Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced and shabby room.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Disaster from start to finish . The hotel lost our reservation and fully booked the hotel. The bathroom in the room we were eventually given was mouldy, wet towels were left on the floor by the cleaners and the door to our room left open all day. There was never any hot water to shower. We were then given a bill for an extra £55 per person for use of the facilities which were crawling with builders renovating the place. Very over priced for the standard of accommodation I would not recommend it and would never stay in a champneys again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

The perfect end to a 26 mile hike!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Definitely the swimming pool and spa area
Cons: Room service ceased at 8.30pm and check-in time was 5.00pm
Location: I booked this hotel following a planned 26 mile walk on the South Downs. A "one night" stay is too short to enable comment.
The swimming pool was impressive whilst the whirlpool, steam rooms and tropical showers were great fun. We spent a few hours in the pool area. Unfortunately our stay was limited to one overnight stay - so we had no time to use the gym. I may have caught sight of some spinning bikes and we would have availed ourselves of a spinning class had one been available. I saw several parked bicycles that I assumed were available to guests upon request. Given our time at the hotel was restricted, there was no time either discover or fully experience the facilities on offer. A return visit is definitely on my agenda.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing in comfort with this

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Frequent visitor so I like the overall ambience. I enjoy the treatments and the beautiful surroundings.
Cons: The online booking system could be simplified. Very easy to make a mistake - though I didn't, others appeared to have difficulties.
Location: The location is superb. Things to do nearby? Once there who wants to go out???
At the moment there are a few issues with the extensive building and renovation works. Overall a good way to relax and revive. The computer booking system is not foolproof so when booking treatments i would advise anyone booking to take extra care. Looking forward to going again and think the proposed improvements look very exciting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Another restful stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Lovely room with balcony overlooking lake. Great dining. Fab pool which I had to myself for 20 mins Stayed for business for 2nd time and will definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Relaxing spa hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Oasis of calm. Great service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Set in beautiful countryside, easy access to A3 for connections.
Stayed overnight on business, excellent food and service in restaurant. Calm atmosphere across whole site and great pool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

disappointing stay

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The staff and leaving.
Cons: Communication about check in and treatments, cleanliness and maintenance, and the food. Also notification at time of booking if the place is closing.
Having pre booked treatments and having been told we could not check in until 5pm, some what disappointed to be told first treatment was at 4pm, and the lady was not working until the next week, the pool shut at 4,30pm. The bed clothes were torn, and the toilet broke a number of times. The food was well presented but tasteless, and served in a motorway service station canteen with spiders webs hanging from the windows. In my view the place lives on it's reputation and is in need of a good clean and refurbishment. The staff however are very friendly and helpful which covers over the cracks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst in years - rude staff and rip-off policy

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Completely unacceptable experience from a company that couldn't care less about its customers. I booked a two night stay with my wife to be abruptly told on arrival the spa facilities weren't included, and we would have to pay another £25 per person per day on top of our booking fee. The lobby was dirty, the staff were rude, and when I spoke to the manager he said if we didn't pay we'd have to leave the hotel room at 10 the next morning and come back at 5. Not the holistic experience we had expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West London

Champneys Hotel, Forest Mere

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and the facilities.
Cons: The meals in the restaurant were delicious, but the service was rather slow at times.
Location: Champneys Forest Mere is a self contained complex, surrounded by woodland and overlooking a large folly pond.
I recently spent two days and nights at Forest Mere - my first experience of a Champneys Hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the wide variety of keep fit classes and options available all day. The views across the folly pond were delightful, as was the birdlife. Meals in the restaurants were delicious, and although there was no bar for cocktails, ice buckets were easily available...... The therapists were well trained and gave good value for money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location but not as relaxing as I hoped

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The old house part had some character. Views of lake.
Cons: Sound insulation between rooms. Comfort of beds.
We got a great last minute deal on the room and treatments. Unfortunately there was noise from building maintenance going on when we arrived til 5pm which wasn't very relaxing. We came away for some peace and quiet and so this was a bit disappointing. Also we were woken at 7.30am by someone hoovering and you could also hear the people in the adjacent room making cups of tea and using their bathroom. The bed was two singles joined together but it was really uncomfortable where they were joined with a large gap, unlike Premier Inn beds which I have slept in which you can hardly tell are 2 singles joined up. Having said that, the staff were lovely and the evening meal was really nice. The grounds were nice with the view of the lake making it seem quite calming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location in the woods

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Nice and relaxing with great facilities but staff are badly managed