Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto ontario canada

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The owner made the hotel a place to stay and return to. He went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colchester essex

Jump off point to the city

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Near city centre bus stop 10mtrs big road no problem couldn't hear it good nights sleep bed very clean room clean (a bit tired not a problem shower worked well small cubicle but done the job ) breakfast good. Cereals toast yogurts jams full English. ....parking in side road free no problems ..liverpool people very friendly out late didn't feel threatened (old age pensioners nice to walk out around docks) visit to another place took train worth it iron figures
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

good bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Liked the full English breakfast and once we figured out the bus system it was a lot more convenient to getting around. Bus stop is steps from hotel.
Location: Location is close to downtown. We are Beatles fans so we took a Beatle tour, explored the Cavern club and enjoyed walking on Albert Docks.
The hotel was a distance from train station, but, a number of city buses go from Queen's Square (near train station) right along Scotland Road making it quite easy to get around. Breakfast at the hotel was very nice and was a full English breakfast. Hotel staff were nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very welcoming and helpful.Breakfast was very good, enjoyed stay.
5 out of 5
by frederick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brenda from Australia

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Strange booking in system and the smallest shower I have ever had but friendly staff and great breakfast
3 out of 5
by Joshua from Schweiz

Ist in Ordnung, aber.......

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Ich reiste mit einem Freund nach Liverpool, um an ein FC Liverpool Spiel zu gehen. Wir nahmen uns ein Zweibettzimmer für drei Nächte. Es war etwas teuer, weil noch das Grand National ( Pferderennen ) war und deshalb vieles belegt war. Ansonsten wäre es deutlich günstiger gewesen. Das Hotel und Zimmer hat keinesfalls 4 Sterne verdient, höchstens deren 3. Die Zimmer sind eher Altmodisch eingerichtet, bietet einen Fernseher, Wasserkocher und ein Bügeleisen. Das Bad geht in Ordnung. Die Sauberkeit war gut. Das Gratis W-Lan ist etwas langsam, aber vorhanden. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit ( sie hätten mindestens 4 Sterne verdient). Was man allerdings beachten muss, ist das die Bar unten (auch vom Hotel betrieben) ein klassisches Pub ist, welche eine gute Audioanlage mit ordentlich Bass hat. Ausserdem ist die Gegend nicht gerade die Beste und schönste. Zumindest hat es 50 Meter neben dem Hotel eine Busstation, von welcher man in 5 Minuten ins Zentrum kommt. Wir haben es als ein reines "Schlafhotel" genutzt, ansonsten hält man sich am besten im Zentrum oder am Hafen auf.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin + Newcastle

Great authentic alternative to regular chain hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2016
My second visit. Certainly not my last. Well equipped rooms, cracking breakfast, superb friendly staff, and all only a 10-13 minute walk, short bus, or £3.50 cab ride away from the absolute centre of Liverpool. You get a very personal experience here, owned and run by proper old school scousers, and at half the price or less of most other hotels. We much prefer this than a characterless chain hotel you could find anywhere. Get over the fact that it's not in a pretty building or immediate area and you'll love the experience in this hotel. Enjoy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not spectacular but it's alright

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
This place is a small boutique hotel about 20 minutes walk from Liverpool city center but right next to a bus stop. The rooms are small, especially the bathroom and they're a bit dated. Still, a descent place and the staff are very friendly. The breakfast was really good. The owner hooked us up with a way to get seats for Liverpool games! Only one draw back, there's a bar right annexed to the hotel and because all the rooms are mostly on the first floor it can be loud till midnight or so on weekends. Apart from that, pretty good bed and breakfast. Not a four star rating though!
4 out of 5
by Fraser from Coulsdon

Throstle Hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Three day visit to see the sights of Liverpool in particular the Beatles.