Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The parking lot is the only that was a little iffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Margolace B, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good basic hotel in a very good location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: N/A
Location: Excellent shopping nearby
Slept well with comfortable bed; friendly staff. Excellent parking in a large lighted lot. Fairly quiet neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Margolace B, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's fine

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: cheap-ish, close to the action of downtown
Cons: The room needs to be aired out or renovated... seriously, it smelled so awful
Location: Mall, lots of good eats
It was very confusing getting to the hotel becuase there are three La Quinta's within a mile radius... That was super frustrating... Also, they claim it's smoke free but the room REAKED of smoke... it was so gross...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Disappointing

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Continental breakfast surpassed my expectations. Included hard boiled eggs and yogurt. It was nice to have a couple high protein offerings.
Cons: Service. Coffee. More comfortable bed. Cots, especially if they can't guarantee room type.
Location: Location fairly convenient to downtown.
Didn't get the type of room we reserved (2 double beds) and ended up with three people in a king size bed (that was very hard, btw) and one child sleeping on the floor. They said reservations made through a third party vendor (Expedia, in this case) could not be guaranteed the requested room type. Perhaps this was in the fine print somewhere, but it certainly wasn't made apparent when I booked the reservation. It would have been tolerable had they been able to offer a cot, but no, they don't have cots. It also would have helped if they would have been apologetic, but no, they made me feel like I was a second-class guest because I booked through a third party and somehow got what I deserved. Bizarre. I've experienced anything like it. Coffee was crummy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2016 by Margolace, Hotel Management
Sara, Thank you so much for you feedback on your stay LaQuinta. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had to endure. Not having the room type that you booked at check in. And family sleeping on the floor. I truly am sorry that you and your family had to go through this. Again, please accept my apology.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely

Posted Apr 23, 2016
I enjoyed my stay.... the complementary breakfast was much appreciated. Thanks
1 out of 5
by Michele from Saint Paul

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
There was only one wheelchair accessible spot and it was taken; the only parking spot available was inside a 15 foot wide x 5 inch deep puddle; there was ice all over the lot and entry way; the air conditioner was incredibly loud and we could not sleep; the shower would not turn on; the fan in the bathroom was super loud, and not wired separately from the light, so when the light was on, so was the obnoxious fan; the window had a tiny 2 inch piece of removable metal for a lock; the drapes did not close all the way and the parking lot flood light shone into the room; the floors and walls were paper-thin and we were kept awake until 5 in the morning by the guests next door carrying on a reasonable volume conversation- it's not their fault that the walls are so thin, so we did not beat on the wall or door and tell them to shut up, BUT we get manage to hear their life story, word for word...and of course the people above us decided to have s*x for several hours and seemed to want the world to know that they were getting it on. Needless to say it was really a horrible stay and we will not be back to a la quinta, at this location or anywhere else for that matter. we recd a 50% discount, but even $45 was too much for the horrible experience of staying at your facility. I gladly paid 159 to change my next day's reservation to a Country Inn and Suites 15 miles away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog urine

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: blow it up and start over
Location: location is okay that's why I was shocked to see how nasty the hotel was
The hallway smelled of marijuana smoke as soon as you get off elevator, the room and the bed smelled of very high urine, the shower didn't drain, the room was not as clean as they should be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

It was in a good location.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The staff and breakfast
Cons: The cable
Location: Good location lot do. Research the internet before going and a car is good to have.
I found this hotel to be ok. The staff was wonderful. The room ok. How ever this is first hotel that ask you to place a card your bed if you wanted it changed. The breakfast they offered was better than I thought it would be. I would stay again. They should up grade the cable in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Low maintenance and affordable

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: The staff who provided nice and friendly services.
Cons: The cleanliness, the continental breakfast items.
Location: Nice location with local restaurants within 5-10 minutes drive.
The room and bath area had not been thoroughly cleaned or not cleaned at all. The sleeping beds was comfortable and the enviroment and atmosphere was embracing. The staff provided warm and friendly services that did make you feel welcome to be a guest. But, very little or no thought at all went into the continental breakfast that was offered. Overall rating of my stay would be a *