Ratings based on 2,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida


Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The rooms are spacious (Jr Suites) and the grounds a kept clean, a good job fluffing the rooms too.
Cons: room service for food was non existent, lacking in towel service
Location: You must do the zip line tours, Dunn's River, Rum tours and catamarans are fun too, you get to do scubba diving.
I've always stayed at RIU in Ocho Rios because of its quality of service in the past several stays (4) to be exact. This was my 4th stay and I don't know if it was because of the threat of hurricane Matthew? The type of room I requested was a JR Suite ocean view...I got Jr Suite rooftop view, I requested another room and they were kind enough to give me a room with the view I paid for. Towel service has gone down hill, everyday it seems I had to ask for either wash cloths or hand towels or the towels were being washed and hoped that they would be stock after a long day on the beach. The food was ok aside from a roach I noticed crawling around which I've never seen there before. With Jr Suite's comes the privilege of dining at the specialty restaurants by reservation, that was nonexistent and so was room service which was another privilege that came with Jr Suites. There were only one or two of the specialty restaurants to dine and no reservation was needed, you may as well just did buffet dining as I did. Another couple we met said the food wasn't that good at the specialty restaurants. I guess it was because of hurricane Matthew, staff was short, so the service I'm used to suffered a lot. Hope that's not the case going forward. Maybe it was great for a first timer staying there but for me and my hubby, It's time for us to try another All Inclusive now but will always enjoy Ocho Rios.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston Jamaica

Great food!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
A spacious and confortable hotel. There were many guests but it never felt too crowded. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The buffets were surprisingly diverse and you could find something for everyone. Housekeeping was slow and our TV didnt work well; it was eventually replaced. I will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable, nice time

Posted Oct 12, 2016
The hotel is very comfortable and easy to Get around. The beach is right alongside the hotel so it's easy to go back and forth. The entertainment staff if very friendly and energetic. They are definitely a good time. The jerk hut for lunch time was perfect for a quick warm meal. The nightclub at the hotel could be a little more fun, even when the music was good there was no crowd to make it feel worth your time. Also, the pool could use more frequent cleaning but the music was always great! And the food options at the buffet were good. The highlight of the trip was an all white nigh time beach party with a live band and dj. So much fun. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Entertainment was horrible

Posted Oct 9, 2016
No I would never go back the bedroom was nice but the beds were hard as rocks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY,NY


Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel did look nice. The view and pool side looked great.
Cons: Some workers had an indifferent attitude when dealing with customers. You pay alot of money for the resort and friendly faces, not screw faces.
I booked reservations at the RIU in MAMEE BAY late August of this year.I booked a standard king sized bed. The bed was rock hard and there was mold on the ceiling of the room accompanied by the moldy smell. I decided to upgrade to the deluxe room (GOLD WRIST BAND). The bed was better. I decided to eat at the Chinese restaurant. It was horrible. The windows were opened, so the flies were able to get in and hover over the buffet. I found three flies in my food. To make things worst I had the pleasure of watching a roach crawl in and out of the molding that was head height. I couldn't stomach it. My girlfriend and I ran out of there. We made the manager of the restaurant aware of the critters situation. The pool looks awesome. But, unfortunately, my got ears infects in both ears. I have never experienced an ear infection in my life. MY GOD it was painful. I had to pay $250 (American) to see the resort doctor at the infirmary. I was given antibiotics and ear drops. So, I was unable to enjoy the ocean or pool for 4 out of my 8 days there. I thought I was unlucky until my girl friend came down with same ear infection on the way back. She really suffered on the plane ride back. The air pressure and ear infection brought her to tears. We headed straight to Urgent Care. The doctor found puss and blood in her ear. She had to receive percocet for the pain.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Hotel at the beach

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Nice pools but rooms need to be upgrade newer tv's, better beddings
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst place to go to

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Worst place to stay at don't bother spending your money you can get better then this I will never go there again in my life. I was told room is seaview. I was not able to see the sea view from my room. When I got there they charged me $40 for wifi. One of the worst elevators I have seen so far, which had no AC and smelled bad always. The Tv was from 1940 Style. I am attaching some pictures for you to know what you are getting in too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful sandy beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Had a wonderful time with my husband. Staff treated us very well and the food was delicious. On monday we had lobster it was so delicious we went for seconds this was at the buffet. Overall i was really happy with my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great beach and property food not so great &...

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: I liked the beaches. They were well maintained and had new beach chairs. The people at the hotel were friendly. The decor was beautiful.
Cons: Improve the entertainment please!! The Lion King show was horrible &the dancers needed work. Sorry but I am use to more. Audience was involved a bit
Location: There are places not that far away but you need a cab. A cab is $2 US but they will try and charge you $30 US because they love ripping off tourists
I liked this property. I normally stay at the Rose Hall Suites by Iberostart. The beach was better here, but there was no service on the beach like you would expect. Also the grounds were well kept and people were up very early cleaning up. They could have done a better job during the day but you can't clean up after every slob. The wifi was great. If you don't have a deluxe room (well worth the $140 I paid to upgrade to oceanfront) then your wifi only works in common areas. That defeats the purpose, but okay. I understand they are trying to limit costs. The staff was great, some better than others. I think they could have been a little more accommodating. The rules were ridiculous. I had a visitor and they wouldn't let them past the lobby unless I paid $100. That was crazy, especially since we were not planning on going to any restaurants. I can understand them wanting to charge for food, but to have a friend visit me at the hotel for a few hours we shouldn't have had to sit in the lobby in front of everyone. We could have hung out on the beach or around the pool. They need to fix this, especially for deluxe clients. Service overall could have been slightly better. Shows were not so entertaining and the food in the chinese restaurant was so bad I got up & left. You expect more when you make a reservation. It was not fine dining & I went to the buffet.. There are five restaurants but only one or two is open per night. My friends loved it so maybe its me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but needs work

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Overall exterior was beautiful. But the room was horrible. The bed and bedding were terrible. Comforter had holes n looked like it was over 10 years old. Sleep only with my sheet. The room smelt like pure mildew. My belongings like my purse still smells like the hotel. All the staff did was come on to me except for the few who where very nice. I keep overhearing the girls who were trying to sell excursion being rude as they walked away from people who didn't purchase it. Saw alot of mildew n what looked like leaks trying to be covered up with more plaster or grouting. Just can't get over the smell of mildew in my room. I'm definitely not use to perfection but the side I stayed on with the red bands needs alot of work. But the scenery was gorgeous but the same effort they put on the outer exterior needs to be put on the interior. Even if you only have the red bands n not the gold bands. Won't go to that resort again.