Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by David from Beaverton

Looked good online, but not close up

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
The site said that it was three star. It was really a one star. You could tell that the building was once really nice place to stay. But the owners have not kept up the building. Poor paint, cracking walls, and the floors badly need refinishing. The room had dated decor, and there was a strange sliding door to the bathroom, which did not totally cover the doorway. The entire room was poorly cleaned, with gum under one of the lamp shades, hairs in the bathroom and on the plate, and the plastic (yes, plastic!) mugs had lipstick residue from the last user. The receptionist was very helpful with check in, and some advise on what to go to in the town, but was not in the building at check in. The A/C did not work, and was not fixed in the time we were there. It has so much potential, and all of the pieces are there, but there needs to be a lot more detail in the cleaning, upgrading, and decor. The room did have a small fridge, which did make it easy to keep food. I would not stay here again until I thought that the problems were rectified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015
I thought the hotel was very pretty and the staff were great. The air conditioning in the room was not great though. The centre of Lucca was within an easy walking distance.
3 out of 5
by emyr from wales

10 days in Lucca

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
a few problems with he room/no bathroom light &they were unable to fix it/toilet seat would not stay up/staff friendly & obliging/owner not friendly/full payment had been taken from my credit card before my arrival/I was going to pay cash/as a result 15euros were added to my card statement/poor arrangements for checking in/no reply when I telephoned/convenient for city /could be a much better b&b/ unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems/no lift/steep stairs
3 out of 5
by Sedge63 from Darlington, England

Basic but clean

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We have stayed here several times over the last 7 years and I would have to say it is not as good as it used to be. Staff are very friendly and check-in was quick. The room on the first floor was basic but had clean linen and a comfy bed. Breakfast was extremely basic and when we left we went for a decent coffee and pastry at a cafe bar round the corner. It is located on a side street outside of the city walls but quick and easy to walk into central Lucca.
4 out of 5
by Jordan from BC, Canada

Huge rooms, great value

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was great, the room was huge and really nice. It didn't even feel like a hotel, more like a mini-house. It was walking distance from the city centre and was in a good neighbourhood. The breakfast in the morning was homemade and really good and in the cute courtyard. The staff was very helpful and friendly as well. I'd recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
by Debbie & Peter from Portsmouth

Great Location

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived In Lucca using the train from Pisa. We walked from the station to the hotel along the Lucca walls which took about 15 mins which was lovely. The hotel is in a great location only taking 5 mins to walk into Lucca. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bedding and towels changed daily. Breakfast was good your typical continental. We would use this hotel again as it made our stay enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Good rooms but the owners don't really care.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
There's no reception that is open. Hard to find. Had to call for them to open the door. When I got to the hotel early they informed me the room wasn't ready to come back at 2pm. When I came back at 2 the staff lady (who was the nice one) told me that actually I was in another hotel a few blocks away. I clearly reserved the leoni hotel and had the reservation printed out. She then called the owner who told her that no I was in the other hotel. I had to explain that I booked based on location and pictures and that I didn't feel comfortable going somewhere else I didn't know and had never seen. She called him again and this time he told her to give me room no. 1. The room was nice and comfortable. It was somewhat clean. The floors needed a little mopping.. But fine. After all day walking around I came back to the hotel and there was some sort of party going on the backyard. Some people singing really loud. I didn't complain until it was about 11:30pm and someone started playing some kind saxophone.. Right under my door that opened to the small backyard. When I called the number I had for the reception (because there is no "reception") the owner picked up. Took them about an hour to stop the noise and turns out it was him and his family/friends who were in the backyard.. I'm not sure what he's thinking but it didn't feel that he took his business seriously. Oh and the breakfast is not included in this B&B..(what????) should not be called b&b at all.
4 out of 5
by Sandi from Albany, West Australia

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
Comfortable, with all requests being attended to straight away! Lovely, stylish hotel, but brekky was a bit sporadic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Very nice place

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Great looking facility
Cons: It has it all
Location: Very close to Historic Center
Great location to Historic Center, 5 minute walk. Very clean, great breakfast, very nice staff. Good bed and bathrooms, free parking. It has it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by levace from UK

Ideal Hotel for Old Lucca town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
We had a nice room in "Attic" with nice old beams etc, Nicely fitted out and for what we paid V Nice, They can organise Bikes, which is by far the best way to see the town. Breakfast ok, Internet ok, All in Very nice