Ratings based on 1,961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

great resort,but....

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Location: very close to shopping, the Falls, zip line and other attractions
Awesome resort !!! staff, food and rooms were great, but as you will read in other reviews lack of hot water is an issue sometimes. ( I didn't let it bother me )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jacuzzi suites are awesome

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The junior suites are ok, jacuzzi suites are awesome. Internet was intermittent during my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 9, 2016
The place was big and beautiful. Wifi was frustrating-none in the rooms and VERY spotty in public areas. Food was very good, lots of choices. Crowded beach-had to put a towel down on a chair by 7:30 or you didn't get a beach chair
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Don't do it, Go Somewhere Else!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Beach
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!!!!
Location: Unless you are with a paid excursion, you really shouldn't leave the resort, especially at night. We were told this by the locals!
When we booked this resort it was 4 1/2 stars, by the time we arrived it was down to 3 1/2 stars, but I would give it 2 stars maximum, and that's only because of the beach and water there. This place is old and worn out. The management is clearly cutting back on every front. The rooms were like a bad motor lodge; the food, while plentiful was horrid; the service was indifferent; the "entertainment" was a joke; the bathrooms had no hot water, I had a warm shower twice in 10 days; the website says 45 minutes from the airport but it's actually 2 hours. JUST GO ELSEWHERE, DON'T COME HERE AND BE UPSET AND FRUSTRATED.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice beach, old hotel, poor management

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Beach, local people friendly
Cons: Renovate hotel, better trained staff, better management, cleaner facilities and beach.
Location: Far from airport, close to Dunn River Falls. Diving and snorkeling below average.
This could have been a very nice resort. They do have a nice beach. Jamaicans are lovely people. The taste of food was good, not gourmet, at any of the restaurants. Very limited seating at the specialty restaurants. Tap red wine was undrinkable. New Year spread was however impressive. Hard to find lemons and sometimes limes for drinks. The fruits were below average for a tropical island.The overall management left much to be desired. They were responsive to complaints, but not much was resolved. The hotel rooms were relatively clean but not properly cleaned all the time during the stay. Any maintenance issue will likely be resolved after guests have left. There was a bad smell in places near trash cans, rest rooms and in general, musty. The hotel itself is in need of renovation. During one of the busiest holidays, the hot water pipes had to be cleaned and there was no hot water for hours. The water pressure was very low. The beach was dirty and there were not enough chairs for guests during such busy season. At the buffet, the table cleaning was slow and in the hour before closing , some of the staff was reluctant to be helpful. The pool was properly cleaned once in 10 days. The romantic dinner is on the beach in full view of the other guests, so no privacy there. Need to be mindful of your property, as petty theft can occur from uninvited guests on the premises. My worst Riu experience so far compared to other Riu resorts, below average and well below ratings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

My stay at Riu

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: The experience was very good, and the entertainment is always planned out out
Cons: The rooms need a clock and a note pad.
Location: The hotel location is great. There are many other places that are close by.
My stay at Riu was comfortable, the staff was always willing to please or help you. There were always some kind of entertainment happening at the hotel. The entertainment at nights were very funny and the staff were very talented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great resort hotel out of town

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: All inclusive = not having to leave hotel grounds for meals
Cons: Expedia did contact us pre-trip to offer to make any other arrangements. Wish we knew that taxis with no credit cards was the only way to get around.
Location: Hotel is away from touted sights, but did get to the Blue Pool [fantastic and worth the taxi dollars; small entry fee] and the Green Grotto.
Ocho Rios location was the reason for choosing this all-inclusive hotel, and turned out to be at the outskirts of all the activities, meaning cash-only-taxis to anywhere [although the local help was using the infrequently seen public transit]. The hotel right on a clear clean beach with lifeguard ! , ocean breeze to cool from the tropical heat, several choices for eating, great noisy evening entertainment are all pluses and reasons to stay on grounds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Worst experience of my life!

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: The drinks and location, as well as the scenery.
Cons: Improvement is needed EVERYWHERE! Perhaps some customer service training is in order.
Location: GET YOUR OWN TAXI!!!
Staff is very rude and unfriendly, especially the women at the resort. Not helpful at all, you have to figure everything out yourself. Walk past the gate to get transportation, otherwise, it will cost you a fortune to use the hotel taxi's. A driver tried to charge me $120 US dollars to go 5 miles away! I got there on a Sunday, and was told I couldn't make any dinner reservations for a week!! Plan on lots of buffets of the same foods. There are no servers on the beach or poolside, so don't get to comfy because you'll need to get your own drinks. In the food areas, there are no bars, your server can only get you red or white wine. I could go on and on but bottom line is, this is not a 5 star all inclusive resort, in my opinion it is a 2 star, partial inclusive. Drinks are good and free, that's about the only positive I can come up with. The place is basically a prison, way too many rules, and don't lose you're wristband or room key card, it will cost you almost $500 to replace!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful resort, Terrible food

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: Likes: Beautiful resort, amazing room, the best beautiful blue water in Jamaica. Ocean water was warm at Christmas. Great breeze. Great bar drinks.
Cons: The food! It is really tasteless. Start better entertainment earlier. More pillows in the rooms and larger beds. They give one small pillow each.
Location: We were visiting family in Kingston where we stayed most of the time so we didn't leave the resort once there. It is close to Dolphins Cove.
Dislikes: The food was absolutely terrible. I will eat anything and am not at all picky. But in 4 days I can say I found not one food or non alcoholic drink item that had any taste whatsoever. Even the fruit was not edible. Nothing tasted ripe or sweet or seasoned at all. We saw this on the reviews but ignored it thinking people were just being picky. They had some Jamaican food but it too had no taste. The pool water was too cold. The kids got in the pool but few adults did. The entertainment started between 10-10:30 at night and went until midnight. It was very lame entertainment and so loud. One night they had Karaoke and the other they played a You Tube documentary on Bob Marley and called it Reggae entertainment. When we went back to our room to sleep the noise was unbearable. The beds were extremely small even our 9 and 10 year old to share. We had to call 4x and go to the desk before they finally brought us a few more pillows. The gym was disappointing. They had two treadmills and one didn't work. It went really slow. Neither of the two stairclimbers worked and they had 2 seated bikes and a few elipticals. Everytime we went it was very crowded so clearly people are using it and investing a little money into it would make guests very happy. There were so many people smoking everywhere, on the beach, at the pools. It made it difficult to enjoy with all the nasty smelling cigarette smoke. Those areas need to be nonsmoking so everyone can enjoy it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Good food with decent entertainment. Lady at the kids club is very rude, they need to have some entertainment for the kids at the club. Room was neat and good.Sometimes they run our of things like toiletries and some foods. They can provide some life jackets to kids, so that it will be easy for the parents to relax. Overall a good resort. I will go back again.