Ratings based on 2,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Fun Hotel Great Service

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Spent five days at the hotel. We enjoyed our stay. Great overall service in all areas and a fun hotel. Love staying at the RIU hotel in Ocho Rios
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, NJ

I will be back!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The check in was a little bit of a hiccup because of a mixup with the reservation. Anna-Maria stepped up to the plate and gave us outstanding service. We were blown away. There were 6 of us and we were treated like royalty. I can't wait to get back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsafe

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The door was an issue the whole weekend. It got to the point it didn't lock and no one helped us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Had a wonderful time at this Resort. Excellent food and great staff. Love the jerk chicken at jerk hut. Very clean facilities. Will definitely be back and bring my friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Bad food, room service did not replace used glasses or refill liquor bar with full bottles. Pools were too dirty to get into.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Great food great service best shows.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
It was a great experience the best Riu I have been at.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rifton, NY

Will be back

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We have stayed at the Riu in Ocho Rios several times and love it. Close to all the excursions, food and staff are great. Beach is beautiful and well kept and there is much to do. We will be back!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ortiz

Experiencia en ocho Ríos Riu

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Es una Playa bonita con vegetación alrededor lo que la hacer ver mejor, sin embargo el personal en un 80%,si no es que más es pésima, malas caras, no te atienden cuando lo ocupas, nunca funcionó el Míni bar hasta el último día de 10 De estancia, camas que se le sienten los resortes, no limpian el piso de la habitación solo lo barren, todos quieren propina ahh en dólares americanos no jamaiquinos, además no conviene cambiar los Dólares americanos pues su dólar nadie lo quiere y todo se cobra en dólar americano, las jóvenes que trabajan en los distintos restaurantes , bar tienen una pésima atención para con más mujeres en general solo a los hombres extranjeros hasta les bailan en lo que uno espera la Atención a pesar de haber llegado antes, suena mal esto último pero es la verdad, piscinas sucias, agua turbia, muy turbia, si mejoraran estos detalles sería un excelente hotel Pues está en una hermosa playa y las instalaciones muy grandes pero Con todos estos Detalles, sus trabajadores pésimos en actitud aunque hables bien inglés , no les gustamos los Clientes que no somos del Color de su piel , sé que suena muy racista pero en esta ocasión así es ellos Practican el recismo con nosotros, en el resto de ocho Ríos los paseos, el pueblo son diferentes no lo tratan a uno así y se ganan su propina por su buena atención con los turistas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Bed was extremely hard. Food was decent. Had to take bags to our room ourselves and when it was time for checkout no help was provided. The people are very nice, spa was expensive. Close to the beach, pools were clean. If you don't like jamacian liquor this hotel isn't for you. only beer offered is their beer. All drinks made with Appleton.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Disappointed

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The breakfast, alcoholic beverages, pools and beaches.
Cons: Hotel staff needs an attitude adjustment, the evening entertainment should be improved and the food needs to have more variety and be fresher.
Location: We stayed in Ocho Rios, not far from Montego Bay. We visited the Dunn's River falls which were amazing and I enjoyed very much.
I have heard very good things about RIU hotels and even better things about Jamaica. Unfortunately, this hotel and trip fell short. The majority of the hotel staff were not friendly. I recall moments when I was afraid to ask for a cup of coffee or even a simple question such as where the bathroom is all because the hotel staff were rude and standoffish. I have never gone on vacation and receive this sort of treatment by hotel staff. This hotel also had very little evening entertainment and when there was some sort of show, it was poorly put together. The food at this hotel was also mediocre. The breakfast was not bad but much better than lunch and dinner. However, the Jamaican patties were always fresh and tasty, the drinks were good and the beach was beautiful. This hotel has two pools, both were very nice but not always clean. I visited one of the pools each day during my stay, and every single time, there were a few things floating around the pool. Unfortunately this hotel also did not have jet skies available for rental by its' guests which also sucks.