Ratings based on 2,021 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
The rooms need to be updated, they need to stop telling people they offer King size beds when they push single beds together.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Great vacation especially the food. The staff was accommodative.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Couples Vacation: 4 couples went.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The food, beach staff, nightly entertainment was good. They Were much friendlier than the front desk staffs.
Cons: The front desk $ housekeeping staff needs to be re-train. They have too much of an attitude and act as if they are granting ppl a favor.
Location: The location is great. The is Dunns River Fall, Doplhin Cove, the market. Check out Lobster Dave. Fry fish is great.
All 4 couples shared bad experience, but this is my personal experience. Upon arriving, was greeted with friendly staff at first. 1 was changed to a another room without my consent, 2 certain facilities in the room was not working, 3 room was musty, 4 shortage on linens. The Tuesday morning after my arrival I went to the front desk and told them that the bathroom tank chain was broken, the person said he will have Maintenance go in one hour and fix the problem. Went out on the road and came back. The problem was not fixed and the room was short on towels. Went back and reported it to another person. She had a attitude. Went to front desk again to ask why the problems not fixed. At that time I was asked what time I was in my room, told the young lady was just there. Someone from maintenance came out and said the problem was fixed . I told her no. She insist the problem was fix. I told her I need her supervisor she said he was not there and got into an attitude with me and my family. She said she will walk away from us I told her to go ahead In that process the front desk manager came out and said she will go to our room with us. Upon arriving low and be hold there was a shiny silver knob on the tank. Previous knob was a white plastic. NOW this tick me off because while talking with me and my husband they handle the problem so they used delay tactics on us. What bother us was the fact they lied. We met with the manager and spoke to him. He was not all that helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hard beds and mold growing in shower.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Not the best we had to bring our luggage up to our room, The room was like a hole in the wall motel dirty and had a wired smell. Mold in bath room, no hot showers only in the morning horrible customer service ...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

This was a nice hotel!

Posted Apr 29, 2016
First time there! It was a great experience, it's about 1 1/2 away from Montego Bay airport all the staff was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great resort, but make sure they do not over book!

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Nice beach
Cons: Friendlier staff and better planning as far as overbooking goes!
Location: Loved the location! Only 10 miles from Dolphin's Cove and Dunn's River Falls
The only complaint I had with this trip was the hotel staff, which was a shame. Almost every all-inclusive trip I take I stay at the Riu's, and I have always had a wonderful experience. This time I was not so lucky! When I first arrived I was told that they had overbooked, and my "Ocean Front" room, which I paid more for, was no longer available. The front desk girl was very unprofessional, and when I asked for her supervisor she brought over the assistant manager who would not even look at us nor speak to us. She then passed along what he had to say, which was that there is nothing they could do. The actual supervisor, Anna, overheard what was going on, and finally came over and fixed the situation as best as possible. We did have to stay one night in a "Garden View" room, but after the first night she upgraded us to a junior deluxe suite "Ocean Front". I also noticed that the staff was no where near as friendly as the other Riu's, and I probably won't be coming back to this one again :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2016
The view was good but the waitress was a bit rude!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not 5 star, old, and dirty rooms, same food daily!

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Free drinks. Good location.
Cons: Incorporate Jamaican food into the meals. No patties, no bun and cheese, no festival, and only a little sawfish in the aki. The shower is tiny!
Location: Scotchies restaurant, Dunn's river falls: climb, Mystic mountain: bobsled and zipline.
The resort advertises itself as five star so we booked expecting at least a reasonable level of comfort considering the pictures didn't look 5 star luxurious. We chose an ocean view, but our only view was of the front and other side of the building. The room smelled like it hadn't been used in months and the bed was so hard it made my wife's hip hurt by morning and she is young and athletic.We requested a change to what we paid for and were told our room is considered ocean view because ocean view is a category and not an indication of the view itself and that ocean Front is the room with an ocean view. We were told we would have to check out by noon and our new ocean Front room would be ready by 2pm. People around us were getting free upgrades, included people in the group we came with. So we requested the same upgrade and the manager quoted us a price, which we said we would pay for, only for her to simply refuse to give it to us. Took an extra 1.5 hours for our room to be ready. Even then we had to get towels from a friend because they still didn't have that available and they were making us late for a 4pm wedding we needed to get ready for. Both the tv in the old and new room were not flat screens like they show in the website, they were old tube televisions. Our room keys were actual turn and lock keys not keycards! The new bed was just as hard! Wifi didn't work like they said it would. Even in our new room on their highest floor we could barely see ocean! See photos!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

Great family resort

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was great!! The evening shows were wonderful and worth waiting for tey have some very talented staff.
Cons: The Food..... I did not starve,but most food was VERY bland... the fruit I expected to be ripe and sweet but is was unripe and hard.
Location: Location was good,lots to do near by only a 10-15 min taxi to dolphins, dunns river falls and the blue hole. all worth seeing.
Our overall experince was great!! 2 adults and 2 kids(12/14). the kids were never board and loved the water and all the sea life they could see just snorkeling in front of the resort. the activies staff was always fun to be around!! the rooms were clean a little outdated. the beds werre comfortable with the exeption of we had 2 doubles they were 2 doubles pushed together, not the best for a family of 4.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The Adventure

Posted Apr 25, 2016
When they say checkin time is at 3, boy is that no lie. Not fun arriving a few hours early and gave to wait with your bags or if you want to leave your bags off to the side if checkin line, be aware no one is monitoring your stuff. Thought I was getting a $35 spa credit per my booking with Expedia, but it was never mentioned to me and no voucher was given. Decided to see what the spa had to offer since we had to kill time and quite frankly it's very small, no spa like feel, and ridiculously over priced - so $35 wasn't going to do much anyways. Finally saw the room and what a disappointment. This hotel is not classy at all, mattress was dirty and uncomfortable, no venting in the bathroom, toilet didn't flush on first go around, narrow tub. Mini fridge is stocked and only restocked every other day. No flat screen tv and horrible reception. Oh and this whole free WiFi thing, yeah that's only in the lobby, not in your room. Housekeeping wants to clean your room by 10am and will knock once and already be opening the door so be decent. Food was mediocre-nothing special. The only thing I give this place is that the grounds and beach are beautiful, is crowded so no real seclusion here but nevertheless beautiful. So if you are going to Jamaica to chillax and are not concerned with comfort and looks of hotel room and restaurants then this place is great and in a good location from best attraction in town - Dunnes River Falls. I wouldn't spend over $500 for a five night stay though.