Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Excellent breakfast, close to ski hill and in center of lake placid town. Owner recommended Black Bear restaurant for supper and our meal was super. Really enjoyed our ski trip. Our friends were really impressed as they had never been to Lake Placid skiing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by John L.S., Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate it! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our amenities. The Black Bear is a great restaurant! I'm glad you liked it. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, John La Selva General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convient location to the Olympic Center.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Upon check-in at 3pm (which has apparently been changed to 4pm FYI) my room was not ready. Once I was able to check in, my room was so hot and my thermostat did not work do I was advised to turn on my A/C in the middle of a snow storm!! Our room was nothing fancy, comfy beds, but bathroom was very moldy and worn. The pool area was nice but once again had no ventilation and was extremely hot, parents were outside in the lobby watching their children. I was not offered any kind of compensation due to these issues which was disappointing since I visit Lake Placid frequently and have never run into this service. The only perks was the breakfast, which was very good. The lady running it is the only reason I did not give this a thumbs down all together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by JvLs, Hotel Management
Dear Unhappy Local, I have tried to respond to you twice, but they were "rejected" both times! I am sorry to hear about your issues while staying with us. At this point I would like to ask that you contact me directly. Thank you, John La Selva General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, John La Selva General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near town

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Hoel was near town and easy to get to ski areas.
Check in was easy, staff were very accommodating. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by John La Selva, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, John La Selva General Manager
2 out of 5
by Patrick

Less than comfortable

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was very uncomfortable. Noisy guests likely hockey fans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Patrick, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We strive to satisfy the wants and needs of every guest. Your feedback helps us achieve that. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, John La Selva General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Lake Placid

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Just a great time in a magnificent winter wonderland!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by John La Selva, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for taking to time to review our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and Lake Placid! We all hope to see you again soon! Happy Travels, John La Selva, GM
5 out of 5
by MICHAEL

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed the hotel and location very much. It was close to all venues and if not a short drive. Plenty of places to eat and enjoy the local fun. The locals at the bars where very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Than k you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our location (one of the best!). We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, John La Selva, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, John La Selva, GM
3 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
The room was great clean and comfortable. We were there 4 days and I had to go to the main desk to get more shampoo, conditioner, and bar soap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Barbara, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! I will be using the feedback you provided to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Travels, John La Selva, GM
3 out of 5
by Patrick

Perfect location, needs updating.

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very cozy motel and great location on Main St. in Lake Placid. The rooms are a bit worn and need to be refreshed, but were clean and spacious. We had 5 people in our room and had to request and extra set of towels each day. Annoying, but the friendly staff immediately took care of it. The breakfast was a surprise and the attendant is continually cleaning and replenishing. Overall, we had a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Patrick, Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall with us and hope to see you back again in the near future, Happy Travels, John La Selva, GM