Ratings based on 1,480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Very hard to find but a nice hotel. Staff weren't the best but it was a good price and we had no real problems with the hotel. Would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

3 star at best. Small old hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Stayed one night and was happy it was only one. Hotel is very out dated and needs a major upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable, yet disappointing for Rydges

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Not much- Comfortable bed
Cons: Update rooms
Location: Good location
Outdated hotel, needs a lick of paint and some more modern touches to keep up with surrounding hotels Friendly staff Good location- accross from trams and short walk to beach. Sourrounded by cafes and food outlets and supermarket down the road Disappointing that they were no deals offered with adjoining cafe and bar Room next door could easily be heard through the joining door- was not happy about this! Shower did not have enough water pressure and there was no closing shower door, only screen which left me cold whilst showering! Overall disappointing. Would not recommend staying here unless you are staying one night only and get the room on special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warnnambool, VIC

Didn't live up to expectations

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Considering the price of the hotel, it wasn't worth the money. Isn't exactly close to the city. Some aspects about the room were bad quality, eg bathroom, wall sockets next to bed and the lights were affecting the sockets' function
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

It's ok but I remember it as being so much better

Posted Jul 30, 2016
From the smell of paint to the tired hallway, this hotel is fine but not the lovely fresh place I last stayed in 8 years ago. With SO many AirBnB choices in the area, I do think they will need to up their game to stay viable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Renovated hotel on the main street of St. Kilda

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the bed was very comfortable
Cons: The amenities in the room such as the spa bath and tv
Location: Location is great, it is very close to the beach and lots of bars as well as restaurants near by. One big bad point would be the government housing a
I initially chose this hotel because it had a spa bath and stupidly I should've known that the pictures would not be the same as the room. Pros: - Staff were very friendly and accommodating - The room was well positioned to overlook Fitzroy street and was well insulated (except for the hallway) - Despite 1 very loud guest that was vocal for about 15-20mins, the hotel is very quiet. - The bed was extremely comfortable - The breakfast menu was delicious - The coffee was perfect Cons: - The elevator was quite small and had trouble reading several key cards - The delivery of room service was not prompt in the morning - which made me run late. - Although there was no compensation for the late service - the staff ensured the next morning was more on time - The amenities looked old and needed an update. (E.g. TV & bath) - The spa bath was a combination between the shower and bath and unfortunately did not look clean enough to have a bath - The shower was very low pressure (tried the different settings) - The nasi goreng for dinner tasted was missing the spices and was a tad bit too greasy. - There is a notorious government housing which is 200m away and walking at night felt a little unsafe as the residents hung around the close by 7/11 I would recommend this place not as a romantic getaway or someone who wants amenities such as a nice spa bath to unwind after a busy work day - but more for the business person travelling on a budget
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DW

Cheap and easy

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Wotif
Super friendly and helpful staff Location not all that family friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel disappointed

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Wotif
Heating in room didn't work so they gave us a tiny portable heater which I would have preferred another room Jets in spa some worked some didn't overall it was ok I guess
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tasmania

Perfect base for St Kilda/city weekend away

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Wotif
Having a weekend for two in Melbourne, including a concert at the Palais theatre. Spent two nights at this hotel. Very clean, comfortable, close to the city trams, beach, theatre and great eateries. Well priced, helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by Po Yiu

Needs improvement

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staffs at the reception are very polite and helpful. The wifi connection is very good and fast. Comfy bed. However, the mugs and spoon are not clean with coffee stains on it. The shampoo and shower gel are not sealed and only contains a very small volumn in it, so I'm not sure if it's new.