Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by john from Biddulph

A good hotel with some disadvantages

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
A good hotel but with some drawbacks. It is a long way from anywhere, Modica is the nearest city some 5 miles away and so a car is essential, even so it is difficult to find and road signage in the area is terrible. A particular problem was access to the road, being a blind and potentially dangerous exit. Building work was being carried out during our visit, but even allowing for this cleanliness of the pool area was poor, there being cigarette ends lying about and not cleared up The staff were friendly and helpful. There were insufficient facilities for what I would call a resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Welshpool, Powys

Very nice quiet hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: In a quiet location and good for visiting the area.
Location: Close to Modica where there are many restaurants, and within reach of Ortiga which is worth a visit.
The hotel is very modern, the rooms are clean and have a fridge and a safe. We were on the first floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool at the back. I asked for a room at the back as I had read a review saying the road could be noisy. The room was generally quiet but there was a wedding reception one evening and it was very loud in our room. The breakfast was good but we didn't have an evening meal in the hotel. The staff were pleasant, and Veronica on reception was very helpful and always had a smile on her face so made us feel very welcome. Excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is fantastic. It is very modern and well designed with stylish furniture and fittings in the rooms. Considering the price you pay, it is very very good value compared to many other hotels. The décor in the communal areas of the hotel, such as the foyer, is impressive and the pool area is beautiful. The room itself is a good size with an enormous bed and the usual facilities. The bathroom was nice although some aspects weren't quite in keeping with the hotels ultra-modern feel. Everything was impeccably clean and well looked after. The breakfast was very extensive and included cereal, pastries, cooked breakfast, cold meats, hot drinks and even prosecco for those who want a slightly more indulgent breakfast. The service of the hotel staff was brilliant and they were more than happy to help with any requests which we had. Their English was great and they were happy to point out good places to visit and eat in the local area. The only slight downside to the hotel is its location which requires a car to go anywhere. I was aware of this when booking and so it wasn't much of a problem but there are absolutely nothing around the hotel and the nearest town is Modica which is a 10 minute drive away. Modica itself has some great restaurants and shops though so this isn't too much of a problem. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Pietre Nere and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a holiday in southern Sicily!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice modern hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is modern, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast caters for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Sicily however I would caveat this with saying car hire is a must. The hotel is in the countryside so all of the sights and local towns are a drive away. I don't think we would have enjoyed our stay as much if we had not had a car.
4 out of 5
by Enjoyed this hotel from xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Well run hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were really excellent; the restaurant dinner menu was creative and interesting. The rooms we had were bright and full of light; big windows for daylight, and plenty of lightbulbs for evening. The bathrooms were good. The only negative was that we had not realised that this is a popular wedding/events hotel; we arrived on a Friday and left Sunday morning. There was a wedding on the Friday (so there was loud music late into the night, and noisy guests making their way to rooms); another wedding on the Saturday and also a second, smaller family event on the Saturday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quiet location but disappointing restaurant

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Clean, modern design
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Quiet countryside so car is a must
We had a good 5 night stay at Pietre Nere. Thr hotel appeared recently refurbished and was well-maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable and I would recommend booking the superior rooms with a balcony - which are spacious. The hotel is located in the countryside and is a 15-min drive to Modica. The only reason I did not rate the hotel a 5 was due to the restaurant and the lack of staff at the hotel, noticeable mainly at breakfast. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant (only for guests) once and found the food very average (pasta with prawns had little prawns and lots of very bitter chicory for about 12 euros). The service was awkward, slow and there was also a mix-up with the bill which should have been avoided. This was disappointing given the hotel seems to hold regular weddings in the function area next door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Pietre Nere is a fantastic place to stay!

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels
This is a wonderful place to stay! Good service, wonderful pool area, superior breakfast, nice staff. A lot of value for money. We've been here five times during the years and it is just as great every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2011
I was absolutely thrilled with this hotel, it was an amazing find. All the staff are very professional and friendly and took care of everything for us, including the car hire. Also I can't rate highly enough how incredible the chef was. We ventured out to various restaurants, but this was by far the best place to eat. It was quiet when we were there - which added to the charm. I will certainly stay there again when I visit Sicily next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Hotel für Reisegruppen und große Gesellschaften

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Nettes und zurvorkommendes Personal
Cons: Feierlichkeiten wie Hochzeiten, Feste des Lions-Clubs , 18. Geburtstag, die im großen Saal stattfanden, in dem aber auch gefrühstückt wurde.
Location: 8 km von Modica, ansonsten liegt alles, was man unternehmen könnte (Strände, andere Städte) mindestens eine halbe Stunde mit dem Auto entfernt.
Das Hotel ist von den Zimmern und vom Personal her völlig in Ordnung, aber es gibt einen zentralen Saal, in dem etwa 2x wöchentlich Veranstaltungen abgehalten werden. In 13 Tagen erlebten wir eine Hochzeit, einen 18. Geburtstag, eine kleine Geburtstagsfeier und ein riesiges Treffen der umliegenden Lions-Clubs. Als normaler Hotelgast konnte man sich eigentlich nur in sein Zimmer flüchten. Weiterhin beherbergte das Hotel viele Reisegruppen, die oft nur eine Nacht bleiben, aber in ihrem Gruppenauftritt auch nicht eben zu erholsamen Atmosphäre des Hotels beitrugen.Das Frühstück fand in dem "Feiersaal" an runden 8erTischen statt, obwohl es nebenan ein Restaurant mit kleineren Tischen gab.Frühstück gab es bis 10 Uhr, kam man um 9 Uhr, gab es häufig keine vernünftiges Brot und keine Wurst mehr. Auch auf Nachfrage wurde nicht nachgelegt. Das Restaurant bot jeden Abend zwei feste Menus, unter deren Einzelgängen man auswählen konnte, die sich nicht eben durch die Verwendung frischer Zutaten auszeichneten. Am Pool gab es keinerlei Möglichkeit, etwas zu trinken oder zu essen. Mittags konnte man das Menu des Abends im Restaurant bekommen, keinen Salat, keine kleineren Gerichte. Wollte man etwas unternehmen, musste man immer das Auto nehmen. In der Nähe gab es keinerlei Infrastruktur wie Läden oder Restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sicilia con i compagni di classe

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
ottima struttura con spa poco utilizzata in quanto abbiamo soggiornato solo una notte ma molto bella con apa e piscina esterna