Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted May 14, 2018
Absolutely gorgeous resort and friendly staff. Will definitely return and recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2018 by Jordi - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Charlotte, Thanks for your fantastic feedback and recommendations. Don't take too long to come back ;)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing from start to finish!

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Hotels
The service is brilliant and there are lots of lovely extra touches. The (free) yoga and tai chi sessions were great, it was only my boyfriend and myself taking part both times. We watched a movie outdoors on our first night, had (free) tea and cake by the pool every afternoon. The food in the restaurant is superb; breakfast, lunch and dinner! We did the snorkelling excursion which was lovely and they had a picnic breakfast waiting for us on the boat when we got out of the water. Easily our favourite hotel ever. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

In need of a revamp

Posted Nov 22, 2017
What we were looking for: Secluded, relaxing beachside resort for a young professional couple. Pros: Seaside location with lovely restaurant setting overlooking the ocean and fishpond; Spacious pool and ample deck chairs to relax bedside during the day; Attentive staff, who respond to and act on feedback; Palm tree studded grounds look great lit up at night; Plenty of restaurants in nearby Candidasa accessible by free shuttle that both the restaurants and hotel provide; Hotel arranged snorkeling trip was great. Cons: Dated-looking grounds and room fittings; 'Superior' (downstairs) and 'deluxe' (upstairs) rooms are essentially identical save for level; Neither room type has curtains, important for privacy given they all look out onto the pool (management tell me these are to be installed); Cold breakfast and lunch from the in-house restaurant - cold nachos, cold eggs, cold steak - unfortunately this happened again even after we spoke to staff; Construction noise beside the pool (ocean bar being built Oct 2017); In-house restaurant expensive by Australian standards; Expensive hotel washing service unable to remove usual stains or smells from clothes; No usable beach to enjoy. Overall: Not what we were looking for. Hard to recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Jordi - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, We much appreciate you took the time to write about your personal experience at Alila Manggis. We love reading how much you enjoyed the seaside location, the pool and its relax atmosphere during the day, our attentive staff, and our free shuttle service. Great to know that you enjoyed the snorkeling trip as well. You would like to know that we are working on white linen privacy curtains for the lower level rooms, we already have the samples done and we will have them install soon. We have addressed your issues with our Food and Beverage team and make sure that no guests will experience such inconveniences, in fact, is very rare to have such feedback as our culinary creations and restaurant service get high compliments from our guests. Nevertheless, you shouldn't have experienced that. The bar construction is also finished, apologies for the inconvenience, we did our best to keep noise levels at a minimal volume and asked the workers to stop if our guests were disturbed. Thanks for the laundry feedback, rare as well, and we are addressed with issue with the outside vendor that does our laundry services for it not to be repeated. We would love to be given a second opportunity in the future, and see you back at Alila Manggis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scottsdale, AZ

Vacation

Posted Sep 28, 2017
1. This hotel is / hours away in a rural area with little nearby activity 2. There is only one restaurant for breakfast and dinner 3. This is Ocean front and not beach front 4. Pricey for the status of the place 5. Rooms r small and bathroom needs work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney AU

Well used facilities with excellent staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff were very kind and friendly. We got an offer to stay last night at Alila Ubud which was relley fun. Facilities were Well maintained but old. Air conditioner was weak and noisy. On Expedia web site, transport service between airport was "US$45 for round trip" but actually charged the amount for one way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely stay in east Bali

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Great staff, nice pool area and lovely relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: The hotel could do with better bar area - there are a few beanbags and cushions on the beachfront but that's it.
Location: A five minute drive into Candidasa where there are plenty of dining options and tour touts but not great for shopping. Snorkelling is good.
The Alila Manggis is an older hotel on the seafront (no beach) with lovely established gardens and very good staff. The rooms are simple and quite sparse - nice but not large or luxurious but they have everything you need. All rooms look out onto the lovely pool. The food was generally good but we were very disappointed in the Balinese BBQ night when there were just too many guests in the restaurant - cold food, very poor service and not good value. Spa treatments were very good, but be careful with the spa escape package - it was the only item anywhere in the hotel that we saw that was priced in US dollars and not Rupiah - not sure why!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 Star Hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Maybe the food?
Cons: Everything, the 5 star rating is misleading in terms of the standards at the hotel.
Location: There is a spa opposite that is fairly reasonably priced but unfortunately due to the poor hotel me and my wife left the very next day.
I was initially booked into this hotel for a few evenings... however after the first night I was awarded a full refund. We were upgraded to a "deluxe" room which included air conditioning that is preset by the hotel to not go below 23 degrees, which made sleeping an uncomfortable experience especially as the room is right next to a stagnant water pool and the bathroom window had a gap that allowed the mosquitos to access the room freely. The rooms also look quite old (there were various cracked floor tiles) and offer no real privacy unless you wish to close the curtains (which are basically solid wood doors over the windows). Despite wifi being advertised with the room there was none! except for 1mb download speed and when questioned with the staff they said the speed was low in the area. The facilities are average with space by the pool or dine at the hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately if you want to relax elsewhere in the resort there is nowhere else to stay unfortunately unless you count the lobby. The view from the "beach" is of massive tankers on the horizon and a burnt out shrine covered in tarpaulin, I use the term beach loosely as the stretch of beach is tiny and visually in accessible from the hotel itself. On the plus side the food was pretty good when compared to other resorts. But that was about it.....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazingly Serene and Beautiful Setting!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Amazingly serene and beautiful setting on East coast of Bali; simple rooms with super comfortable beds and wonderful sea and pool views from large balconies or ground terraces. Breakfasts and dinners were of a very high standard and served by super friendly staff. Meet and greet at the airport was more like Hide and Seek - but I have forgiven them for that slip up! Overall very good value especially given the great rate I got on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Dear traveler, Thanks for you Amazingly Serene and Beautiful Review. We love reading that you enjoyed the best of what the East coast has to offer and that you appreciated the views and the tranquility of our Deluxe rooms. Indeed, our food creations of our culinary team is something most of our guests love to enjoy, thanks for recognizing it! Apologies for the Hide and Seek game on arrival! DPS can be extremely busy at times... Thanks again and looking forward to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melb

old hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
very dated old hotel. really old air conditioning that was very noisy. great food and service.
5 out of 5
by Rachel from New York

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a part of Bali more reminscent of the old Bali.