floor were being remodeled, the condition of the rest of the building was deplorable, IMO. 10. One of the side entrances into the building would not operate with a room key. 11. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and efficient. I was amazed, the lady at the front desk said they sold out almost every night - especially on weekends! I'm not sure if it is a sell out or it is just "no where else to stay."
3 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by barbara from Houston

Renovation unbelievable

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Asked for an upgrade , was not told of renovation of first floor rooms or pool being closed when I called. Hair dryer wouldn't work, walked down to tell Clerk gave me another one I heard her start it got back up to room and tried to use it , started smoking and sparks ,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hello guy at our window!

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Under construction. Woke up to a gentleman in a crane around our window on the 3rd floor. A/c leaked on carpet, black mold on ceiling in bathroom, bathroom tub surround needs to be replaced. Sink had black wisker clippings around faucet, these didn't belong to us. No sheets or blankets for pull out couch available in room. The hot breakfast buffet was limited to biscuits and gravy, didn't have a good variety. Hopefully once the construction is done and done well, this would be a great place to stay!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLE DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
OUR STAY WAS TERRIBLE. HOTEL UNDER CONSTRUCTION. MOLD AND MILDEW SMELL. WILL NEVER GO BACK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temple, TX

They should close until the renovation is done

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Convenient and the price was low, but a disappointment. The room was not clean or properly serviced (mold in shower, coffee maker wasn't cleaned, light bulbs out). When we went down for breakfast the next morning they said they didn't have coffee because the water was out (so, how did you wash your hands before preparing the food?).
2 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms had no key access had to get front desk top open door or leave door open to get into room during our weekend stay From first night stay had to move to another room water was flowing every where in bathroom when you took a shower Hotel rooms could use a make over