Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Would have been better if the hotel catered for gluten free diets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful hotel next to Eurostar station.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel is beautiful! We feel like we had stepped into a luxurious place, and the room was so comfortable and inviting. We ordered a room service breakfast which was also terrific. Check-in staff and porters were extremely friendly and polite. The only drawback was when my wife asked the tea room hostess about Afternoon Tea, the lady condescended and asked her to look at the menu to make sure she really wanted to have tea. "After all, it is £35 apiece." Her implication seemed to be that perhaps we didn't realize how pricey their afternoon tea is, and we should probably choose to go somewhere that suites us better. What a snob! We checked in, cleaned up, and enjoyed the fancy tea very much (in spite of her!) The lady who waited on us, Anna, was fantastic! Overall, a good experience and one I would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Nice hotel but not necessary worth the price

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Nice hotel and well situated next to Pancreas and Kings Cross train stations. But also quite expensive for the room and restaurants in the hotel (we ate at the Booking Room). An additional charge for internet was lame. Seems like a $400+ hotel room should include internet service. Final comment - upon checking in, the Clerk advised there was not necessarily a view from the room. And that we'd we looking at another building. Fair enough. But what he didn't say was that the 'other building' was 4 feet away (literally). We opened the curtain to reveal a brick wall. Suggest visiting this hotel to appreciate it's architecture. But book your room elsewhere for a fraction of the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, slow service

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: History, building and location.
Cons: Servcie quality.
Hotel was in very nice old building (part of St Pancras station), room was good size, clean - typical big chain room. Service at check in was very slow, service at breakfast was very slow. Staff were all friendlt enough, but organisation seemed lacking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luton

A step back in time

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
An excellent trip down Memory Lane - the building's original state having been lovingly restored. A great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

歴史的な建物を再興したホテル

Posted Jul 6, 2016
セントパンクラスの駅前にそびえる立派な建物。過去に駅舎として使われていたという建物なので、随所にそういった意匠が伺えます。 部屋はイギリスのホテルとしては広めのお部屋。まだ新しいので、設備その他には不満はないですが、Wi-Fiが有料なのは少し残念です。 朝食はこちらでとっていないのでわかりませんが、マーカスウェアリングが手がけたというレストランはとてもモダンな内装で、メニューも大変美味しかったです
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Convenient Luxury

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Chose to indulge in a stay here on our way home from Europe after taking the Eurostar from Paris to St. Pancras. Wish we could have stayed longer in this lovingly restored gem! Highly recommend to others! Comfy beds and bathrobes and quiet even though right at the train station. And the review site is forcing me to write more in order to submit this review which I find incredibly annoying. Whatever happened to an appreciation for an economy of words!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

One of the best hotels I've stayed at, ever.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Pleasant and efficient staff; air conditioning/modern room; multiple outlets for international appliances; comfortable room; location. We will return!
Location: This is right at the train station, so you can go to the underground, or take the Eurostar to Paris. It's also on the bus routes; very convenient.
Our trip started with the airline losing our luggage, so we arrived at the St. Pancras hotel with nothing but my purse, my husband's backpack, and my laptop computer. Having been awake for over 20 hours, we now had to go back out to try and purchase some essential items until our luggage was found. The staff at the St. Pancras hotel provided a map of London, circled some suggested stores within walking distance, and marked their system to be on the lookout for our luggage. They also took my laptop and held it until the room was ready. While we were out shopping, I received a phone call that our room was ready, and when we came back my laptop was in the room, and they also provided a plethora of items to assist us as much as they could until our luggage arrived. The next day we had a trip to Paris, and when we were out our luggage arrived. We came back and the bags were in our room, as promised by the staff. Not only did they do everything they promised, but the entire staff was courteous and friendly. Every time you walked past an employee, they would say hello and greet you warmly. In America, that doesn't happen enough anymore. Their friendliness and professionalism was appreciated, especially when we had a rough start to our trip. And finally, the rooms are nice, the bed is comfortable, there is air conditioning, and they even have a small bench/cabinet that has multiple types of plugs, so we could plug in our American electronic items without a converter!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Historic gem but comes at a price

Posted Jun 27, 2016
An architectural gem, brimming with good design & skilled workmanship of the past. Spent 3hrs taking photographs so, as a history & architecture buff, I could savour & enjoy at home too. The price one pays for staying in this magnificent building in this most convenient location is understandably pretty steep, particularly if staying in the newer Barlow Wing as opposed to the original Chambers (where BW rooms are small, comfortable and well equipped but one can find these types of room in other hotels at less cost). Factor in that room price doesn't include breakfast (or indeed even a biscuit on in-room tea & coffee tray) and that wi-fi is a chargeable extra one then can't help but feel somewhat short changed. I'd have been better off choosing to use the hotels open public areas & organised tour for my own photographic interests but staying at a different hotel for less charge to include breakfast and wifi. Perhaps people staying in the original Chambers might be satisfied with the high price as the atmosphere in this part of the building is really quite distinct but for the newer BW there is most definitely better value for money accomodatiin to be found elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from farnham - surrey

This is not a 5 star hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
First of all I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and there is no way this comes even close. It also markets itself as a luxury hotel and luxury it certainly isn't. I would rate it as a slightly superior premier inn. Nothing wrong with that except a premier in as about 65.00 a night and we paid 360.00 a night at the Renaissance. Making the hotel very poor value for money. To begin with when we arrived we checked in and were told breakfast was not included - I told the concierge this was incorrect but was only believed when I produced our booking confirmation. Not a great start. We were then left to find our room. We wandered down a soulless corridor which smelt of stale cooking from the restaurant. One of the lifts was out of order. Our room had a dreary, drab and very dated feel despite being a superior deluxe. The room was very basic but was clean. The breakfast was delicious in the lovely restaurant. I would rate this hotel as 3 star but charging 5 star prices