Ratings based on 1,042 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Older hotel, not worth the expense. A lot of beaches nearby, but you definitely need a car and the hotel only has valet parking at $30 plus tips per day. The room was spacious, but dated. Only replaced the bathroom amenities once in four days, which is ridiculous when you're paying over $500 a night!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but does not match the price

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Nice service and friendly staff. Building is pretty.
Cons: Poor area is smaller than expected. Restaurants and in room service are too pricy for the quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic spot! High end with great views

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Be prepared for up charges in every aspect of your stay. Well worth it though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

the quality is declining

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: see above.
Location: make sure you eat at Moma's Fish house, you will need to make a reservation well in advance, and the drive is about 30-40 minutes, but you won't regre
we have been to this hotel for at least 9-10 times over the past 17 years, unfortunately the quality of service and the hotel itself has declined over the past few years, specifically after the change of the ownership. The pools and landscape are not maintained as before, Their biggest slide was closed, the smaller slides were poorly maintained, and the Hotel staff, specially the front desk, were not as professional and friendly as they used to be. The rooms in the past were turned down every night, but now we had to request it, and even in spite of requesting it to be done during the entire stay, it was hit and miss. Even the quality of food was below the standard we were used to at this hotel. This has been one of our most favorite hotels ever, and the main reason we frequently visited Maui. For the first time ever, after leaving the hotel, we talked about going to other hotels in Maui or visiting other islands. Granted we may be too over critical because we love this hotel and know how it used to be, but I still needed to let both the hotel management and visitors be aware that things are not the same as before.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Right on the sandy beach

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Great location, with beautiful sandy beach. Spacious room. New TV- easy to operate. Wi-fi very good.Large bathroom.
Cons: Concierge staff could be more friendly.
This is a very large hotel with absolute beachfront , a number of pools and beautiful gardens. Whilst big, we never felt there was a lot of people round. A great system of use of beach chairs and umbrellas as part of your resort fee(if you leave them for 30 minutes they are available to others). With the crystal clear water warm water, we weren't tempted by the pools and had no trouble getting chairs and umbrella shade. Super helpful staff on the beach. We had a spacious ocean view room (there were three adults- 2 queen beds) and watched the sun set from the balcony. Lovely! There are two restaurants on site for eating at night and a cafe that offers food all day, including pizza. Also a breakfast buffet in another location. Have full or continental breakfast and a la carte. The food, across the board, isn't exciting, but nicely prepared. In the best restaurant(Humuhumu...) the quality of the produce was excellent,staff excellent, but overall the meal not at the standard we are treated with in Australia. The hotel is situated next to the Wailea shops so there are a couple of options for dinner there, an ABC and other markets for supplies and a few shops for clothing . Would I go back- yes .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Great place to stay! Kid friendly, yet beautiful!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Our room was immaculate and spacious. We had a king bed with A pullout couch. We had a garden view by one of the pools. The view was amazing! My husband and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and after supper one night we came back to our room and found a gift basket with a $70 bottle of champagne, snacks (cookies, chocolates, cups, nuts) as well as a gift certificate for a couples massage. Wow! They sure know how to make their guests feel special and want to come back. The kids joined us for the day and we all had a great time at the water park. It is great for all ages. Sure, there's a few tiles missing on the outsides of the pool but that's pretty minor when you're enjoying an amazing pool day with your family. Although the rooms are pretty pricey, we will be back in a few years! We had a blast!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, fun pool, awesome beach

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Beautiful hotel, kids had a blast in the pool/tarzan swing, saw many turtles while splashing in waves at beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flowery Branch, United States of America

Large confusing resort

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Difficult to get around resort, very confusing layout. Way too many people at the facilities using pools. Not the place to go for a relaxing adult vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The view from our room was breathtaking. We had the garden view room on the 5th floor. You could tell the garden was well maintained.
Cons: The sliding doors in our room were hard to open and close. Maybe it was rusted, or just heavy.
Location: The Grand Wailea is alongside the beach, with a view of Molokini and Kaho'olawe in the distance. Down the road from is The Shops at Wailea.
The hotel staff made us feel welcomed. Everytime we passed one in the lobby, or on our room floor, they would greet us with a smile and a friendly "Aloha". We had bottled waters in our fridge after check in, and more water every time we retrieved our car from the valet. I truly felt spoiled during my stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Very beautiful and well maintained resort

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The landscape of the premises is well designed and kept up. The room is spacious and comfortable. It's a short walk to the pools and beach.
Cons: We paid for the resort fee of $30/day: Need a list of things/activities included so we can plan things better. Need self-serve laundry facility.
Location: When entering the resort area, you immediately see how luxurious the surrounding is. All the things to do or eateries is about 10-30 mins away
My family of 4 had a nice stay. From the moment we arrived, everything felt so luxurious. Our car and luggage were swooped away promptly. The walkway from the front to the check in counter was breathtaking. Check in and luggage delivery were smooth. We have young kids so we requested for a microwave in advance and it was there when we arrived at our room. The walkway to the beach is magnificent, with Koi fish ponds and greenery everywhere. The beach is the perfect place to hangout, play in the sand, and watch the sunset. The five days we were there, we were out and about. We spent only half day exploring the resort and took pictures. We wish we should have hang out more at the resort. May be next time. Honestly because everything is expensive there so we always went outside to buy things and food to eat. So, you'll need a car unless you just want to hang out all day there.