Ratings based on 2,259 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 22, 2017
It wasn't the best at front desk, have to wait until they were pleased before we were acknowledged,lots of food variety to choose from, I think more can be done to the hallways and corridors when rain fall it's almost impassible and risky to walk to your room, try not to put so much grease in the meals, lots of entertainment, the team is awesome property is beautiful and family oriented, we went to breakfast early and was hoping to go back to our room until it was close to check out time but when we went back our room was already stripped so we had to leave early too, that old tv in the room was worse for such a posh hotel and the little motels provide wifi in the rooms compared to riu where we had to pay or go to the lobby, I didn't feel the experience was worth our stay and I hope if we decide to go back it will be better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Peters, MO

Great Vacation in Riu Ocho Rios

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, clean and my room was beautiful.
Location: We only went to Dolphin Cove. The stay was about an hour too long. Loved the Dolphins. Photos were way too expensive.
We had great food, beautiful beach and water. The pool was gorgeous. The staff was great and made our stay wonderful. I would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte,fl

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Great Amenities
Cons: Overall activities for guest to join
Location: great beaches, amazing views, Bar, dancing , dining
overall it was a great experience. we loved the hotel and staff. the only downside to our trip was the weather during our stay , therefore we would probably recommend mid-spring trips or summer, but definitely not november again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

The hotel it self is beautiful

Posted Jun 12, 2017
We stayed 4 days, the food was not good at all, they served the same food every day, no Jamaican food was served. There is not any activities for adults only children. I'll take Jewel Dunn River Hotel any day. I will not be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vt

Beautiful place with fantastic staff and entertain

Posted Jun 8, 2017
If your looking for entertainment, great food and staff this is the place to go. It's right on the beach with a beautiful view. Lots of activities and great food to eat. The bed was a little to firm for me but the rooms are very clean and the entire hotel has an ocean view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Overall ok

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Beach and pool area were great. Beds not so comfortable and tv was old. Had a big balcony and view was great. Food overall was pretty good. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bklyn, ny.

Excellent hotel, I will visit again.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Overall great vacation resort for the entire family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Problems and not honoring reservations

Posted Jun 3, 2017
There was no ocean view that we paid for. We had to hang over the balcony and wait for a breeze to blow the palm trees away to see 2 inches of ocean. There was only one ice machine for 60 rooms per floor on the 2nd and 4th floors. The 1st, 3rd, and 5th floors had no ice machines. If your room was in the middle on each floor, you had a very long walk to the elevators. The do have stairs every 50 feet. Who wants to claim 5 floors on vacation. We where given $460 resort credit. It wasn't good for anything. We couldn't use it for our couples massage. We wasn't able to use the resort credit on any emenities. The staff was polite and nice. There was plenty of liquor around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice hotel with great views front and back!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the jerk chicken on the beach for lunch!.
Cons: Maintenance - the toiled in our room was broken, the stopper was lose. We called the front desk to request repairs and they did AFTER 4 DAYS!!
Location: The only place we went to was Dunn's River Falls, about 20 minute boat ride from the resort.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this resort, the staff was friendly and playful. We chose to go mid-May right before school is out because we didn't want to deal with so many kids running around. There were some kids but mainly babies or toddlers, we took our 1 year old so it was nice seeing other couples with their small kids as well. we really enjoyed the jerk chicken on the beach daily.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Hotel Lost it Touch

Posted May 31, 2017
The room were clean the front desk was very nice during checking. As for the food and the waiters horrible. Did I say horrible food. There is nice resort for that price riu have lost very very disappointed on this stay